AMA Motocross Unadilla Results

August 15, 2009
JC Hilderbrand
JC Hilderbrand
Off-Road Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog |Blog Posts |Blog RSS

Hilde is holding down the fort at MotoUSA's Southern Oregon HQ. With world-class dirt bike and ATV trails just minutes away, the hardest part is getting him to focus on the keyboard. Two wheels or four, it doesn't matter to our Off-Road Editor so long as it goes like hell in the dirt.

Chad Reed - Team Rockstar Suzuki
Chad Reed extended his championship lead with a sweep at Unadilla.

Chad Reed strengthened his stranglehold on the 450 Pro Motocross Championship with a perfect outing at Unadilla. The famed track was celebrating its 40th anniversary while the Rockstar Makita Suzuki rider purged the premier class and extended his lead over Red Bull Honda’s Andrew Short by a margin of 82. Short was second on the day with 5-2 moto scores. The CRF450R rider was looking to win the final outing but the Australian had an easy time working methodically around Justin Brayton and early-leading Short. The Texas resident would hold on for the remainder of the race and his moto tally was good enough to best the other Australian Rockstar Makita Suzuki rider, Michael Byrne, who locked up the final overall podium position with a 4-3 score.

“I’ve been working hard to get back to 100-percent healthy,” said Reed after securing his fourth win of the season. “I had some excuses earlier in the year and I feel they were legit. This is a product of all the help and support I’ve received from my doctor, my wife and everyone at the Rockstar Makita Suzuki team. I’ve always struggled here, but today I was excited. I had a lot of confidence coming in and this is the best opportunity I’ve had here.”

South Africa’s Gareth Swanepoel scored sixth overall with 7-6 moto scores. The Kawasaki rider is on vacation from the World Motocross Championships in Europe to try his hand at American racing. Monster Kawasaki’s Tim Ferry is back in action and finished 11-7 for 10th on the day. Noticeably absent was JGR Yamaha’s Josh Grant who broke both his ankles at X Games 15. He slipped to fourth in the standings, which will only continue as he misses the remaining three rounds.

450 Results:

Josh Grant - AMA Motocross 450 Washougal  Washington
The 450 class dynamics have changed again with Josh Grant out of the picture.

1. Chad Reed, Suzuki (1-1)
2. Andrew Short, Honda (5-2)
3. Michael Byrne, Suzuki (4-3)
4. Justin Brayton, KTM (8-4)
5. Davi Millsaps, Honda (3-11)
6. Gareth Swanepoel, Kawasaki (7-6)
7. Ivan Tedesco, Honda (6-8)
8. Kyle Regal, Yamaha (10-5)
9. Tommy Hahn, Kawasaki (2-16)
10. Timmy Ferry, Kawasaki (11-7)

450 Overall Points Standings:
1. Chad Reed, Suzuki, 387
2. Andrew Short, Honda, 305
3. Ivan Tedesco, Honda, 286
4. Josh Grant, Yamaha, 272
5. Michael Byrne, Suzuki, 245
6. Thomas Hahn, Kawasaki, 198
7. Justin Brayton, KTM, 183
8. Nick Wey, Yamaha, 163
9. Cody Cooper, Yamaha, 161
10. Mike Alessi, Suzuki, 142

250 Class

Christophe Pourcel - AMA Motocross 250 Washougal  Washington
Christophe Pourcel has reclaimed the 250 class lead with a perfect run in New York.

Christophe Pourcel finally shook himself out of the slump he was in with a sweep of the 250 class. The Monster Pro Circuit Kawasaki rider pulled back out to the championship lead which he was formerly sharing with Rockstar Makita Suzuki rival, Ryan Dungey. Suzuki’s title hope could only muster 2-2 finishes followed by Jake Weimer (3-3) and Brett Metcalfe (4-4).

“I just felt really good on the track,” said Pourcel. “I was ready for my day and today was my day. I found good speed and lines on the track and it worked. Today (the track) was worse than usual. It was really bumpy and rough but I like when it’s like that. There are lots of choices for lines which is good.”

Pourcel leads the Belle Plaine, MN rider by six points as we enter the final quarter of the series. Metcalfeis nearly 100 points back in third, but Tommy Searle and Weimer are close enough to shake up the top-five order. The Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship moves on to Round 10 next week in Mechanicsville, MD. Watch it live on NBC at 4 p.m. ET.

250 Results:
1. Christophe Pourcel, Kawasaki (1-1)
2. Ryan Dungey, Suzuki (2-2)
3. Jake Weimer, Kawasaki (3-3)
4. Brett Metcalfe, Honda (4-4)
5. Broc Tickle, Yamaha (9-5)
6. Kyle Cunningham, Kawasaki (6-8)
7. Tommy Searle, KTM (10-7)
8. Justin Barcia, Honda (7-10)
9. Matt Lemoine, Yamaha (14-9)
10. PJ Larsen, Kawasaki (13-11)

250 Overall Points Standings:
1. Christophe Pourcel, Kawasaki, 387
2. Ryan Dungey, Suzuki, 381
3. Brett Metcalfe, Honda, 287
4. Tommy Searle, KTM, 268
5. Jake Weimer, Kawasaki, 255
6. Justin Barcia, Honda, 235
7. Broc Tickle, Yamaha, 227
8. Blake Wharton, Honda, 214
9. Tyla Rattray, Kawasaki, 175
10. Kyle Cunningham, Kawasaki, 162

Facebook comments