2008 Rockstar US Open SX Results

October 12, 2008
James Stewart
James Stewart took the first major win on his new Yamaha ride with L&M Racing by sweeping the Rockstar US Open in Las Vegas this weekend.

L&M San Manuel Yamaha’s James Stewart, of Haines City, Fla., won the Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open at the MGM Grand Garden Arena, taking home the $100,000 winner’s pay check.

Stewart set the stage coming into tonight’s main event, winning the superpole, which put him two steps away from claiming the $250,000 Trifecta bonus award. Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Chad Reed, of Dade City, Fla., stopped Stewart from winning the $250,000 when he won the holeshot award. Yamaha’s Broc Hepler, of Kittanning, Pa., followed Reed through turn one and Stewart started in fourth.

Reed led the first 16 laps before suffering a major crash that allowed Stewart to move into the lead. Red Bull Honda’s Andrew Short, of Smithville, Texas, moved into second place, where he finished. Reed finished third.

In the overall, Red Bull Honda’s Ivan Tedesco, of Tallahassee, Fla., finished second and Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey, of Belle, Plaine, Minn., finished third.

“I wanted to come here and do good for the team,” said Stewart. “I was lucky that Chad made a mistake for me. It was a great night and I am glad that we put on a great race for the fans.”

Jesse Nelson bounced back from a rough ride Friday night to win the Alpinestars 85cc Mini Invitational. While trailing Nelson, Joe Savatgy, who finished second last night, crashed the timing section, giving up his chase for the lead. Austin Politelli, who won last night’s main event, finished second place tonight and won the overall.

Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open Overall Results
1. James Stewart, Yamaha (1-1)
2. Ivan Tedesco, Honda (5-4)
3. Ryan Dungey, Suzuki (5-4)
4. Andrew Short, Honda (9-2)
5. Justin Brayton, KTM (4-9)
6. Josh Hill, Yamaha (3-12)
7. Michael Byrne, Suzuki (7-6)
8. Chad Reed, Suzuki (14-3)
9. Thomas Hahn, Kawasaki (8-13)
10. Broc Hepler, Yamaha (6-11)

Alpinestars 85cc Mini Invitational Overall Results
1. A. Politelli, Suzuki
2. K. Kamm, KTM
3. J. Savatgy, Honda
4. J. Nelson, Honda
5. J. Owen, Suzuki
6. M. Maze, Suzuki
7. D. Epstein, Yamaha
8. M. Bisceglia, Yamaha
9. T. Stewart, Yamaha
10. C. Alldredge, Yamaha

Legends Rematch Race, Saturday Night Results
1. Damon Bradshaw, Yamaha
2. Jeff Matiasevich, Kawasaki

Facebook comments