2005 SBK Fontana Sunday Results

May 1, 2005
Ken Hutchison
Ken Hutchison
Editor-in-Chief |Articles|Blog Posts|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog RSS

The ulcers keep piling on for the warden of the MotoUSA asylum. With the inmates running rampant around the globe, Hutch has opted to get in on the madness more these days than in years past and is back in the saddle again.

Yoshimura Suzukis Mat Mladin - Fontana
Yoshimura Suzuki’s Mat Mladin put on quite a show at Cal Speedway as he dominated the entire race and won by 5-seconds over teammate Ben Spies.

Things got back to normal on Sunday after Yoshimura Suzuki’s Mat Mladin led his entire team to an impressive 1-2-3 sweep at California Speedway. Ben Spies backed up his win on Saturday with a second, followed by Aaron Yates in third. Six out of the top ten bikes to finish the race were the new GSX-R1000s. Behind the Suzuki squad was the Ducati Austin duo of Eric Bostrom and Neil Hodgson, who finished fourth and fifth respectively.

With his win yesterday and second today, Ben Spies now leads the championship by three points over Mladin who DNF’d on Saturday.

Mat Mladin (Yoshimura Suzuki) – Winner
“It was a good race for us. I was a little disappointed about yesterday, but that’s the way it goes. We’ve had a good run over the years and you got to get some every now and then; hopefully we won’t have any more this year. We’re five races into it and we’re all squared up again unfortunately for the points tally.”

“The race today was really good. When you’re at the front you have to set the pace. So I tried to run it pretty consistently and just stretched it out a bit and had enough and then stretched out a bit more and made it comfortable for the last five laps. Anytime that you are setting the pace, it’s different than if you are back there. I’m sure Ben (Spies) was trying hard to win it to solidify his win yesterday. It was good to get out there and win another one. Yesterday is yesterday, today is today. We’re living and breathing fresh air and it’s that old saying, racing is racing.”

Ben Spies (Yoshimura Suzuki) – 2nd
“I tried to keep Mat (Mladin) honest and tried not making too many mistakes but he just ran away with it. I just felt good that I was on the same motorcycle as (Mladin) and just tried to keep him honest. I wish we could have had a better start and not get caught behind some of the lappers. The lappers weren’t super good to me today.”

Aaron Yates (Yoshimura Suzuki) – 3rd
“My race went pretty good. I wasn’t really comfortable for the first few laps, it just took a bit for my tires to come around. These two guys (Mat & Ben) were really going for it and I was trying to keep up.”

Superbike Race 2 Results:
1. Mat Mladin (Suzuki)
2. Ben Spies (Suzuki)
3. Aaron Yates (Suzuki)
4. Eric Bostrom (Ducati)
5. Neil Hodgson (Ducati)
6. Jake Zemke (Honda)
7. Steve Rapp (Suzuki)
8. Marty Craggill (Suzuki)
9. Larry Pegram (Honda)
10. Clint McBain (Suzuki)

Superbike Championship Standings:
1. Ben Spies, 155
2. Mat Mladin, 152
3. Neil Hodgson, 146
4. Aaron Yates, 143
5. Eric Bostrom, 122
6. Miguel Duhamel, 118
7. Marty Craggill, 105
8. Steve Rapp, 92
9. Lee Acree, 89
10. Eric Wood, 81

Graves Yamaha’s Jason Disalvo survived an epic showdown with his teammate Jamie Hacking and Suzuki’s Aaron Yates. The lead trio broke away from the rest of the pack early on and hammered on each other for the first dozen laps. With five laps remaining Aaron Yates started to put some distance between himself and Disalvo with Hacking now off the pace in third. They stayed in this order for the next three laps and then disaster struck for race leader Aaron Yates.

As he tipped his Yoshimura GSX-R1000 into turn three at the start of the penultimate lap he lost the front end and went down. After he and the bike slid to a halt Yates jumped up, pounded his bent left bar into shape and got going again – he would finish in tenth place.

From that point on Dislavo tip-toed through the lapped traffic on the way to his fist class win of the 2005 season. Hacking finished second and Michael Jordan Motorsports’ Steve Rapp claimed his first podium of the year with Kawasaki’s Tommy Hayden hot on his heels as he crossed the finish line.

“That was a good race,” said race-winner Disalvo. “I had my hands full. Aaron was riding well, Jamie was there too. Everything played out in my favor. A lot of racing is due to luck as many race fans know.”

With team leader Jason Pridmore on the shelf with an injury, Rapp is now responsible for flying the MJM colors and it looks like he did his boys proud by earning the team their second podium finish of the year.

“It didn’t really go as planned, I got a horrible start,” said Rapp. “Every pass was difficult because everyone goes so fast. I thought you usually finish where you qualify so I didn’t know if I was going to be able to win it, but I thought I would have a decent shot at a podium if I got a good start. Then I got a terrible start and fell behind a bit… maybe it got me mad, so I just gave it my best. MJ called and said he’s excited and pumped. You know he’s a competitor and wants us to do the best we can.”

Repsol Superstock Results:
1. Jason Disalvo (Yamaha)
2. Jamie Hacking (Yamaha)
3. Steve Rapp (Suzuki)
4. Tommy Hayden (Kawasaki)
5. Vincent Haskovec (Suzuki)
6. Aaron Gobert (Yamaha)
7. John Haner (Suzuki)
8. Jake Holden
9. Eric Wood
10. Aaron Yates (Suzuki)

Yamaha’s Jamie Hacking outlasted Kawasaki’s Tommy Hayden on the way to his second win of the year in the Pro Honda Oils Supersport class. Behind the leaders was another great battle between Roger Lee Hayden and Jason Disalvo which had the fans going crazy during their infield confrontations. On the final lap, Disalvo got a great drive out of the final turn aboard his R6 and nearly took the final podium spot from Roger Lee at the finish line, but the ZX-6R had just enough power to hold him off.

Supersport Results:
1. Jamie Hacking (Yamaha)
2. Tommy Hayden (Kawasaki)
3. Roger Lee Hayden (Kawasaki)
4. Jason Disalvo (Yamaha)
5. Aaron Gobert (Yamaha)
6. Ben Spies (Suzuki)
7. Ben Attard (Kawasaki)
8. Geoff May (Suzuki)
9. Chris Perris (Yamaha)
10. Nicky Moore (Yamaha)