2006 Supercross Houston Results

April 1, 2006
Ken Hutchison
Ken Hutchison
Editor-in-Chief |Articles|Blog Posts|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog RSS

The ulcers keep piling on for the warden of the MotoUSA asylum. With the inmates running rampant around the globe, Hutch has opted to get in on the madness more these days than in years past and is back in the saddle again.

Davi Millsaps wrapped up the Supercross Lites – East championship in style, winning his fourth race of the year and setting the tone for Kawasaki’s James Stewart to win his third consecutive Supercross race, his sixth of the season.

Carmichael gives Bubba some props after James picked up his third consecutive win - Houston
James Stewart (7) is winning some battles but Ricky Carmichael (4) continues to win the war. I think RC may be reminding James of that after the race.

Stewart moves into a tie with Ricky Carmichael for the World Supercross Championship series lead but remains out of the hunt in the AMA Supercross Championship, as he continues to make up ground with each and every win. For points-leader Ricky Carmichael, this is his third consecutive runner-up finish but he still has a 12-point lead over Yamaha’s Chad Reed in the AMA title chase. Red finished third in Houston.

Behind the big three, Honda’s Kevin Windham put in his best ride of the season, finishing fourth after chasing down Kawasaki’s Michael Byrne who started strong, finding himself in third place at the end of the first lap. First Reed made his way past on lap four and then lost another position three laps later to K-Dub.

Supercross Lites
American Honda’s Davi Millsaps picked up his first-ever AMA Supercross title with a big win in the season finale at Houston. Millsaps moved into the lead on lap three and cruised to his fourth win of the year while his season-long rival Josh Grant DNFed and slipped from second to third in the final championship standings. Tommy Hahn was second, his best ride of the year and finishes fourth in the championship.

Monster/Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s super-sub Chris Gosselaar finished third for the fifth consecutive race and in the process finishes second in the championship.

Supercross Results:
1. James Stewart (Kaw)
2. Ricky Carmichael (Suz)
3. Chad Reed (Yam)
4. Kevin Windham (Hon)
5. Michael Byrne (Kaw)
6. Ivan Tedesco (Suz)
7. Travis Preston (Hon)
8. Nick Wey (Hon)
9. Tim Ferry (Hon)
10. Ryan Clark (Hon)

Supercross Lites Results:
1. Davi Millsaps (Hon)
2. Thomas Hahn (Hon)
3. Chris Gosselaar (Kaw)
4. Jay Marmont (KTM)
5. Matt Goerke (Yam)
6. Josh Summey (Hon)
7. Kelly Smith (Hon)
8. Teddy Maier (Kaw)
9. Sean Hamblin (Suz)
10. Josh Woods (Suz)

AMA Supercross Standings:
1. Ricky Carmichael, 281
2. Chad Reed, 269
3. James Stewart, 264
4. Ivan Tedesco, 209
5. Nick Wey, 198
6. Michael Byrne, 197
7. Travis Preston, 160
8. Ernesto Fonseca, 125
9. Mike Larocco, 108
10. Tim Ferry, 108

Supercross Lites – East Standings:
1. Davi Millsaps, 166
2. Chris Gosselaar, 134
3. Josh Grant, 119
4. Tommy Hahn, 102
5. Branden Jesseman, 96

Facebook comments