MotoGP 2008 Valencia Results

October 26, 2008
Bart Madson
By Bart Madson
Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Bashing away at the MotoUSA keyboard for nine years now, Madson lends his scribbling and editorial input on everything from bike reviews to industry analysis and motorcycle racing reports.

Casey Stoner celebrates victory at the MotoGP 2008 finale in Valencia.
Casey Stoner celebrates victory at the MotoGP 2008 finale.

Ducati’s Casey Stoner may not have repeated as MotoGP champ, but the Aussie closed out 2008 with a dominating win at Valencia. Starting from pole position Stoner cruised to his sixth win of the season, joined on the rostrum by Honda’s Dani Pedrosa and the man who replaces him as GP champ, Yamaha’s Valentino Rossi.

Pedrosa, who took the checkers before his home Spanish crowd at last year’s Valencia GP, gave his old 250GP rival a challenge at the start but was soon overtaken. The Honda pilot was able to fend off the Doctor, however, who was able to at least finish at Valencia, a feat which has plagued him during the past two season finales.

Andrea Dovizioso, who is taking over Nicky Hayden’s seat on the factory Honda RC212V, bested the Kentucky Kid for the second consecutive weekend – the JIR Scot Honda just edging out the special-liveried Hayden Honda. Nick the Quick concluded his Honda GP service with a fifth-place performance… And a 2006 championship!

Colin Edwards, once again, grabbed some solid points on the Tech 3 Yamaha. The Texas Tornado is followed by Honda’s Shinya Nakano and Fiat Yamaha’s Jorge Lorenzo, who finished eighth but earned rookie of the year honors after an up and down inaugural MotoGP campaign.

Rounding out the top 10 was the most experienced Grand Prix rider in the paddock, Rizla Suzuki’s Loris Capirossi (ninth), and one of the least experienced, Honda rookie Alex de Angelis (tenth).

MotoGP Valencia Results:
1.Casey Stoner (Ducati)
2.Dani Pedrosa (Honda)
3.Valentino Rossi (Yamaha)
4.Andrea Dovizioso (Honda)
5.Nicky Hayden (Honda)
6.Colin Edwards (Yamaha)
7.Shinya Nakano (Honda)
8.Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha)
9.Loris Capirossi (Suzuki)
10.Alex de Angelis (Honda)
11.James Toseland (Yamaha)
12.Sylvain Guintoli (Yamaha)
13.Chris Vermeulen (Suzuki)
14.John Hopkins (Kawasaki)
15.Randy de Puniet (Honda)
16.Marco Melandri (Ducati)
17.Anthony West (Kawasaki)
18.Toni Elias (Ducati)

MotoGP Championship Points
1.Rossi – 373
2.Stoner – 280
3.Pedrosa – 249
4.Lorenzo – 190
5.Dovizioso – 174
6.Hayden – 155
7.Edwards – 144
8.Vermeulen – 128
9.Nakano – 126
10.Capirossi – 118