2009 Isle of Man Senior TT Results

June 12, 2009
Bart Madson
By Bart Madson
Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Bashing away at the MotoUSA keyboard for nine years now, Madson lends his scribbling and editorial input on everything from bike reviews to industry analysis and motorcycle racing reports.

Isle of Man Senior TT Podium  left to right : Isle of Man native Conor Cummins took second  Steve Plater took the Senior TT win by 19.5 seconds  with Gary Johnson rounding-out the podium in third for Honda.
Isle of Man Senior TT Podium (left to right): Isle of Man native Conor Cummins took second, Steve Plater took the Senior TT win by 19.5 seconds, with Gary Johnson rounding-out the podium in third for Honda.

HM Plant Honda’s Steve Plater sealed a very dominating Isle of Man TT performance for Honda with a victory in the Pokerstars Senior TT. The rain-delayed race saw Plater joined on the rostrum by Kawasaki’s Conor Cummins and Honda rider Gary Johnson. The 15-time TT winner (five-time Senior TT winner) John McGuinness was unable to finish the 2009 finale. The victory for Plater, secured him the overall TT title as well, as the heavy favorite and winner of two 2009 TT, Ian Hutchison, was one of the many score a DNF on Friday.

At the outset, it was King of the Mountain John McGuinness burning up the TT circuit. The HM Plant ace actually reclaimed his King status when he crushed his standing lap record with a blistering 131.578 mph lap. For perspective, before 2009 McGuinness was the only man to lap 130 mph. Unfortunately for McGuinness, his day would end prematurely on Lap Four with a broken chain to blame. The same troubles plagued the still TT-winless Guy Martin, as the Hydrex Honda rider also lost a chain mid-race. The other top CBR1000RR rider, Padgetts Honda’s Hutchison, fell on the final lap.

Jon McGuiness - Isle of Man Senior TT
Plater won the race, but John McGuinness retains his King of the Mountain status with a new 131.578 mph lap record.

Plater, however, rode steady behind his teammate McGuinness, nearly turning his own 131-mph lap and managing to avoid trouble to take the win. As for the second-place Conor Cummins, the Kawasaki rider’s performance is just his second career TT podium. Johnson’s third-place was followed by TT vet Adrian Archibald, riding a Suzuki. Fellow GSX-R rider Carl Rennie rounds out the top 5.

In a field where the majority of riders did not finish the six-lap, one of the pre-race favorites, Relentless Suzuki rider Bruce Anstey, was also counted amongst the DNF finishers.

Sadly, the Senior TT was marred by the death of John Crellin, who scored a third-place podium finish in the inaugural TTXGP run earlier Friday. The following statement was issued by race organizers:

The organizers of the Isle of Man TT Races, ACU Events Ltd, regret to announce that John Crellin has died following an incident at the Mountain Box during today’s (Friday) Senior TT race.

John, 58, was an experienced TT competitor who has competed in a number of TT races and Manx Grand Prix events. He was a civil engineer with the Department of Transport’s Design Services division.

The Coroner of Inquests has been informed and an investigation into the circumstances of the accident is under way.
The Department of Tourism and Leisure and ACU Events Ltd extend their deepest sympathy to John’s family.

2009 Isle of Man Senior TT Results:

Steve Plater - Isle of Man Senior TT
Steve Plater not only captured the Senior TT victory, the consistent Honda rider took the TT points title as well.

1. Steve Plater (Honda)
2. Conor Cummins (Kawasaki)
3. Gary Johnson (Honda)
4. Adrian Archibald (Suzuki)
5. Carl Rennie (Suzuki)
6. Daniel Stewart (Honda)
7. Michael Rutter (Kawasaki)
8. John Burrows (Suzuki)
9. James Hillier (Suzuki)
10. Ian Mackman (Suzuki)

Facebook comments