Atlanta NHRA Motorcycle Drag Racing Results

April 20, 2009
Courtesy of Harley-Davidson
Screamin Eagle Vance   Hines rider Eddie Norwalk
Reigning Champion Eddie Krawiec takes his first career event win in NHRA Pro Stock.

Screamin’ Eagle/Vance & Hines rider Eddie Krawiec rode to his first career event win in NHRA Pro Stock Motorcycle drag racing in Atlanta this weekend. Riding a Harley-Davidson V-Rod he defeated Horne Racing Buell’s Douglas Horne in the final round of eliminations at the Summit Racing Equipment NHRA Southern Nationals at Atlanta Dragway. The win was a milestone for Krawiec, who earned the 2008 NHRA Pro Stock Motorcycle championship without winning an event.

“It sure feels good to get this win and get that burden off my back,” said Krawiec. “I’ve been to five final rounds and won a championship, but I still had to prove I was capable of winning an event. My crew chief, Matt Hines, put an awesome Harley-Davidson motorcycle under me all weekend, and it carried me to some personal records in qualifying and then all the way through the finals.”

Krawiec’s win capped a successful weekend for the Screamin’ Eagle/Vance & Hines team. For the second event in a row and the 24th time in his career, Screamin’ Eagle/Vance & Hines rider Andrew Hines was the top qualifier. His 6.877-second/195.03-mph blast on Friday stands as the fourth-best elapsed time in Pro Stock Motorcycle history, set a new Pro Stock Motorcycle track record and is a new personal-best ET and top speed for Hines. Krawiec also set new personal-best marks with a 6.881/194.49 run on Friday to take the second spot in qualifying

Hines defeated MB Machining Buell rider Mike Berry in the first round of Sunday eliminations, and won the second round when Rum Bum Racing Buell rider Shawn Gann fouled at the starting line. Hines faced Horne in the semi-final round, and lost to the rookie at the starting line with a 0.047 reaction time and 6.947 ET to the 0.026/6.959 combination put down by Horne, who took the win by just 0.009 seconds.

Krawiec advanced to the final round with a no-show win over LE Tonglet in round one, a win over Rocklin Motorsports Buell rider Matt Guidera in round two, and a win over Matt Smith when his NitroFish Suzuki broke during his semi-final run.

After a two-hour rain delay, Krawiec and Horne lined up for the event final. Krawiec left the line in 0.019 seconds and posted a 6.902 ET to beat Horne’s 0.041/6.949 by a convincing margin.

Screamin Eagle Vance   Hines rider Eddie Norwalk
A no-show got Krawiec started, but it was his quick reflexes and lightening fast V-Rod that took him the rest of the way.

“We are so happy Eddie can now check an event win off of his racing to-do list,” said Harley-Davidson race team manager Anne Paluso. “The team was working on motors up until the hauler pulled out of Indy for Atlanta, and all that hard work definitely paid off. This was a great weekend for everyone on the Screamin’ Eagle team.”

After three events on the 17-race 2009 NHRA Full Throttle Pro Stock Motorcycle schedule, Smith leads the standings with 270 points. Hines moves from third to second place with 230 points. Hector Arana drops to third with 226 points, and Krawiec moves from sixth to fourth place with 224 points.

The next event on the 2009 NHRA Pro Stock Motorcycle schedule is the O’Reilly NHRA Midwest Nationals, May 1-3 at Gateway International Raceway in Madison, Ill.

Atlanta NHRA Pro Stock Motorcycle Results: 

Round            Win/Loss    Driver                                                                                R-Time        E-Time        Speed

Final                    (W)          Eddie Krawiec (Screamin’ Eagle/Vance & Hines)    0.019            6.902         192.91
                              (L)          Douglas Horne (Horne Racing Buell)                         0.041            6.949          191.13

Elimination 3      (W)         Douglas Horne (Horne Racing Buell)                         0.026            6.959          191.62
                               (L)         Andrew Hines (Screamin’ Eagle/Vance & Hines)     0.047            6.947          191.46

                              (W)         Eddie Krawiec (Screamin’ Eagle/Vance & Hines)     0.019           6.901           194.02
                               (L)         Matt Smith (Nitrofish Suzuki)                                          0.032           NT-Broke After Staging

Elimination 2      (W)         Andrew Hines (Screamin’ Eagle/Vance & Hines)     0.035            6.960           190.11
                               (L)         Shawn Gann (Rum Bum Racing Buell)                       -0.049(R)    7.008            187.39

                              (W)         Eddie Krawiec (Screamin’ Eagle/Vance & Hines)    0.080             6.913            190.57 
                               (L)         Matt Guidera (Rocklin Motorsports Buell)                   0.014             7.054            187.29 

                              (W)         Douglas Horne (Horne Racing Buell)                         0.016             6.951            192.55 
                               (L)         Karen Stoffer (Geico Suzuki)                                          0.048             7.033            190.19 

                              (W)         Matt Smith (Nitrofish Suzuki)                                          0.052             6.915            192.36 
                               (L)         Hector Arana (Lucas Oil Buell)                                      0.021            6.995             187.99

Elimination 1      (W)         Shawn Gann (Rum Bum Racing Buell)                       0.025            7.002            188.17 
                               (L)         Junior Pippin (Stone Mtn & Granite Mtn HD)                0.038            7.017            187.65 

                              (W)         Matt Guidera (Rocklin Motorsports Buell)                    0.040             7.012            189.15 
                               (L)         Craig Treble (Team Scream Suzuki)                             -0.007(R)     6.954            194.18 

                              (W)         Hector Arana (Lucas Oil Buell)                                       0.170            6.974             191.08 
                               (L)         Wesley Wells (Kendall Suzuki)                                       0.151            7.382             173.90 

                               (W)         Karen Stoffer (Geico Suzuki)                                           0.090            6.944           191.89 
                                (L)         Angie McBride (NitroFish/MSR/Redline Oil)                 0.080            6.955           188.70 

                               (W)         Eddie Krawiec (Screamin’ Eagle/Vance & Hines)      0.067            6.949            191.95 
                                (L)         LE Tonglet (Suzuki)                                                           -9.999(R)     NT-No Show 

                               (W)         Douglas Horne (Horne Racing Buell)                           0.029           6.934             192.30 
                                (L)         Michael Phillips (MPR & Damn Sport Suzuki)              0.040           6.966             192.66 

                               (W)         Andrew Hines (Screamin’ Eagle/Vance & Hines)       0.050           6.991             191.40 
                                (L)         Mike Berry (MB Machining/ LAT Racing Oil)                  0.016           7.108             187.99 

                               (W)        Matt Smith (Nitrofish Suzuki)                                            0.042           6.893             194.49 
                                (L)        Steve Johnson (Steve Johnson Racing Wyotech)       0.072           7.021              189.87

Facebook comments