AMA Daytona SportBike New Jersey Race 2

September 6, 2009
Adam Waheed
By Adam Waheed
Road Test Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

His insatiable thirst for life is only surpassed by his monthly fuel bill. Whether rocketing on land, flying through the air, or jumping the seas, our Road Test Editor does it all and has the scars to prove it.

Danny Eslick - Daytona SportBike  Road America
Although Yamaha’s Josh Herrin won the race, Danny Eslick won the 2009 Daytona SportBike championship.

Yamaha’s Josh Herrin won the final Daytona SportBike race of the 2009 season today in New Jersey over Erion Honda’s Jake Zemke and Herrin’s teammate Tommy Aquino. But the real winner this weekend was the Geico/Rossmeyer-backed Buell 1125R piloted by Danny Eslick. Eslick’s seventh place finish today gave American motorcycle manufacturer, Buell its first premier class championship.
At the start of the race it was Aprilia’s Chaz Davies out in front. Davies would eventually crash out of the lead handing the position to Herrin. Herrin remained out in front for the remainder of the race until Zemke came flying by in the closing stages of the race. Herrin would make a last lap pass for the win narrowly acing out Zemke by a margin of just .063 seconds.
Behind him would be Aquino, followed by the other Erion Honda piloted by Chris Peris. The Monster Energy Kawasakis of Jamie Hacking and Roger Lee Hayden finished in fifth and sixth position. Next up was the series’ new champ, Eslick, followed by M4 Suzuki’s Jason DiSalvo and privateer Clinton Sellar. Ricky Parker would round out the top-10.

Noticeably absent out of the line-up was championship hopeful and M4 Suzuki rider Martin Cardenas who had to pull out of the race due to a lingering right hand injury suffered at Virginia International Raceway.
Daytona SportBike Race 2 Results:
1. Josh Herrin, Yamaha YZF-R6
2. Jake Zemke, Honda CBR600RR
3. Tommy Aquino, Yamaha YZF-R6
4. Chris Peris, Honda CBR600RR
5. Jamie Hacking, Kawasaki ZX-6R
6. Roger Hayden, Kawasaki ZX-6R
7. Danny Eslick, Buell 1125R
8. Jason DiSalvo, Suzuki GSX-R600
9. Clinton Seller, Yamaha YZF-R6
10. Ricky Parker, Yamaha YZF-R6
11. Leandro Mercado, Kawasaki ZX-6R
12. Taylor Knapp, Buell 1125R
13. Michael Beck, Yamaha YZF-R6
14. Kyle Wyman, Yamaha YZF-R6
15. Christian Cronin, Yamaha YZF-R6

Facebook comments