American Superbike VIR Race 1 Results

August 15, 2009
Bryan Harley
Bryan Harley
Cruiser Editor |Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Our resident road warrior has earned his stripes covering the rally circuit, from riding the Black Hills of Sturgis to cruising Main Street in Daytona Beach. Whether it's chopped, bobbed, or bored, metric to 'Merican, he rides 'em all.

Yamaha Factory Racings Josh Hayes.
There was no catching Yamaha’s Josh Hayes today, who used pole position to his advantage, jumping out to an early lead and never looking back.

Yamaha’s Josh Hayes continues his streak of strong outings, winning his fourth race of the season in a wire-to-wire win today in Virginia. Hayes took advantage of starting in the pole position to dart out to the early lead. Hayes is finally starting to look like the rider who won the 2007 FX title. He doubled up at Mid-Ohio and looks poised to repeat the feat at VIR the way he’s been racing this weekend.

Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Mat Mladin couldn’t match the pace set by Hayes on the R1 and would cross the line second. Mladin earned 25 points for his effort today, two shy of what he needed to claim the 2009 American Superbike title.

Yamaha’s Ben Bostrom also put in a strong showing, winning a four-way battle for the final spot on the podium. B-Boz held off Suzuki’s Aaron Yates, beating him to the line by a scant 0.065-seconds.Mladin’s Suzuki teammates Tommy Hayden and Blake Young were part of the four-way scrap for third, but fell off the pace late in the race. The two still fought it out going into the final lap, where Hayden made a pass stick and held off Young for fifth.

There’d be no double podium victory for Larry Pegram today. The Ducati rider ran off track but returned to the race and finished back in 12th place.

Jordan Suzuki’s Geoff May also had a rough day, crashing out of the race early.

Suzuki Big Kahuna Nationals American Superbike Race 1 Results

1. J. Hayes (Yamaha)
2. M. Mladin (Suzuki) +10.062
3. B. Bostrom (Yamaha) +12.160
4. A. Yates (Suzuki) +12.225
5. T. Hayden (Suzuki) +15.677
6. B. Young (Suzuki) +15.685
7. J. Holden (Honda) +24.491
8. T. Knapp (Suzuki) +27.265
9. M. Laverty (Suzuki) +28.123
10. J. Wood (Suzuki) +37.93
11. N. Hodgson (Honda)
12. L. Pegram (Ducati)
13. C. Ulrich (Suzuki)
14. S. Charlton (Suzuki)
15. S. Narbonne (Suzuki)
16. S. Jensen (Suzuki)
17. M. Crozier (Suzuki)
18. S. Higbee (Buell)
19. R. Corey (Suzuki)
20. S. Salenius (Suzuki)

Facebook comments