2005 Supercross San Francisco Results

January 29, 2005
Ken Hutchison
Ken Hutchison
Editor-in-Chief |Articles|Blog Posts|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog RSS

The ulcers keep piling on for the warden of the MotoUSA asylum. With the inmates running rampant around the globe, Hutch has opted to get in on the madness more these days than in years past and is back in the saddle again.

Ricky Carmichael continues to build momentum with his third consecutive win in the 250 class while Billy Laninovich picked up his first ever AMA Supercross victory in the 125 West class at SBC Ballpark in San Francisco.
Air Carmichael - S.F.
Makita Suzuki’s Ricky Carmichael extended his points lead in the 2005 AMA THQ Supercross championship chase to sixteen over Kevin Windham.

“I have a lot of respect for Chad,” said Carmichael. “I had a great time and we had some good clean racing tonight. I stayed with him and let the race come to me and when he started making a few mistakes, I made my move to the front. He almost got back by me but I closed the door and did what I had to do to win. I feel my Suzuki is the best bike out there. It was important for me and the team to win tonight and everyone got what they wanted. But it’s a long series and we’ve got to keep the momentum going.”

In the 250 final, Yamaha’s Chad Reed grabbed the Butterfinger Holeshot and stretched it out to an early race lead. The defending series champion actually had a 4-second gap on the rest of the field at one point, but it wouldn’t be enough. While Reed rode his heart out up front, Makita Suzuki’s Ricky Carmichael was riding even faster while playing catch-up.

Blitzing the whoops and riding as far on the edge as a guy possibly can, RC methodically reeled Reed in before making the pass on the seventh lap. When the dust finally settled it was Carmichael who crossed the line first with an impressive 5-seconds to spare. A Factory Connection backed Honda crossed the line in third, but it was the 2-stroke of Mike LaRocco rather than title contender Kevin Windham who finished a disappointing 9th.

125 West
Surprise, surprise it’s yet another new winner in the talent rich 125 West field. This time it was Amsoil Honda’s Billy Laninovich who scored his first career AMA Supercross win. Billy grabbed the lead early and held off Andrew Short for the victory. That makes four different winners in four rounds of the 125 West series. American Honda’s Short picked up his second consecutive runner-up finish.

Monster Engery Drink/Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Ivan Tedesco overcame a first lap crash and finished a gritty third. That effort helps him extend his points lead to 13 over Ryan Sipes.

“I’m getting pretty good at coming from behind,” said Tedesco. “And I feel pretty good about finishing third tonight, especially coming from where I was earlier in the race.”

Suzuki’s Brock Hepler crashed during his heat race and broke his arm – he will be sidelined for 3-4 weeks.

250 Results:
1. Ricky Carmichael (Suzuki)
2. Chad Reed (Yamaha)
3. Mike LaRocco (Honda)
4. David Vuillemin (Yamaha)
5. Ernesto Fonseca (Honda)
6. Nick Wey (Honda)
7. Heath Voss (Yamaha)
8. Mike Byrne (Kawasaki)
9. Kevin Windham (Honda)
10. Tyler Evans (Suzuki)

125 West Results:
1. Billy Laninovich (Honda)
2. Andrew Short (Honda)
3. Ivan Tedesco (Kawasaki)
4. Ryan Morias (Suzuki)
5. Brett Metcalfe (Yamaha)
6. Bryan Johnson (Yamaha)
7. Ryan Sipes (Suzuki)
8. Danny Smith (Yamaha)
9. Jay Marmont (KTM)
10. Chris Gosselaar (Suzuki)

Facebook comments