2008 Motocross of Nations Results

September 28, 2008
JC Hilderbrand
JC Hilderbrand
Off-Road Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog |Blog Posts |Blog RSS

Hilde is holding down the fort at MotoUSA's Southern Oregon HQ. With world-class dirt bike and ATV trails just minutes away, the hardest part is getting him to focus on the keyboard. Two wheels or four, it doesn't matter to our Off-Road Editor so long as it goes like hell in the dirt.

2008 MXoN
The Donington venue was packed despite some soggy weather for Sunday’s final races.

America captured its 19th Chamberlain Trophy today at the 2008 FIM Red Bull Motocross of Nations in Great Britain. As you would expect from the UK, rain played a part despite early weather forecasts for sunny skies. It wasn’t a torrential downpour, but it was certainly enough to alter the track conditions at the Donington circuit.

Moto 1 featured the MX1 and MX2 classes with James Stewart and Ryan Villopoto representing the US. David Philippaerts jumped off the gate best and led until Stewart was able to work his way around. Villopoto was unable to repeat his dominating performance of 2007 after a crash set him deep in the field. He would recover for an impressive 10th, just behind Great Britain’s Tommy Searle, who was the first MX2 rider across the line.

MX1/MX2 Results:
1. James Stewart (Kaw) USA
2. Sebastien Pourcel (Kaw) FRA
3. David Philippaerts (Yam) ITA
4. Jonathan Barragan (KTM) ESP
5. Julien Bill (Hon) SUI
6. Billy Mackenzie (Kaw) GBR
7. Josh Coppins (Yam) NZL
8. Ken de Dycker (Suz) BEL
9. Tommy Searle (KTM) GBR
10.Ryan Villopoto (Kaw) USA

Ryan Villopoto  2008 MXoN
Ryan Villopoto came back from some bad luck and showed everyone that he’s still the fastest 250F rider on the planet.

Villopoto was up again in Moto 2, this time against the MX3 (Open) riders. It was all about redemption for the Monster Pro Circuit Kawasaki rider as he demoralized the field with an ass-kicking reminiscent of last year’s freak show at Budds Creek. Former MX1 world champion, Steve Ramon, was second with Searle in third. Tim Ferry landed in ninth to get both Americans in the top-10. The solid result put Team USA out front in the overall standings, but the battle was heating up behind them.

MX2/MX3 Results:
1. Ryan Villopoto (Kaw) USA
2. Steve Ramon (Suz) BEL
3. Tommy Searle (KTM) GBR
4. Cody Cooper (Suz) NZL
5. Alex Salvini (Suz) ITA
6. Zach Osborne (Yam) PUR
7. Nicolas Aubin (Yam) FRA
8. Michael Byrne (Suz) AUS
9. Tim Ferry (Kaw) USA
10.Brett Metcalfe (Kaw) AUS

James Stewart  2008 MXoN
James Stewart was unable to get his Kawasaki re-started after a crash in the final moto. His score was dropped and the American team was victorious for the 19th time.

Despite spitting out the fastest lap of the race, Stewart found himself in 23rd at the end of the MX1/MX3 race. Stewart holeshot and battled with France’s, Sebastien Pourcel until gapping the Frenchman. Unfortunately, as the race wound down, Stewart crashed on a tabletop and couldn’t get his big KX450F restarted. Ferry snared a respectable fifth so it was Stewart’s uncharacteristic result that was tossed out in the scoring process since each team is allowed to dump the worst result of the day.
The French needed a good showing in the final race to move them into podium contention and that’s exactly what they got. Pourcel took the victory by almost six seconds over Estonia’s Tanel Leok, and the subsequent MX1 individual overall with his 2-1 tally. His countryman, Nicolas Aubin, finished 10th. France finished second overall with 31 points followed by Belgium with 41. America was able to finish with 26 points and win the title despite multiple problems.

Ferry, who salvaged the win with his hard-nosed charge from near last in the final moto, won the MX3 Overall and Villopoto was able to claim the MX2 individual honor.

Great Britain finished just off the podium at their home event in fourth, only one point behind the Belgians. Italy was fifth with 45 points.

Team Italy  2008 MXoN
David Philippaerts (left) led the Italians to fifth overall.

MX1/MX3 Results:
1. Sebastien Pourcel (Kaw) FRA
2. Tanel Leok (Kaw) EST
3. Max Nagl (KTM) GER
4. Ken de Dycker (Suz) BEL
5. Tim Ferry (Kaw) USA
6. Josh Coppins (Yam) NZL
7. Julien Bill (Hon) SUI
8. Chad Reed (Suz) AUS
9. Jonathan Barragan (KTM) ESP
10. Nicolas Aubin (Yam) FRA

Overall Results:
1. United States – 26 points
2. France – 31 points
3. Belgium – 41 points
4. Great Britain – 42 points
5. Italy – 45 points
6. Australia – 55 points
7. Spain – 58 points
8. New Zealand – 63 points
9. Switzerland – 82 points
10. Germany – 96 points