FIM Supermoto Mallory Park Results

June 1, 2009
The maiden FIM SuperMoto World Championship appearance at Mallory Park ended with the overall wins of Ivan Lazzarini (S1) and Adrien Chareyre (S2) as the two classes were run together in a two heat race format.

A great crowd and a great weather rounded off a fantastic weekend of racing continuing tomorrow with the MX1/MX2 Motocross Grand Prix and Veterans’ World Cup races.

The new race format is according to the latest changes to the 2009 Regulations approved by the Motocross/SuperMoto Grand Prix Commission in Agueda, Portugal, on May 10. As per FIM press release: “If there are up to 32 riders present in total at an event (from both classes, S1 and S2), then all the practices and races will be run together. However, for the FIM SuperMoto World Championship there will be a separate classification as well as separate points for each class”.

S1-S2 RACE 1

Thierry van den Bosh  S1  - FIM Supermoto  Mallory Park
Thierry van den Bosch (VDB) passed S2 rider Chareyre to be the first across the finish-line in a mixed class Supermoto.

Starting from pole, Adrien Chareyre got off to a perfect start and holeshotted the first corner. The Husqvarna CH Racing’s Superider was followed by French countryman Van Den Bosch and Lazzarini.

747 Motorsport TM Factory Racing’s VDB was more at ease than Chareyre as he passed when the current S2 World Champion ran wide in a turn. Chareyre let the S1 Superider pull away as he was still the first S2 man in the pack.

Despite mounting pain to his arm, Chareyre soldiered on in second while HM Honda Racing’s Lazzarini lost the contact with the leading duo to settle for third ahead of Gozzini.

Eventually VDB was the first S1 Superider followed by Lazzarini and wild card Venske. Hermunen was fourth after a troubled start.

Chareyre was the first in the S2 pack ahead of Gozzini and youngster Borella. Delepine was fourth as he tangled with Hermunen at turn one and crashed.

Ivan Lazzarini  S1  - FIM Supermoto  Mallory Park
Honda rider Ivan Lazzarini took second in the S1 class.

S1 Race 1 top ten:
1. Thierry van den Bosch (FRA, TM), 19:43.179
2. Ivan Lazzarini (ITA, Honda), +0:07.401
3. Craig Venske (RSA, KTM), +0:45.669
4. Mauno Hermunen (FIN, Husqvarna), +0:48.821
5. Eddy Seel (BEL, Suzuki), +0:50.314
6. James Addy (GBR, KTM), -1 lap(s)
7. Giovanni Bussei (ITA, Honda), -1 lap(s)
8. Marco Dondi (ITA, Aprilia), -1 lap(s)
9. Jerome Giraudo (FRA, Honda), -1 lap(s)
10. Alex Serafini (ITA, TM), -2 lap(s)

S2 Race 1 top ten:
 1. Adrien Chareyre (FRA, Husqvarna), 19:47.970
2. Davide Gozzini (ITA, TM), +0:16.939
3. Edgardo Borella (ITA, KTM), +0:36.977
4. Gérald Delepine (BEL, Husqvarna), +0:37.834
5. Lorenzo Mariani (ITA, TM), +0:42.643
6. Christian Iddon (GBR, KTM), +0:51.438
7. Lionel Deridder (BEL, KTM), -1 lap(s)
8. Paolo Gaspardone (ITA, KTM), -1 lap(s)
9. Richard Blakeman (GBR, KTM), -2 lap(s)
10. Alessandro Tognaccini (ITA, Aprilia), -3 lap(s)

S1-S2 RACE 2

Anrien Chareyre  S2  - FIM Supermoto  Mallory Park
Frenchman Adrien Chareyre was the first Supermoto rider across the line, beating out the S1 and S2 competition.

Again Chareyre led the group into turn one, followed by a hungry pack of riders which he tried to pull away from right at the first part of the sky section.

Chareyre did pull away despite Lazzarini gave him constant chase and put massive pressure on the Frenchman. Once Lazzarini decided to settle for second -being still the first S1 Superider- Gozzini started to chip away at the gap and came dramatically close to the Honda man.

An aggressive Gozzini tried his best to snatch Lazzarini’s spot but did not make it. The two almost crossed the finish line together.

A first lap tangle saw home favourite Iddon and Minutilli crash and pull out of the race.

Being the first placed S1 Superider in moto two Lazzarini wrapped up the overall ahead of Championship leader VDB – the latter had a bad start in moto two. Completing the podium was rookie Hermunen, at his second consecutive rostrum appearance.

Chareyre increased his Championship lead by winning also this British round while Gozzini ended another difficult weekend in second -several set up problems slowed last year’s Vice World Champion down. Delepine jumped on his first 2009 podium courtesy of a third place in moto two.

