NHRA Pro Stock Englishtown Results

June 15, 2009
Courtesy of Harley-Davidson
NHRA Full Throttle

Screamin’ Eagle/Vance & Hines rider Eddie Krawiec raced a Harley-Davidson Screamin’ Eagle V-Rod to the final round of Pro Stock Motorcycle eliminations at the United Association NHRA SuperNationals at Old Bridge Township Raceway Park. Making his fourth consecutive final-round appearance, Krawiec lost to Craig Treble but added to his overall lead in the Full Throttle Pro Stock Motorcycle series, and tops the division by 76 points.

Krawiec qualified fourth for the event with a run of 7.011 seconds, just ahead of Screamin’ Eagle/Vance & Hines rider Andrew Hines at 7.012. Hector Arana was the quickest qualifier with a run of 6.965 seconds..

Hines opened Sunday eliminations with a win over Stone Mountain/Granite Mountain Harley-Davidson rider Junior Pippin. Krawiec defeated Suzuki rider Wesley Wells in the first round, and for the second week in a row faced Hines before the final round as the teammates lined up in round two. Krawiec prevailed with a 6.994-second run to best the 7.051 of Hines. Krawiec then used a 6.954 run to beat Rum Bum Buell rider Bailey Whitaker (7.193) to advance and face Treble on the Team Scream Suzuki in the final round. Treble won with an outstanding 0.007 reaction time and a 6.955 elapsed time, as Krawiec left the line in 0.061 seconds and could not make up the difference despite his quicker 6.906 ET, his best of the day.

“You had better bring a great reaction time when you line up against Craig Treble,” said Krawiec, who is the defending NHRA Pro Stock Motorcycle champion. “Mine was not terrible but not enough to get it done, so it’s disappointing to lose after putting up a great ET. I’m happy we were able to gather more data about both of the Screamin’ Eagle V-Rod bikes and how the additional twenty pounds is affecting our race bikes this weekend.”

Hines said both Screamin’ Eagle V-Rod motorcycles are working well off the starting line.

“These are the same engines we ran last weekend in Chicago, and I think we are getting closer on a new tune-up to accommodate the 20-pound heavier minimum weight for our bikes,” said Hines. “We are really strong in the first 60 feet, so we are getting some ET back there. Now we’ve got two weeks off, so we’ll get back to the shop and tear everything down and see if there are any surprises inside.”

After six events on the 17-race 2009 NHRA Full Throttle Pro Stock Motorcycle schedule, Krawiec leads the series with 528 points. NitroFish Buell rider Matt Smith moves up to second place with 452 points, while Hines drops to third with 436 points. Treble is fourth with 427 points.

The next event on the 2009 NHRA Pro Stock Motorcycle schedule is the Summit Racing Equipment Nationals, June 25-28 at Summit Motorsports Park in Norwalk, Ohio.

NHRA Pro Stock Motorcycle Drag Racing – Englishtown Results:

Round                Win/Loss            Driver                                                                             R-Time         E-Time         Speed

Final                        (W)                  Craig Treble (Team Scream Suzuki)                          0.007             6.955         193.10 
                                  (L)                   Eddie Krawiec (Screamin’ Eagle/Vance & Hines)   0.061             6.906         193.29

Elimination 3         (W)                   Eddie Krawiec (Screamin’ Eagle/Vance & Hines)  0.047             6.954         191.40 
                                  (L)                   Bailey Whitaker (Rum Bum Buell)                              0.071            7.193         182.03 

                                  (W)                 Craig Treble (Team Scream Suzuki)                          0.033             6.961         191.81 
                                   (L)                  Matt Smith (Nitrofish Suzuki)                                        0.104            6.904          191.87

Elimination 2           (W)                Bailey Whitaker (Rum Bum Buell)                               0.020             7.187        182.53 
                                    (L)                 Douglas Horne (Horne Racing Buell)                      -0.025(R)        7.086        184.72 

                                   (W)                Craig Treble (Team Scream Suzuki)                           0.044            6.978         191.65 
                                    (L)                 Karen Stoffer (Geico Suzuki)                                         0.073           7.055          184.93 

                                   (W)                Eddie Krawiec (Screamin’ Eagle/Vance & Hines)      0.023          6.994         188.96 
                                    (L)                Andrew Hines (Screamin’ Eagle/Vance & Hines)       0.019          7.051         183.94 

                                    (W)               Matt Smith (Nitrofish Suzuki)                                           0.018          6.952         188.46 
                                    (L)                 Matt Guidera (Rocklin Motorsports Buell)                    0.048          6.948         186.54

Elimination 1           (W)                Douglas Horne (Horne Racing Buell)                          0.027          7.026          186.41 
                                   (L)                 Steve Johnson (Steve Johnson Racing Wyotech)      0.044          7.050         189.79 

                                   (W)                Matt Smith (Nitrofish Suzuki)                                          0.033          6.907          192.55 
                                   (L)                 Michael Phillips (MPR & Damn Sport Suzuki)             0.038          7.025          191.78 

                                   (W)               Karen Stoffer (Geico Suzuki)                                           0.070           6.983         186.85 
                                    (L)                Shawn Gann (Rum Bum Racing Buell)                       0.023           7.043         184.12 

                                   (W)               Matt Guidera (Rocklin Motorsports Buell)                    0.055           6.916         188.23 
                                    (L)                Joe DeSantis (Suzuki)                                                    -0.136(R)     7.184         186.64 

                                   (W)               Craig Treble (Team Scream Suzuki)                             0.033          6.938          192.47 
                                    (L)                Mike Berry (MB Machining/ LAT Racing Oil Buell)       0.011          7.104         183.44 

                                   (W)               Bailey Whitaker (Rum Bum Buell)                                 0.056           7.157         183.34 
                                   (L)                 Hector Arana (Lucas Oil Buell)                                      0.326           6.960         190.03 

                                    (W)               Eddie Krawiec (Screamin’ Eagle/Vance & Hines)      0.025           6.921        191.84 
                                     (L)               Wesley Wells (Kendall Suzuki)                                       0.111           7.145        184.60

                                   (W)               Andrew Hines (Screamin’ Eagle/Vance & Hines)       0.031           6.926        189.90 
                                    (L)               Junior Pippin (Stone Mtn & Granite Mtn HD Buell)       0.006           7.046        184.22

2009 NHRA Pro Stock Motorcycle Drag Racing Points Standings
1. Ed Krawiec – 528
2. Andrew HInes – 452
3. Matt Smith – 436
4. Douglas Horne – 427
5. Hector Arana – 401
6. Craig Treble – 357
7. Matt Guidera – 337
8. Shawn Gann – 274
8. Steve Johnson – 273
10. Karen Stoffer – 265

Facebook comments