2005 Supercross Anaheim 3 Results

February 6, 2005
Ken Hutchison
Ken Hutchison
Editor-in-Chief |Articles|Blog Posts|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog RSS

The ulcers keep piling on for the warden of the MotoUSA asylum. With the inmates running rampant around the globe, Hutch has opted to get in on the madness more these days than in years past and is back in the saddle again.

Makita Suzuki’s Ricky Carmichael took over the lead on the first lap and never looked back. Before it was over, RC had won by over 20 seconds and his lead in the championship was extended to an enormous 29 points over defending champ, Chad Reed.

RC gives a whip in celebration of his 4th straight win - Anaheim 3
Makita Suzuki’s Ricky Carmichael extends his lead in the battle for the 2005 AMA Supercross Championship with a huge win at the third and final visit to Anaheim Stadium in California.

Reed did everything he could to minimize the damage to his title defense by overcoming a horrible start and working his way through the pack and into a runner-up finish. The Yamaha pilot had to get by one surprising addition to the front of the pack, Kawasaki’s Michael Byrne.

Byrne finished third, his first podium of the season, after a great start had him running at the front of the field for most of the main. Yamaha’s David Vuillemin caught Byrne as well but could not make the pass and settled for fourth.

Championship contender Kevin Windham never made it past the first lap and fan-favorite Jeremy McGrath disappeared after the second.

125 West
In the 125 West showdown it was all Ivan all the time. Once the Monster/Pro Circuit Kawasaki rider made it to the front he was determined to stay there. Last week’s winner Billy Laninovich produced another impressive result finishing 2 seconds behind Tedesco.

Red Bull KTM’s Nate Ramsey made a return to the podium in third while previous contenders Ryan Sipes and Andrew Short both DNFed.

250 Results:
1. Ricky Carmichael (Suzuki)
2. Chad Reed (Yamaha)
3. Michael Byrne (Kawasaki)
4. David Vuillemin (Yamaha)
5. Erneto Fonseca (Honda)
6. Mike LaRocco (Honda)
7. Nick Wey (Honda)
8. Travis Preston (Honda)
9. Tyler Evans (Suzuki)
10. Ryan Clark (Yamaha)

250 Standings:
1. Ricky Carmichael, 120
2. Chad Reed, 91
3.Mike LaRocco, 81
4. Kevin WIndham, 80
5. Ernesto Fonseca, 74

125 West Results:
1. Ivan Tedesco (Kawasaki)
2. Billy Laninovich (Honda)
3. Nate Ramsey (KTM)
4. Danny Smith (Yamaha)
5. Brett Metcalfe (Yamaha)
6. Tim Weigand (Honda)
7. Josh Woods (Honda)
8. Bryan Johnson (Yamaha)
9. Ryan Morias (Suzuki)
10. Jay Marmont (KTM)

125 West Standings:
1. Ivan Tedesco, 105
2. Danny Smith, 76
3. Ryan Sipes, 67
4. Nate Ramsey, 66
5. Andrew Short, 59