Motocross Millville Results Rnd 10/12

August 17, 2008
JC Hilderbrand
JC Hilderbrand
Off-Road Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog |Blog Posts |Blog RSS

Hilde is holding down the fort at MotoUSA's Southern Oregon HQ. With world-class dirt bike and ATV trails just minutes away, the hardest part is getting him to focus on the keyboard. Two wheels or four, it doesn't matter to our Off-Road Editor so long as it goes like hell in the dirt.

James Stewart won the Motocross title - Millville
James Stewart won his first ever Motocross title with a victory at Millville. The Kawasaki rider is still perfect with two rounds to go.

Monster Kawasaki’s James Stewart won his first Motocross class title with another perfect outing in Millville. Stewart’s unbeaten streak has put him out of reach with two rounds remaining in the AMA Toyota Motocross Championship. The Kawasaki rider led all sixteen laps in both motos while laying down the fastest lap in each by over a second.

“This has been my toughest season,” Stewart said. “All the struggles before and everything I went through to get back (healthy). It really makes this (championship) special to me. This is one of the (best) tracks we’ve ridden all year. I really want to thank Kawasaki for all the hard work they’ve put in.”

Red Bull Honda’s Andrew Short finished second overall with a 2-5 score while Michael Byrne put in another strong ride for Rockstar Makita Suzuki to claim third (6-2). Nick Wey and Tim Ferry rounded out the top five.

Yamaha’s Broc Hepler made an impressive debut after spending the majority of the season out with injury. The YZ450F rider nailed fifth in the opening moto and 11th in Moto 2 for a solid eighth overall.

Motocross Results:
1. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Kawasaki, 1-1
2. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 2-5
3. Michael Byrne, Newnan, Ga., Suzuki, 6-2
4. Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., KTM, 10-4
5. Tim Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki, 3-12
6. Jeff Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Honda, 8-6
7. Matt Goerke, Lake Helen, Fla., KTM, 9-7
8. Broc Hepler, Kittanning, Pa., Yamaha, 5-11
9. Cody Cooper, Tallahassee, Fla., Suzuki, 19-3
10. Charles Summey, Huntersville, N.C., Yamaha, 13-10

Motocross Overall Standings:
1. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Kawasaki, 500 (Champion)
2. Timmy Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki, 334
3. Andrew Short, Smithville, Teas., Honda, 328
4. Michael Byrne, Newman, Ga., Suzuki, 317
5. Cody Cooper, Tallahassee, Fla., Suzuki, 230

Motocross Lites

Ryan Dungey - Millville
Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey rallied in Moto 2 and took advantage of some good fortune to win his second consecutive overall.

It looked as though it would be another green sweep as Ryan Villopoto went wire-to-wire in the Lites Moto 1 for Monster Pro Circuit Kawasaki. Moto 2 proved to be troublesome, however, as the red plate rounded the first lap in 24th after a spill. Martin Davalos tried his best to take advantage but Ryan Dungey moved his Rockstar Makita Suzuki into the lead on Lap 3 where it would stay. Villopoto rampaged all the way back to second, but his 1-2 was bested by the RM-Z rider’s 2-1. Even though Dungey has now won two in a row, second overall was good enough for the Kawasaki pilot to clinch the season title.

“I just came down the first downhill and I was pushing hard,” Villopoto said. “I think I hit a wet spot. The next thing I know I was rolling on the ground. I didn’t know exactly where I needed to finish but I had an idea. I just wanted to finish second because I knew I could.”

RV’s teammate, Brett Metcalfe, took third in front of Jake Weimer and Blake Wharton. Geico Powersports Honda’s Josh Grant took third in the opening moto but a DNF in Moto 2 relegated him to 10th.

Motocross Lites Results:

Ryan Villopoto
Ryan Villopoto overcame a big practice crash on Thursday and another tumble in Moto 2 at Millville to claim another Motocross Lites outdoor title.

1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 2-1
2. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 1-2
3. Brett Metcalfe, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 4-3
4. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Honda, 7-5
5. Blake Wharton, Pilot Point, Texas, Honda, 10-4
6. Kyle Cunningham, Fort Worth, Texas, Honda, 5-11
7. Andrew McFarlane, Menifee, Calif., Kawasaki, 9-9
8. Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Yamaha, 8-10
9. Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 12-7
10. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Honda, 3-34

Motocross Lites Overall Standings:
1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 485 (Champion)
2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 376
3. Brett Metcalfe, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 305
4. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Honda, 259
5. Nico Izzi, Saint Clair, Mich., Suzuki, 230

Facebook comments