2004 Supercross San Diego Results

January 24, 2004
By Motorcycle USA Staff
Reed wins by over 8-seconds - Anaheim 2
Chad Reed celebrates his second consecutive AMA THQ Supercross victory.

Chad Reed extended his lead in the 2004 AMA Supercross series with a superb victory at Qualcomm Stadium in San Diego on Saturday night. The Yamaha pilot took control on lap 15 after a race-long battle with Kevin Windham and cruised to his third win of the season.

“I just sat in there and checked out Kevin’s lines,” said Reed. “Kevin is a talented rider and I just wanted to see where he was going and where I could get by as the race wore on.”

After holding the lead for nine laps, Windham eventually relinquished the lead on lap 15 and had to settle for second place on the night. David Vuillemin rode the majority of the race all alone and landed the third and final position on the podium.

Mike Byrne rode a solid race and end the day in the fourth position while Mike LaRocco worked his way through the pack to take 5th on the night.

125 West 
Ivan Tedesco continued his domination of the 125 West series at Qualcomm Stadium on Saturday night. The Pro Circuit Kawasaki rider overcame a poor start and charged through the field to take his fourth straight win of the season.

“I didn’t get the greatest start;’ said Tedesco. “But, some how I found a few holes out there and I had to work really hard to get the win, but it feels good to come from behind and win one.”

Nathan Ramsey moved by Stephane Roncada early in the contest and rode a lonely race in the second position. Travis Preston took the third and final position on the podium after a thrilling late battle with Stephane Roncada.

It was a disappointing night for Roncada who held a sizable lead in the first couple of laps and slipped off the podium for the first time on the year. Chris Gosselaar rounded out the top five with a solid ride aboard the Honda.

250 Results:
1. Chad Reed (Yamaha)
2. Kevin Windham (Honda)
3. David Vuillemin (Yamaha)
4. Michael Byrne (Kawasaki)
5. Mike LaRocco (Honda)
6. Grant Langston (KTM)
7. Nick Wey (Suzuki)
8. Damon Huffman (Honda)
9. Erick Vallejo (Yamaha)
10. Keith R. Johnson (Yamaha)

125 West Results:
1. Ivan Tedesco (Kawasaki)
2. Nathan Ramsey (Honda)
3. Travis Preston (Honda)
4. Stephane Roncada (Kawasaki)
5. Chris Gosselaar (Honda)
6. Akira Narita (Honda)
7. Troy Adams (Kawasaki)
8. Brock Sellards (Yamaha)
9. Steve Boniface (Suzuki)
10. Josh Summey (Yamaha)

Facebook comments