2006 Superbike Fontana Sunday Results

April 30, 2006
Ken Hutchison
Ken Hutchison
Editor-in-Chief |Articles|Blog Posts|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog RSS

The ulcers keep piling on for the warden of the MotoUSA asylum. With the inmates running rampant around the globe, Hutch has opted to get in on the madness more these days than in years past and is back in the saddle again.

Yoshimura Suzuki’s Ben Spies claimed his fourth consecutive win on Sunday by sweeping the double-header at California Speedway in Fontana, Ca. In both races the pupil laid waste to the mentor’s plans by winning both head-to-head showdowns over the weekend.
All anyone saw of Ben Spes on Sunday was his backside - Fontana
Ben Spies: “Fontana has always been a good track for me. We caught a break yesterday, with Mat having some problems. But I had to work for it today. I just tried to set a good pace and then the gap started growing and I just tried to stretch it out.”

“I really have to thank the Yoshimura Suzuki crew for giving me another Suzuki GSX-R1000 to win on,” said Spies from the podium. “I don’t know if the rest of the races will be quite this easy, but we’ve got to keep on it because Mat is a six-time champion and he’s going to come back even harder. So we’ll go home, do some homework and see what we can come up with for Infineon.”

Behind Spies in both race was his teammate and defending AMA Superbike champion Mat Mladin. The Australian doesn’t take losing lightly but he did give credit to his young teammate’s effort.

“With about 10 laps to go, I was wishing I was at the beach,” joked Mladin. “We just didn’t have it today, that’s it. This is the fifth race into the championship and we had to shut it down today to bring it home. It’s good to have somebody here to help me pick up my game and I’m looking forward to the next race.”

Rounding out the podium was American Honda’s Jake Zemke followed by his teammate Miguel Duhamel, the Parts Unlimited Ducati of Neil Hodgson and the lone factory Kawasaki of Tommy Hayden.

Pro Honda Oils Supersport
Yamaha’s Jamie Hacking took full advantage of the injury to points leader Roger Lee Hayden by claiming his first Supersport victory of the season and taking over the lead in the championship. Hacking was at or near the front during the entire race so when it was red-flagged with two laps remaining and Hacking holding a comfortable lead on the rest of the field.

Runner-up was M4 EMGO Suzuki’s Michael Barnes followed by privateer Danny Eslick on another Suzuki GSX-R600. Barnes narrowly escaped a first-turn melee with Yoshimura Suzuki’s Ben Spies after the first of two red-flag restarts. Spies was fortunate to escape unharmed but did not restart after the fall.

“I saw from the first start how other riders try to push you down low so on the restart I got the holeshot and went down low on purpose,” explained Barnes. “I felt Spies run into the back of me. I’m sorry he went down and hope he’s okay. I’d like to thank Pirelli. The tires ran consistently all race long. I hope to be back on the Supersport podium sooner than how long it was between now and the previous time.”

Repsol Superstock
Graves Yamaha’s Jason Disalvo took the win in Superstock over his teammate Jamie Hacking in the red-flagged 17-lap final. Defending class champion Aaron Yates rounded out the podium aboard his Yoshimura Suzuki followed by M4 EMGO Suzuki’s Geoff May.

“Man, I’m glad that race is over,” said Yates from the podium. “That race was tough.I’m just happy to have my Yoshimura Suzuki GSX-R1000 up here on the podium and to finish in the top three. So thanks to my Yoshimura Suzuki crew and Dunlop tires and to all you fans for coming out.”

Superbike Race 2 Results:
1. Ben Spies (Suzuki)
2. Mat Mladin (Suzuki)
3. Jake Zemke (Honda)
4. Miguel Duhamel (Honda)
5. Neil Hodgson (Ducati)
6. Tommy Hayden (Kawasaki)
7. Ben Bostrom (Ducati)
8. Aaron Yates (Suzuki)
9. Jason Pridmore (Suzuki)
10. Larry Pegram (Honda)

Supersport Results:
1. Jamie Hacking (Yamaha)
2. Michael Barnes (Suzuki)
3. Danny Eslick (Suzuki)
4. Ben Attard (Kawasaki)
5. Geoff May (Suzuki)
6. Michael Beck (Yamaha)
7. Blake Young (Suzuki)
8. Tony Meiring (Suzuki)
9. Jeff Tigert (Honda)
10. Opie Caylor (Suzuki)

Superstock Results:
1. Jason Disalvo (Yamaha)
2. Jamie Hacking (Yamaha)
3. Aaron Yates (Suzuki)
4. Geoff May (Suzuki)
5. Eric Bostrom (Yamaha)
6. Steve Rapp (Suzuki)
7. Jason Pridmore (Suzuki)
8. Josh Hayes (Honda)
9. Jake Holden (Suzuki)
10. Matt Lynn (Suzuki)

Facebook comments