AMA SuperSport Saturday Qualifying

October 17, 2009
JC Hilderbrand
Melody DeKorte
Editorial Assistant|Articles|Articles RSS

Melody rides anything with handlebars & a motor and always wants to beat the boys. Be it sand, dirt, track, or street she loves to ride day, night, rain, or shine. A true dedicated motorcycle and powersports enthusiast with a need for speed and corners, she loves the sound of a revving motor and the smell of race fuel. Life on two wheels, what a beautiful thing!

Josh Day piloted his No. 4 Team E.S.P. Yamaha YZF-R6 to pole position for Sunday’s SuperSport National Championship Shootout at Daytona. Leandro Mercado claimed a second-place grid start aboard his Monster Energy Attack Kawasaki with Kris Turner on his Suzuki GSXR-600 placing third.

The 2009 SuperSport East Champion topped the timesheets with a time of 1:51.228. This marks the fifth time Day has claimed the top spot and the second of the season at Daytona International Speedway. Day also won his last four SuperSport series races in a row starting in June at Mid-Ohio.

Josh Day - American Superbike  Mid-Ohio
Josh Day qualified in pole position for tomorrow’s SuperSport National Championship at Daytona.

Day, who hopes his streak will continue, said, “The bike is working pretty good right now. We are just trying to make a few changes to it and try and make it better for all of this wind we have been having lately. Hopefully by Sunday it will all be gone once the cold front finally comes through and we will be able to stay up front and battle for the win.”

During the SuperSport East title race this season, Mercado was Day’s nemesis. Commenting on Mercado’s placement for Sunday, Day said, “I knew Leandro was going to be right there because he got quite a bit of practice on this layout in March when he did the Daytona 200 with the Attack guys filling in for Roger Hayden,” Day said. “I knew he was going to be fast right away. I am happy to come out with the pole right now, but it is still not a win yet. We’ll see how Sunday goes.”

Returning to his first SuperSport race since May and finishing third, Turner talked about his new ride, “We have been scrambling up for something to ride the last few months and we finally found a bike to buy. It’s the same bike I was riding earlier in the year so I feel comfortable on it. It feels great to come back after not being on a bike for so long and putting it in third. For now it is just our own privateer team but we bought the M4 bike and its helping us out a little bit. We got this bike just yesterday and I really have not been on a fast bike since the middle of June. We just picked it up yesterday here at the track.”

Taking the final spot on the front row was LTD Racing’s Joey Pascarella. Pascarella, who finished on the rostrum in March, said, “”I didn’t even know what lap it was, I rode the hardest I could and my bike worked great. We’re going to make some changes for Sunday and hopefully we can give it the best we got and get on the box again. Day is fast, like always. He hauls here. I’m pretty sure it’s going to be a good race from second back and if we can stay with Day, it’ll be a really good race.”

Ricky Parker, the 2009 SuperSport West Champion, crossed the line in seventh on his Team Graves Yamaha YZF-R6. Parker, who will be looking for a good start on Sunday, said, “First of all, we’ve got to get the bike working better than it is now. We’ve had some issues with setup but I think we can get it sorted out before Sunday. Hopefully we’ll get a good start like we did at New Jersey, get behind Josh Day and hopefully stick with him for the race. I think everybody is pretty fast out there. Mercado is going pretty good, Tomas Puerta is going good. A lot of people out there are fast, it’s a pretty equal track. I’m just one of the slow guys so far this weekend, so hopefully I’ll pick it up.”

The AMA Pro SuperSport presented by Shoei National Championship Shootout starts at noon on Sunday for 12 laps/40 miles on the 3.55-mile Daytona road course.

SuperSport Sunday Qualifying:
1. Josh Day (Team ESP Yamaha)
2. Leandro Mercado (Monster Energy Kawasaki)
3. Kris Turner (M4 Suzuki)
4. Joey Pascarella (LTD Racing)
5. Tomas Puerta (Ron Wood Racing)
6. Tyler Odom (Erion Honda)
7. Ricky Parker (Graves Motorsports)
8. Huntely Nash (Arai Racing Sports)
9. Travis Wyman (Harv’s Harley)
10. Russ Wikle (