2005 Supercross Atlanta Results

February 26, 2005
By Brian Korfhage
Air Carmichael - S.F.
Ricky Carmichael came out on top of a late-race battle with Chad Reed on Saturday night in Atlanta.

Ricky Carmichael came out on top of, what might be the race of the season, Saturday night in Atlanta, GA. The Suzuki pilot came back from an early race crash to passĀ Chad Reed on lap 16 in front of a wild crowd at the Georgia Dome.

“I was fighting the front end all night,” said Carmichael. “I was all over the place and I made a mistake early and I didn’t think I could do it, but I got back up and heard the crowd as I was catching up and some how got the job done.”

When the gates dropped it was Chad Reed who grabbed the Butterfinger Holeshot and was closely followed by Carmichael. The two went toe to toe until lap three when RC passed Reed in Turn One. However, Carmichael’s lead was short lived as he crashed hard in Turn Nine on the very next lap. That allowed Reed andĀ Kevin Windham to go by before RC could get his RM250 restarted.

Once he was up and running, Carmichael went on a tear, burning through the field, turning laps that were a half-second faster than the leader. By lap 11, RC was on Reed’s rear wheel and on lap 16 Carmichael managed to push by Reed on Turn One for the second time on the night.

At that point, Reed had nothing left in the tank and Carmichael sprinted to a 1.466-second win in Atlanta. Reed held on for second, while Kevin Windham took the third and final position on the podium.

Sebastien Tortelli took fourth on the night, while Mike LaRocco rounded out the top five.

Grant Langston took control of the 125 East series on Saturday night with a win at the Georgia Dome. The KTM pilot beat Matt Walker to the finish line by 2.742 second and now holds a 4-point lead over Davi Millsaps in the race for the 125 East championship.

Steve Boniface took the third position on the rostrum behind Walker. Davi Millsaps took fourth, while Kelly Smith rounded out the top five.

250 Results:
1. Ricky Carmichael (Suzuki)
2. Chad Reed (Yamaha)
3. Kevin Windham (Honda)
4. Sebastien Tortelli (Suzuki)
5. Mike LaRocco (Honda)
6. Ernesto Fonseca (Honda)
7. Heath Voss (Yamaha)
8. David Vuillemin (Yamaha)
9. Jeremy McGrath (Honda)
10. Tyler Evans (Suzuki)

125 Results:
1. Grant Langston (Kawasaki)
2. Matt Walker (Kawasaki)
3. Steve Boniface (Honda)
4. Davi Millsaps (Suzuki)
5. Kelly Smith (Yamaha)
6. Josh Hansen (KTM)
7. Josh Grant (Honda)
8. Justin Buckelew (Honda)
9. Kevin Johnson (Yamaha)
10. Brock Sellards (Yamaha)

125 Standings:
1. Grant Langston, 47
2. Davi Millsaps, 43
3. Matt Walker, 38
4. Josh Hansen,35
5. Brock Sellards, 29
6. Kelly Smith, 27
7. Justin Buckelew, 21
8. Steve Boniface, 20
9. Troy Adams, 18