2006 Motocross Binghamton Results

August 20, 2006
JC Hilderbrand
JC Hilderbrand
Off-Road Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog |Blog Posts |Blog RSS

Hilde is holding down the fort at MotoUSA's Southern Oregon HQ. With world-class dirt bike and ATV trails just minutes away, the hardest part is getting him to focus on the keyboard. Two wheels or four, it doesn't matter to our Off-Road Editor so long as it goes like hell in the dirt.

Davi Millsaps gated another two holeshots in the Motocross class at Binghamton, NY. Despite his excellent starting, Millsaps fell one position short of the podium in both outings and in the overall standings. Makita Suzuki’s Ricky Carmichael didn’t need to even show up but he did and it was bad news for the rest of the gang. A 1-1 on the day was typical GOAT form as he collected his eighth win of the season.

Hondas Davi Millsaps does his best to be seen after holeshotting Moto 1. His time at the helm was limited as Carmichael and Stewart raged through the pack. - Washougal
American Honda’s Davi Millsaps is becoming a holeshot artist. If the stars align themselves just right he might pick up a premier win one of these days.

RC did his best to keep things exciting by dumping his RM-Z early in Moto 2. James Stewart led for the next seven laps before the Kawasaki rider surrendered to a charging Carmichael. Kevin Windham finished third in both motos and the overall by slipping inside of his quick-triggered teammate Millsaps. The Sobe/Samsung rider, Windham is now tied with Yamaha’s absent Chad Reed in the points standings at 333. Millsaps is only eight points behind and will take over the third position at the next round.

Tim Ferry was the top privateer by putting his MotoXXX Honda in the fifth spot to give the Red Riders a strong presence in the top-5. Hot Sauce fans were finally rewarded with Ivan Tedesco’s return appearance. In his first race of the summer, Tedesco carded a ninth overall by way of 7-10 moto scores.

AMA Motocross Results:
1. Ricky Carmichael, Suz (1-1)
2. James Stewart, Kaw (2-2)
3. Kevin Windham, Hon (3-3)
4. Davi Millsaps, Hon (4-4)
5. Tim Ferry, Hon (5-5)
6. Nick Wey, Hon (9-6)
7. Travis Preston, Hon (6-9)
8. David Vuillemin, Yam (8-8)
9. Ivan Tedesco, Suz (7-10)
10. Mike Brown, Suz (13-7)

AMA Motocross Overall Standings:
1. Ricky Carmichael, 489 (Champion)
2. Kevin Windham, 333
3. Chad Reed, 333
4. Davi Millsaps, 325
5. James Stewart, 287
6. Travis Preston, 284
7. David Vuillemin, 268
8. Nick Wey, 245
9. Tim Ferry, 223
10. Josh Summey, 154
Roger DeCoster got his second sweep in two weeks as Broc Hepler scored the overall victory in the Lites division. Yarding the field from start to finish in Moto 1 put the Pennsylvanian in good position and he didn’t waste the opportunity. Rolling in behind Monster/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto and American Honda’s Andrew Short, Hepler secured the top podium spot. Too bad the Suzuki rider missed the early rounds or he could be right in the mix for the title as the final two races approach.

Yamaha’s factory Lites rider, Josh Hill put in an astounding ride in Moto 1 which earned him a runner-up finish. This was the Oregonian’s second National following a slow debut last weekend at Millville. Hill started around the top-5 and worked his way forward through Lap 8 when he passed Boost Mobile/Yamaha of Troy’s Matt Walker for the second spot, but the Yammie youngster couldn’t catch the distant Hepler. Hill would finish fifth in the second moto for a podium overall.

Villopoto took the champagne honors in Moto 2. Hepler chased him early on before being passed by Short. They would finish in that order with Red Bull KTM’s Mike Alessi in fourth. Alessi DNFed the opening moto which was more than enough to give RV a commanding championship lead. Alessi was leading by six points coming into the weekend, but the crash-tasrophy in the opening lap devastated that advantage. Villopoto now leads by 20 points.

Ryan Sipes put in his best performance of the season with a 6-7-5 afternoon for team WBR Yoshimura/Suzuki. Troy Adams continued his hot-cold results with third place finish in Moto 1 followed by a 21st in Moto 2.

AMA Motocross Lites Results:
1. Broc Hepler, Suz (1-3)
2. Ryan Villopoto, Kaw (4-1)
3. Josh Hill, Yam (2-5)
4. Andrew Short, Hon (7-2)
5. Ryan Sipes, Suz (6-7)
6. Brett Metcalfe, Yam (8-6)
7. Kelly Smith, Hon (5-10)
8. Matt Walker, Yam (10-9)
9. Danny Smith, Hon (14-8)
10. Troy Adams, Kaw (3-21)

AMA Motocross Lites Overall Standings:
1. Ryan Villopoto, 391
2. Mike Alessi, 371
3. Andrew Short, 359
4. Josh Grant, 297
5. Brett Metcalfe, 272
6. Andrew McFarlane, 235
7. Broc Hepler, 223
8. Matt Goerke, 186
9. Troy Adams, 172
10. Nate Ramsey, 168