Amateur Arenacross Championship Results

October 15, 2009
Courtesy of AMA Arenacross

Arenacross Amateur Nationals

As part of the excitement of the Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open, the Amateur National Arenacross Championships welcomed the nation’s top amateur competitors to the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas for a one-day extravaganza that featured 21 classes. Throughout the 12 rounds of the 2009 AMA Arenacross Series season, hundreds of riders throughout the country battled for their chance to qualify for Sunday’s race.

Since its establishment in 2001, the Amateur National Arenacross Championships has featured the some of the sport’s top riders, including Matt Goerke, Tommy Hahn and Billy Laninovich.

The top five riders in each class from the four AMA Arenacross Series regions (East, West, Midwest and Central) made the trip out west for their chance at Arenacross glory. As the talent within the Amateur Arenacross scene continues to grow, the on-track action at the Amateur National Arenacross Championships is the site of memorable bar-to-bar racing. Sunday’s main events didn’t disappoint, producing some of the tightest competition in the nine year history of the race.

Four hundred and twenty of the nation’s top Amateur Arenacross racers took part in the festivities, while 21 riders stood atop the podium with the coveted trophies. Leading regional qualifiers Gared Steinke and Mitchell Harrison captured titles, with Steinke garnering a pair of championships in the AX Lites Intermediate and Collegeboy classes while Harrison was crowned the 85cc 7-11 class champion. In the 50cc 4-6 class championship, Ethan Mann defended his title.

By finishing in the top eight of the Expert class, the following riders earned their AMA Supercross Lites class endorsement for the 2010 season: Cody Robbins, Trevor Allred, Chase Lee and Beau Burnett.

2009 Amateur National Arenacross Champions
50cc 4-6                          Ethan Mann
50cc 7-8                          Austin Black
65cc 7-9                          Zachary Smith
65cc 10-11                     Justin Cooper
85cc 7-11                        Mitchell Harrison
85cc 12-15                      Jarred Williams
85cc Supermini              Gye Walter
Schoolboy 12-16            Zach Wallace
Collegeboy                      Gared Steinke
AX Lites Novice               Joshua Vandenheuvel
AX Novice                          Michael Gomes
AX Lites Intermediate     Gared Steinke
AX Intermediate                Ryan Theisen
Over 25                               Chad Cook
Over 30                              John Grewe
Over 35                               Michael Faulk
Over 40                               John Grewe
Girls 9-13                           Kendall Chase
Women                              Rochelle Charnowski
Pit Bike                               Joshua Sheffer
Expert                                 Gray Davenport

To see full results for the 2009 Amateur National Arenacross Championships, click the following link: Stay tuned for 2010 AMA Arenacross Series schedule updates on