2007 SBK SSP Laguna Seca Results

July 21, 2007
Bart Madson
By Bart Madson
Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Bashing away at the MotoUSA keyboard for nine years now, Madson lends his scribbling and editorial input on everything from bike reviews to industry analysis and motorcycle racing reports.

Roger Lee Hayden secured the AMA Supersport victory at Laguna Seca in a thrilling last lap duel with 17-year-old phenom Josh Herrin. In a race that had major championship implications, Hayden grabbed the victory while the championship points leader coming into the 17-lap race, Josh Hayes, crashed out while in the lead. Attack Kawasaki’s Steve Rapp claimed the final spot on the 600 rostrum.
Roger Hayden looked like a veteran when he schooled sophomore rider Herrin in Supersport - Laguna Seca
The Supersport race at Laguna Seca was a thriller with major championship implications, as Roger Hayden (above) took the points lead due to the crash of Josh Hayes.

When the race got underway, the final Saturday activity and first official race of the Red Bull U.S. Grand Prix at Laguna Seca, it was M4 EMGO Suzuki’s Geoff May who claimed the holeshot.

May managed to lead during the opening laps, holding off Hayes and the Monster Energy Kawasaki duo of Jamie Hacking and Hayden. Also in the running was Graves Yamaha’s Josh Herrin.

When May made a mistake he lost positions to the front-runners and Hayes took over the lead. Meanwhile, Hacking, who has been on a hot-streak, started to fade as well. That left it a three-way battle between Hayes, Hayden, and Herrin.

As the riders approached the halfway mark, Hayden overtook Hayes, but the two made contact during the maneuver, with the Erion Honda pilot and points leader pitching into the dirt. Hayden had the lead, but not for long, as an emboldened Herrin made an overtaking maneuver of his own.

The final laps saw Herrin holding a slim advantage over Hayden, looking almost on the brink of breaking away. A few more disastrous moment punctuated the latter half of the race, including Chaz Davies blowing the motor on his Celtic Yamaha and Ryan Elleby suffering a nasty face-first high-side on his Honda.

The real action was up front, however, as Herrin refused to yield. In fact, the youngster made a sly move threw some lappers with 2 to go that made a win look probable.

But it wasn’t to be, as the 22-year-old veteran bested the 17-year-old sophomore on the final turns of the final lap. Hayden snookered Herrin in the second-to-last corner, but the Yamaha almost returned the favor on the final turn only to finish right on the Kawasaki’s back wheel.

AMA Supersport Laguna Seca Results:
1. Roger Hayden (Kawasaki)
2. Josh Herrin (Yamaha)
3. Steve Rapp (Kawasaki)
4. Jamie Hacking (Kawasaki)
5. Geoff May (Suzuki)
6. Aaron Gobert (Honda)
7. Martin Cardenas (Suzuki)
8. Blake Young (Suzuki)
9. Ben Attard (Kawasaki)
10. Tommy Hayden (Suzuki)
11. Bobby Fong (Suzuki)
12. Danny Eslick (Suzuki)
13. Ryan Andrews (Honda)
14. Cory West (Yamaha)
15. Michael Beck (Suzuki)

Facebook comments