AMA Daytona SportBike VIR Race 2 Results

August 16, 2009
Adam Waheed
By Adam Waheed
Road Test Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

His insatiable thirst for life is only surpassed by his monthly fuel bill. Whether rocketing on land, flying through the air, or jumping the seas, our Road Test Editor does it all and has the scars to prove it.

Yamahas Josh Herrin won both Daytona SportBike races at VIR.
Yamaha’s Josh Herrin did the double in Virginia, winning both Daytona SportBike races.

Yamaha’s Josh Herrin proved his mettle once again at Virginia International Raceway winning Sunday’s Daytona SportBike Race over Buell’s Danny Eslick and his Yamaha teammate Tommy Aquino.
Sunday’s Daytona SportBike race got off to a late start after a first lap pile-up which necessitated a red flag and a full restart. On the restart it was Erion Honda’s Jake Zemke out in front just like yesterday. This time he was followed by Attack Kawasaki’s Roger Lee Hayden and yesterday’s Daytona SportBike race winner Josh Herrin. On Lap 5, Zemke made a mistake which allowed Hayden and Herrin by. Then on the next lap M4 Suzuki’s Jason DiSalvo would move past the Californian into third position. Buell’s Taylor Knapp trailed Zemke in fifth position, less than a second off the leader.
Herrin would make the move past Hayden, while DiSalvo would have some kind of bike problem forcing him out of the race. Meanwhile Pat Clark Motorsports Steve Rapp and Herrin’s Yamaha teammate Tommy Aquino had joined the fight at the front with both riders within a second of the front runner.
Halfway through the 23-lap race, Hayden and Herrin were still fighting for the lead with both riders taking turns at the front. Behind, Knapp had moved past Zemke and into third position. Just like Saturday’s race, Zemke would continue to fall backwards while Buell’s Danny Eslick crept forward, closing in on Hayden. Knapp would move past Herrin into second position, but Herrin quickly retaliated with one of his trademark bold passes.

Yamahas Josh Herrin pulls a trademark Waheed wheelie after doing the double in Daytona SportBike at VIR. Just kidding. Good Job Josh!
Yamaha’s Josh Herrin pulls a trademark “Waheed” wheelie after doing the double win in Daytona SportBike at VIR. Good job Josh!

With six laps to go the racing up front proved to be some of the best of the year with first through fifth place separated by a little over a half of a second. On Lap 19, Eslick would continue to push to the front using the voracious power of his Buell 1125R motorcycle to pass fellow Buell pilot Knapp.

With three laps to go, both Herrin and Eslick slid past Hayden. Herrin then put his head down trying to break away from the field and opened up nearly a second gap in just one lap. The gap would grow to over on the final lap and Herrin would win by almost a full 2 seconds over Eslick and Aquino.
“That was a real fun race,” Herrin said after the race. “As soon as I heard the Buell coming I just tried to hold him off for a couple more laps so I could run away. It ended up working out exactly how I wanted to. My pit board said there were three laps left, and there were four laps left, so I actually had to make an extra lap. It was a really good race, everybody rode a good race, it was clean and lots of fun.”

Knapp would finish in fourth followed by Hayden. Championship contender and M4 Suzuki rider Martin Cardenas finished in 11th place despite riding with a broken right hand.
Daytona SportBike Race 2 Results from VIR:

Yamahas Tommy Aquino leads the field before crashing out of Daytona SportBike Race 1 at VIR.
Yamaha’s Tommy Aquino came back to finish third in Sunday’s Daytona SportBike race after crashing out of the race yesterday.

1. Josh Herrin, Yamaha YZF-R6
2. Danny Eslick, Buell 1125R
3. Tommy Aquino, Yamaha YZF-R6
4. Taylor Knapp, Buell 1125R
5. Roger Hayden, Kawasaki ZX-6R
6. Bobby Fong, Suzuki GSX-R600
7. Jake Zemke, Honda CBR600RR
8. Chris Peris, Honda CBR600RR
9. Jamie Hacking, Kawasaki ZX-6R
10. Dane Westby, Yamaha YZF-R6
11. Martin Cardenas, Suzuki GSX-R600
12. Michael Beck, Yamaha YZF-R6
13. Matt Lynn, Kawasaki ZX-6R
14. Garrett Carter, Yamaha YZF-R6
15. Marcos Reichert, Yamaha YZF-R6

Facebook comments