Glen Helen Motocross Results

May 23, 2009
JC Hilderbrand
JC Hilderbrand
Off-Road Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog |Blog Posts |Blog RSS

Hilde is holding down the fort at MotoUSA's Southern Oregon HQ. With world-class dirt bike and ATV trails just minutes away, the hardest part is getting him to focus on the keyboard. Two wheels or four, it doesn't matter to our Off-Road Editor so long as it goes like hell in the dirt.

Chris Pourcel - AMA Motocross Lites  Glen Helen
Frenchman Christophe Pourcel (shown) won the opening moto but was unable to clinch the overall when Ryan Dungey claimed the victory in Moto 2.

Christophe Pourcel picked up at Glen Helen where he left off in the Supercross season with a win in the opening moto of 250 motocross action. The Monster Pro Circuit Kawasaki pilot bested Ryan Dungey and Trey Canard but was unable to repeat the performance in Moto 2. Dungey snared the overall victory with a win in the second outing for Rockstar Makita Suzuki. The rider from Belle Plain, Minnesota was trailed by European Tyla Rattray and Justin Barcia in the final outing. Pourcel claimed second overall behind the RM-Z rider with Rattray third and Tommy Searle fourth, a phenomenal showing from the European contingent. Trey Canard was fifth on his Geico Powersports Honda.

250 Results:
1.Ryan Dungey
2.Christophe Pourcel
3.Tyla Rattray
4.Tommy Searle
5.Trey Canard
6.Justin Barcia
7.Brett Metcalfe
8.Jake Weimer
9.Austin Stroupe
10.Blake Wharton

Ryan Villopoto - AMA Motocross  Glen Helen
Ryan Villopoto has shaken out the rookie nerves in the Supercross season and is back in his winning ways now that the 450 class is outdoors. He claimed the victory at Glen Helen and looks very strong as the crew begins their run at a championship.

The big boys were ready to roll, only this year it is without the biggest names in the sport. With Ricky Carmichael retired for good it seemed as though James Stewart would have an easy time of it, but JS has elected to sit out the outdoor season! That left Chad Reed to make the biggest waves in the early going by posting the fastest practice time at the notoriously rough Glen Helen circuit. The Rockstar Makita Suzuki rider went 4-3 for fourth overall in his first outdoor National since 2006. Instead it was Monster Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto who claimed the overall victory with a two-moto sweep which leaves him with a clean 50 points. RV won with an easy 18-second margin over Josh Grant in Moto 1 and nearly three seconds over Reed’s teammate, Mike Alessi, in Moto 2.

Alessi finished second overall with Grant third and Reed just off the podium. Red Bull Honda’s Davi Millsaps rounded out the top-5.

450 Results:
1.Ryan Villopoto
2.Mike Alessi
3.Josh Grant
4.Chad Reed
5.Davi Millsaps
6.Tommy Hahn
7.Mike Brown
8.Cody Cooper
9.Weston Peick
10.Andrew Short

Facebook comments