2005 Supercross Pontiac Results

April 10, 2005
As the THQ AMA Supercross Series begins to come to the end of its 2005 season, some 51,000 fans at the Pontiac Silverdome were treated to a wild night of racing. This was the final round of the 125cc Eastern Region series, and a champ had yet to be decided. And in the 250cc class, neither James Stewart nor Ricky Carmichael would reach the top spot of the podium.

The Kawasaki Crew celebrated James Stewarts first win on Saturday night - Dallas
Grant Langston’s fourth-place finish at Pontiac was enough to earn him the 125 East class championship.

The 250 class was shaping up to be a good one even before the main event began. Yamaha’s Chad Reed set the quickest time in practice, but he was beaten by Honda’s Kevin Windham in Heat 1. In Heat 2, Stewart came out in front of RC.

Windham shocked the Silverdome crowd by scooting his CRF450R 4-stroke to the main event holeshot, going on to lead the first 15 tours of the 20-lap race. Stewart took a minor spill early in the race that put him out of contention for the win. Meanwhile, RC and Reed were closing in on Windham up front. Reed was the first to get past K-Dub, and he went on to take his fourth win of the season, 1.8 seconds ahead of RC. Windham was a further 9 seconds adrift but earned a spot on the podium.

Bubba strugged on this night, but he rode well enough to take fourth place. Mike LaRocco just edged David Vuillemin for fifth, while Heath Voss and Travis Preston finished in sixth and seventh, respectively, making it three 4-strokes in the top 8.

Carmichael leaves the Silverdome with a 28-point cushion over Reed with three races left in the championship

The chase for the 125cc championship literally couldn’t get any closer. Coming in to Pontiac, team Monster/Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Grant Langston led the championship by a scant 7 points over Red Bull KTM’s Josh Hansen, and Makita Suzuki’s Davi Millsaps was just 10 points out from the points leader.

Hansen, who won his first supercross main event of the year at Daytona, took the lead early in the race and was never headed. Millsaps, who didn’t get a good start, worked his way up through traffic and past Langston on his way up to Little Hannie. The Suzuki rider closed in on the KTM pilot but fell while in close pursuit, yet still managed to finish in second. Joaquim Rodrigues ended up third, one spot ahead of Langston.

Hansen’s solid performance was enough to close the points gap to series leader Langston, with both riders ending up tied on points at 143 each. But Langston is awarded the championship based on his greater number of season wins, three to Hansen’s two.

250cc Final Results
1. Chad Reed YAM
2. Ricky Carmichael SUZ
3. Kevin Windham HON
4. James Stewart KAW
5. Mike LaRocco HON
6. David Vuillemin YAM
7. Heath Voss YAM
8. Travis Preston HON
9. Tim Ferry YAM
10. Ernesto Fonseca HON

125cc Final Results
1. Josh Hansen KTM
2. Davi Millsaps SUZ
3. Joaquim Rodrigues HON
4. Grant Langston KAW
5. Steve Boniface HON
6. Kelly Smith YAM
7. Justin Buckelew HON
8. Branden Jesseman SUZ
9. Josh Grant HON
10. Brock Sellards YAM

125 East Final Championship Points
1. Grant Langston – 143
2. Josh Hansen – 143
3. Davi Millsaps – 137
4. Steve Boniface – 97
5. Kelly Smith – 96
6. Troy Adams – 78
7. Matt Walker – 77
8. Josh Grant – 71
9. Joaquim Rodrigues – 65
10. Brock Sellards – 64