2009 Isle of Man TTXGP Practice Results

June 9, 2009
Bart Madson
By Bart Madson
Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Bashing away at the MotoUSA keyboard for nine years now, Madson lends his scribbling and editorial input on everything from bike reviews to industry analysis and motorcycle racing reports.

The Team Agni TTXGP entry topped the first practice timesheet with Ron Barber at the helm.
The Team Agni TTXGP entry topped the first practice timesheet with Ron Barber at the helm.

Consider the electric road-racing gauntlet thrown, as the first timed practice results of the TTXGP are in. Topping the list is an unexpected name, as the Team Agni entry, piloted by Rob Barber, turned an 84.819 mph lap – topping out at 102 mph in the Sulby speed trap. Second-fastest around the mountain course was Dan Kneen for the ManTTX squad. The top-placing American team was Barefoot Motors – producers of an electric-powered ATV based out of Ashland, Oregon – the Barefoot machine piloted by Chris Petty.

“Fantastic, absolutely amazing support! I’ve never ever seen support like it in my life,” said Barber on Manx TT radio after turning the first lap. “People waving and shouting… fantastic! One of the best experiences in my life… It’s amazing what a battery powered bike can do”

Barber indicated the Team Agni bike had some juice left in the “tank,” so if the other teams were holding back. Cedric Lynch

Barefoot Motors is actually making its name as an electric-powered ATV firm  building the Model One ATV  which features 50 hp 105 lb-ft power claims and 40-mile range.Tom Montano  Mission Motors  - Isle of Man TTXGP  Practice
Chris Heath  Electric Motorsport  - Isle of Man TTXGP  PracticeRoy Richardson  Brammo  - Isle of Man TTXGP  Practice
(top left, clockwise) Chris Petty took third in the TTXGP practice on the Barefoot Motors
machine; the Mission One piloted by Tom Montano was fourth-fastest in the inaugural
TTXGP timed practice; Roy Richardson was the top placing Brammo rider in sixth;
Chris Heath powered the Electic Motorsports machine into eighth.

Following Kneen (ManTTX) and Petty (Barefoot Motors) on the results sheet was Thomas Montano on the much-hyped Mission Motors Mission One. The Mission entry debuted with incredible claims of 150 mph top speeds and 150-mile range. The American Montano turned the first practice lap at a more modest 67.043 mph – good enough for fourth-fastest.

“Yeah, actually it was pretty good… You see a lot more of the course,” said Montano, on the somewhat slower lap than the TT veteran has turned on the superbike and supersport machinery. “There was a lot of people out there. The support was great, I think everybody was excited to see the bikes come by and actually keep going. I was quite confident it [Mission One] was going to make it, we’ve just been testing some stuff. It was our first run and hopefully we have some more in the bag.”

After Montano, Thomas Schoenfelder was fifth-fastest aboard the XXL entry. As for the second Ashland, Oregon enterprise, Brammo Motorsports, the two-rider team claimed the six and seven spots via near identical 63.242 mph and 63.114 mph laps from Rody Richardson and Mark Buckley.

While Team Agni has set the bar a full 14-mph higher than the nearest competitor, teams have another practice session to dial in the new electric mounts before the TTXGP takes place on Friday.

To get audio commentary of the first TTXGP timed practice visit the TTXGP blog.

TTXGP Tuesday Practice Results
1) Rob Barber (Team Agni) 26:41.39 84.819 mph (Sulby 102Mph)
2) Dan Kneen (ManTTx Racing) 32:01.81 70.677 mph
3) Chris Petty (Barefoot Motors) 33:35.09 67.405 mph
4) Thomas Montano (Mission Motors) 33:45.98 67.043 mph
5) Thomas Schoenfelder (XXL) 34:07.44 66.341 mph
6) Roy Richardson (Brammo) 35:47.76 63.242 mph
7) Mark Buckley (Brammo) 35:52.11 63.114 mph
8) Chris Heath (ElectroMotorSports) 36:26.47 62.122 mph
9) George Spence (Kingston University) 40:44.77 55.559 mph
10) Paul Dobbs (HTBlauva) 41:53.00 54.050 mph

Facebook comments