Motocross Washougal Results Rnd 9/12

July 27, 2008
Courtesy of NPG

James Stewart - Budds Creek
James Stewart continues to dominate the entire 450 field. He led every lap in the Pacific Northwest.

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s James Stewart, of Haines City, Fla., recorded his ninth AMA Motocross overall victory of the season at the 28th Annual National at Washougal Motocross Park, round nine of the 12-race AMA Toyota Motocross Championship Presented by FMF. Rockstar/Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey, of Belle Plaine, Minn., broke through with his first career AMA Motocross Lites win.

Stewart cruised in both of the day’s motos, leading every lap en route to his 17th and 18th moto wins of the season, leaving him just six shy of a perfect season. In moto one and moto two, he overcame mid-pack starts to work his way up to the front by the completion of the first lap.

“My goal all year has been race-by-race and there is no need to change that up,” explained Stewart. “If I just focus on what I do then the championship will come. Overall, it was a good day. I thought the track was pretty good.”

In AMA Motocross Lites, Dungey battled hard against perennial front-runner and points leader, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto, of Poulsbo, Wash., to take his inaugural victory. After trying to chase down his rival in moto one, he paired the runner-up finish with a moto two win for the top spot.

Ryan Dungey - Hangtown
Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey was the first rider to break Ryan Villopoto’s impressive streak. The Minnesotan ruined RV’s homecoming race.

“I’ve been working on it for a while,” said Dungey of the win. “Its probably one of the toughest things I’ve had to face to get here. (This win means) everything. The hard work. What it took to win. Everyone that’s helped me. My mom and dad. Just being able to throw the bike down with my arms in the air. Its great to just take this and go home.”

Villopoto secured second overall with a win in the first moto and second in moto two. Geico Powersports Honda’s Josh Grant, of Riverside, Calif., parlayed a Holeshot Award in moto one into a third while also earning the fourth position in moto two to round out the overall podium.

Stewart currently holds a 145-point lead over teammate Tim Ferry, of Largo, Fla., and Villopoto leads Dungey by 109 points as the pair look to give Kawasaki a pair of titles at the next round.

Television coverage of the AMA Motocross class can be seen on August 2 at 10 p.m. ET on SPEED with an AMA Motocross Lites show on August 6 at 2 p.m. ET. The AMA Toyota Motocross Championship Presented by FMF takes two weeks off before returning at the Honda Spring Creek Pro National Presented by Unbound Energy and Scott USA from Millville, Minn. on August 16-17.

Motocross Results:
1. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Kawasaki, 1-1
2. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 2-2
3. Michael Byrne, Newnan, Ga., Suzuki, 3-3
4. Cody Cooper, Tallahassee, Fla., Suzuki, 4-4
5. Josh Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Yamaha, 5-5
6. Jimmy Albertson, Ozark, Mo., Honda, 6-7
7. Jeff Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Honda, 7-9
8. Tim Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki, 11-6
9. Antonio Balbi, Riverside, Calif., Honda, 13-10
10. Billy Laninovich, Lake Elsinore, Calif., 10-14

Motocross Overall Standings:
1. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Kawasaki, 450
2. Timmy Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki, 305
3. Andrew Short, Smithville, Teas., Honda, 290
4. Michael Byrne, Newman, Ga., Suzuki, 280
5. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Suzuki, 221

Motocross Lites Results:
1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 2-1
2. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 1-2
3. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Honda, 3-4
4. Brett Metcalfe, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 5-3
5. Ryan Sipes, Vine Grove, Ky., KTM, 4-5
6. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Honda, 6-6
7. Nico Izzi, Saint Clair, Mich., Suzuki, 7-7
8. Robert Kiniry, La Fayette, N.Y., Honda, 9-10
9. Matt Goerke, Lake Helen, Fla., KTM, 12-8
10. Kyle Chisholm, Seminole, Fla., Kawasaki, 11-9

Motocross Lites Overall Standings:
1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 438
2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 329
3. Brett Metcalfe, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 267
4. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Honda, 229
5. Nico Izzi, Saint Clair, Mich., Suzuki, 211

Facebook comments