2007 Supercross Detroit Results

April 21, 2007
Bart Madson
By Bart Madson
Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Bashing away at the MotoUSA keyboard for nine years now, Madson lends his scribbling and editorial input on everything from bike reviews to industry analysis and motorcycle racing reports.

Detroit was busier than usual this Saturday. Aside from a regular season Tigers MLB game, Red Wings NHL and Pistons NBA playoff contests, The Motor City also played host to Round 14 in the Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross series. Perhaps as a result of the busy roster of events in the city, the attendance at Ford Field was somewhat lessened in the second year which the Detroit SX round was held at the new stadium. Although the crowd may have been smaller,
Stewart with the holeshot  Thats bad news for everyone else.
It was more of the same for James Stewart, with the championship points leader claiming his 11th victory of the season. This holeshot was just icing on the cake.

it was still loud and raucous as it witnessed Kawasaki riders James Stewart triumph in Supercross and Ben Townley get crowned as East Coast Supercross Lites champion.

James Stewart started things out in typical fashion in the Supercross main event, the Kawasaki ace taking the holeshot. As is the case more often than not in 2007, once Stewart gets the lead he keeps it till the checkered flag. Turning the first lap of the 20-lap main event the top-five running order was Stewart, Tim Ferry, Andrew Short, Ivan Tedesco, and Michael Byrne. As for Chad Reed, the Yamaha ace was mired back in seventh.

Reed dug himself a hole trying to catch Stewart after his poor start, with the Aussie having to meander through multiple rivals while J Stew was checking out. Reed had fits getting around Byrne and Tedesco. At that point Ferry was the only one close to Stewart, if you call 3 seconds back close.

On Lap 8 Reed was able to pass into third, with Kevin Windham close behind. A podium in hand, speedy Reedy than set Ferry in his sites.

As the leaders began encountering lappers, Stewart kept his motor running and his comfortable gap intact. Ferry was losing ground both to Stewart and Reed, with the Yamaha rider overtaking on Lap 14.

Reed didn’t have a shot at catching Stewart and held on for a solid second. Ferry managed to maintain a gap over Kevin Windham and scored yet another podium finish this season. The aforementioned K-Dub secured fourth, one position ahead of fellow Honda rider Andrew Short.

Detroit Supercross Results:
1. James Stewart (Kawasaki)
2. Chad Reed (Yamaha)
3. Tim Ferry (Kawasaki)
4. Kevin Windham (Honda)
5. Andrew Short (Honda)
6. David Vuillemin (Honda)
7. Heath Voss (Honda)
8. Ivan Tedesco (Suzuki)
9. Paul Carpenter (Kawasaki)
10. Jason Thomas (Honda)

Supercross Championship Points:
1. Stewart – 335
2. Reed – 297
3. Ferry – 243
4. Windham – 200
5. Tedesco – 171
Supercross Lites
The Lites main event featured Ryan Morais defending his slim 3-point championship lead against determined Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki rider Ben Townley. When the gate dropped, however, it was Ryan Dungey who motored on to the holeshot, the Makita Suzuki youngster followed by Morais and Honda’s Billy Laninovich.

The leaders turned the first lap in that order, but then Morais saw his title hopes literally stall, when his YZ250F stalled on Lap 2. The brief hiccup cost the points leader valuable positions and he was relegated to 10th-place by the time he restarted. The mistake was all Ben Townley, who was in fourth at the time, needed to claim the East Coast Lites title.

With Morais up and running again, the Yamaha rider did his best to track down Townley. Up front Townley moved up from fourth to third and set his sites on the second-place rider, Laninovich. Meanwhile, Dungey had put up an intimidating gap en route to an unchallenged victory.

Townley would go on to take over second, with Morais managing to creep up to fifth-place, but there just wasn’t enough time for the Yamaha rider to mount a real challenge on his rival. In the end, Morais came up 9 seconds short. As for Townley, it is the first AMA title for the New Zealand native and gives his employer, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki owner Mitch Payton, a clean sweep of the Supercross Lites series.

“This is a dream come true,” said Townley, while holding his new number-1 plate on the podium.

Detroit Lites Results:
1. Ryan Dungey (Suzuki)
2. Ben Townley (Kawasaki)
3. Tommy Hahn (Honda)
4. Billy Laninovich (Honda)
5. Ryan Morais (Yamaha)
6. Brandon Jesseman (Yamaha)
7. Kelly Smith (Honda)
8. Mike Alessi (KTM)
9. Matt Boni (Kawasaki)
10. Darcy Lange (Kawasaki)

East Coast Final Championship Points:
1. Townley – 133
2. Morais – 130
3. Lange – 117
4. Jesseman – 103
5. Dungey – 98

Facebook comments