2010 San Diego Supercross Results

February 6, 2010
Doug Meyer
Shan Moore
Contributing Editor |Articles |Articles RSS

Don’t hold the fact that he’s from Middle America against him. “Okie” Shan Moore can beam himself to any Supercross venue in the country in the time it takes to download Kanye West to your iPod.

Davi Millsaps took a surprising win at the fifth round of 2010 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series in San Diego tonight. The Red Bull Honda-backed CRF450R rider moved around Monster Energy Kawasaki‘s Nick Wey on the third lap of the 20-lap final and then pulled away to a relatively easy victory – his first win in nearly two years. According to the Millsaps, it was the longest race of his life.
Davi Millsaps got his first win in nearly two years at San Diego.
Davi Millsaps claimed his first win in almost two years in San Diego.

“This is amazing,” said Millsaps. “Especially to have my whole crew here for this race. They’ve been behind me through all the hard times and they just kept telling me I could win and I was glad to finally get it for them.”

Track conditions played a major role in tonight’s race after off-and-on showers left the Qualcomm Stadium track in less than desirable condition. As usual, the Dirt Wurx crew did an unbelievable job of salvaging the situation, but deep ruts still developed in a few of the corners and the course was treacherously slippery. 

Josh Hill claimed his third-straight runner-up finish, taking advantage of a nasty crash by Red Bull Honda’s Andrew Short to move into third and then passing Valli Motorsports Yamaha’s Ivan Tedesco with two laps to go. Hill felt he might have been able to catch Millsaps if he had started his charge a little earlier.

“I was just too tentative at the beginning,” said Hill. “If I could have got going just five laps sooner I might have been able to win it. I’m learning every single weekend and I’m getting faster each time I go out. It’s going to end up being an exciting year.”

Tedesco held on for third, his first podium of the year.

“To get up on the box you gotta push the envelope and I got squirrelly a few times out there,” said Tedesco. “Luckily I didn’t go down and I ended up on the podium. I’m stoked to be up here; it’s definitely better than the last few weeks. Hopefully I can get some momentum off this.”

Josh Hill got his third-straight runner-up finish.
Josh Hill was second for the third consecutive time on his San Manuel Yamaha.

After three-straight podiums to start the season, series points leader Ryan Dungey finished off the box for the second race in a row. After sliding out in the first turn and then crashing again before the end of the opening lap, the Rockstar Makita Suzuki rider still managed to work his way up into sixth by the end of the race, but saw his 16-point lead in the series standings shrink to just four points over Hill.

Last week’s winner, Ryan Villopoto, also got a bad start, but was able to salvage fourth on his Monster Energy Kawasaki and sits in third overall, 10 points down from Dungey.

Supercross Results:
1. Davi Millsaps, Honda
2. Josh Hill, Yamaha
3. Ivan Tedesco, Yamaha
4. Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
5. Justin Brayton, Yamaha
6. Ryan Dungey, Suzuki
7. Tommy Hahn, Suzuki
8. Grant Langston, Yamaha
9. Nick Wey, Kawasaki
10. Kyle Chisholm, Yamaha
11. Chris Blose, Honda
12. Fabien Izoird, Kawasaki
13. Dan Reardon, Yamaha
14. Michael Byrne, Yamaha
15. Bobby Bonds, Kawasaki
16. Kevin Windham, Honda
17. Cyrille Coulon, Kawasaki
18. Jason Thomas, Suzuki
19. Kyle Partride, Kawasaki
20. Andrew Short, Honda

Overall Point Standings:
1. Ryan Dungey, 105
2. Josh Hill, 101
3. Ryan Villopoto, 95
4. Davi Millsaps, 82
5. Ivan Tedesco, 77
6. Justin Brayton, 72
7. Andrew Short, 69
8. Kevin Windham, 66
9. Tommy Hahn, 56
10. James Stewart, 51

In the AMA Supercross Lites class, Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Jake Weimer claimed his fourth win in five starts, passing GEICO Powersports Honda’s Trey Canard on the first lap of the race to take the lead and then holding on to the finish. Canard went down during the pass, allowing teammate Blake Wharton to inherit the runner-up position. Wharton went down a little later, leaving second to Star Racing’s Max Anstie. Anstie actually challenged Weimer for the lead at the midway point of the race, but was held up by a lapper and dropped off the pace. On the final lap, Anstie went down, leaving Troy Lee Designs Honda teammates Cole Seeley and Wil Hahn with second and third.

Jake Weimer made it four wins in five races at San Diego.
Jake Weimer made it four wins in five starts.

“Yeah it was a good night,” said Weimer. “I was able to get a good start right behind Canard and unfortunately he went down. I was able to get by and I just tried to be consistent from there. The track was definitely tricky but it held up well.”

Supercross Lites Results:
1. Jake Weimer, Kawasaki
2. Cole Seely, Honda
3. Wil Hahn, Honda
4. Max Anstie, Yamaha
5. Broc Tickle, Yamaha
6. Trey Canard, Honda
7. Phillip Nicoletti, KTM
8. PJ Larsen, KTM
9. Blake Wharton, Honda
10. Chris Gosselaar, Honda
11. Josh Hansen, Kawasaki
12. Hunter Hewitt, Suzuki
13. Robert Kiniry, Suzuki
14. Antonio Balbi, Kawasaki
15. Eric McCrummen, Honda
16. Jeff Alessi, Yamaha
17. Mike Horban, Honda
18. Hugo Dagod, KTM
19. Travis Baker, Yamaha
20. Josh Clark, Kawasaki

Lites Overall Standings:
1. Jake Weimer, 122
2. Trey Canard, 96
3. Wil Hahn, 94
4. Broc Tickle, 78
5. Cole Seely, 76
6. Blake Wharton, 71
7. Max Anstie, 63
8. Josh Hansen, 56
9. Jeff Alessi, 45
10. Ryan Morais, 42

Facebook comments