Tyla Rattray Bio

December 1, 2005
Tyla Rattray
South AfricanTyla Rattray conquered the 2008 FIM World MX2 Championship before turning to the American scene.

Born in South Africa, Tyla Rattray has enjoyed success abroad in Europe by becoming one of the youngest Grand Prix podium finishers ever. Claiming first in the 2003 and 2004 Dutch 125cc division, Ratters went on to earn second at the FIM World Motocross Championship and achieved a top-spot for his country during the Motocross of Nations.

By 2008 Rattray joined the ranks of other famous South African riders such as Grant Langston and Greg Albertyn when he won the FIM Motocross title. He then turned his attention to the AMA Pro Motocross series for 2009, where he placed ninth overall in the 250 division on a Monster Pro Circuit Kawasaki.

In 2010 Rattray made his debut on the East Coast Supercross Lites circuit. The former MX2 world champion incurred an injury to his shoulder blade, however, and was forced to miss the SX season in preparation for the outdoor nationals. His time off proved to be a good decision as he returned to post solid results in Motocross, finishing second overall and overtaking his Pro Circuit Kawasaki teammate, Christophe Pourcel, in the final round.

The following year Rattray proved his mettle in SX by landing two podiums throughout the West Coast Lites Championship. After wrapping-up his SX season in seventh overall, Rattray headed outdoors where he scored four wins and 12 more podiums throughout the series to finish runner-up to Dean Wilson.

For 2012 Rattray will returning aboard the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki team in search of his first American title.

Tyla Rattray is looking to improve on his 3rd place finish last weekend in Anaheim.
Tyla Rattray scored four top-five finishes in 2011 during his first full season in the Supercross Lites class. 

Tyla Rattray Specs:
DOB: 11/12/85
Birthplace: Durban, South Africa
Height: 5’8″
Weight: 167 lbs 
National Number: 28

Career Results:
2011: 7th (SX), 2nd (250 MX)
2010: 2nd (250 MX)
2009: 9th (250 MX)
2008: 1st (FIM MX2)
2007: 4th (FIM MX2)
2006: 4th (FIM MX2)
2004: 2nd (FIM MX2)