S1 Race 2 top ten:
1. Ivan Lazzarini (ITA, Honda), 19:38.257
 2. Thierry van den Bosch (FRA, TM), +0:05.661
3. Mauno Hermunen (FIN, Husqvarna), +0:05.959
4. Craig Venske (RSA, KTM), +0:27.190
5. Eddy Seel (BEL, Suzuki), +0:34.671
6. Giovanni Bussei (ITA, Honda), -1 lap(s)
7. Chris Hodgson (GBR, Husqvarna), -1 lap(s)
8. James Addy (GBR, KTM), -1 lap(s)
9. Jerome Giraudo (FRA, Honda), -1 lap(s)
10. Alex Serafini (ITA, TM), -2 lap(s)

S1 Supermoto Podium - Mallory Park
S1 Mallory Park Podium (left to right): Thierry van den Bosch in second, Ivan Lazzarini with the win, followed by Husqvarna rider Mauno Hermunen in third.

S1 Overall top ten:
1. Ivan Lazzarini (ITA, Honda), 47 points
2. Thierry van den Bosch (FRA, TM), 47 p.
3. Mauno Hermunen (FIN, Husqvarna), 38 p.
4. Craig Venske (RSA, KTM), 38 p.
5. Eddy Seel (BEL, Suzuki), 32 p.
6. Giovanni Bussei (ITA, Honda), 29 p.
7. James Addy (GBR, KTM), 28 p.
8. Chris Hodgson (GBR, Husqvarna), 24 p.
9. Jerome Giraudo (FRA, Honda), 24 p.
10. Alex Serafini (ITA, TM), 22 p.

S1 Championship top ten:
1. Thierry van den Bosch (FRA, TM), 94 points
2. Mauno Hermunen (FIN, Husqvarna), 83 p.
3. Ivan Lazzarini (ITA, Honda), 71 p.
4. Eddy Seel (BEL, Suzuki), 63 p.
5. Chris Hodgson (GBR, Husqvarna), 45 p.
6. Thomas Chareyre (FRA, Husqvarna), 42 p.
7. Jerome Giraudo (FRA, Honda), 41 p.
8. Giovanni Bussei (ITA, Honda), 40 p.
9. Matthew Winstanley (GBR, Husqvarna), 39 p.
10. Craig Venske (RSA, KTM), 38 p.

S1 Manufacturers:
 1. TM, 94 points
2. Husqvarna, 85 p.
3. Honda, 75 p.
4. Suzuki, 63 p.
5. Aprilia, 43 p.
6. KTM, 38 p.
7. Kawasaki, 25 p.
8. Gas Gas, 11 p.

S2 Race 2 top ten:
1. Adrien Chareyre (FRA, Husqvarna), 19:37.290
 2. Davide Gozzini (ITA, TM), +0:01.627
3. Gérald Delepine (BEL, Husqvarna), +0:18.570
4. Lorenzo Mariani (ITA, TM), +0:27.117
5. Paolo Gaspardone (ITA, KTM), +1:00.211
6. Edgardo Borella (ITA, KTM), -1 lap(s)
7. Lionel Deridder (BEL, KTM), -1 lap(s)
8. Ales Hlad (BUL, Aprilia), -1 lap(s)
9. Alessandro Tognaccini (ITA, Aprilia), -1 lap(s)
10. Richard Blakeman (GBR, KTM), -1 lap(s)

S2 Supermoto Podium - Mallory Park
S2 Mallor Park Podium (left to right): Davide Gozzini in second, Adrien Chareyre with the S2 clean sweep, and Gerald Delphine taking third.

S2 Overall top ten:
1. Adrien Chareyre (FRA, Husqvarna), 50 points
2. Davide Gozzini (ITA, TM), 44 p.
3. Gérald Delepine (BEL, Husqvarna), 38 p.
4. Edgardo Borella (ITA, KTM), 35 p.
5. Lorenzo Mariani (ITA, TM), 34 p.
6. Paolo Gaspardone (ITA, KTM), 29 p.
7. Lionel Deridder (BEL, KTM), 28 p.
8. Christian Iddon (GBR, KTM), 24 p.
9. Ales Hlad (BUL, Aprilia), 23 p.
10. Alessandro Tognaccini (ITA, Aprilia), 23 p.

S2 Championship top ten:
1. Adrien Chareyre (FRA, Husqvarna), 100 points
2. Davide Gozzini (ITA, TM), 86 p.
3. Gérald Delepine (BEL, Husqvarna), 70 p.
4. Edgardo Borella (ITA, KTM), 63 p.
5. Paolo Gaspardone (ITA, KTM), 61 p.
6. Luca Minutilli (ITA, Aprilia), 55 p.
7. Christian Iddon (GBR, KTM), 51 p.
8. Lionel Deridder (BEL, KTM), 49 p.
9. Lorenzo Mariani (ITA, TM), 45 p.
10. Richard Blakeman (GBR, KTM), 42 p.

S2 Manufacturers:
1. Husqvarna, 100 points
2. TM, 86 p.
3. KTM, 70 p.
4. Aprilia, 61 p.
5. WRM, 29 p.
6. Honda, 15 p.

Facebook comments