2010 The Tough One Results

February 22, 2010
JC Hilderbrand
JC Hilderbrand
Off-Road Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog |Blog Posts |Blog RSS

Hilde is holding down the fort at MotoUSA's Southern Oregon HQ. With world-class dirt bike and ATV trails just minutes away, the hardest part is getting him to focus on the keyboard. Two wheels or four, it doesn't matter to our Off-Road Editor so long as it goes like hell in the dirt.

David Knight launches off the start at the 2010 The Tough One. Two hours later he would emerge the victor.

Great Britain’s nastiest race took place last weekend with plenty of slime at the Nantmawr Quarry in Shropshire to keep competitors on their best behavior. Defending champion, Taddy Blazusiak, sat out the event due to a recent flu virus, and that allowed David Knight to manhandle his way to the top. As an Isle of Man native, this is about as close to home as it gets for Knighter who recently rejoined KTM via the Farioli Racing team. The Manxman took advantage of being on home turf and proved his switch back to KTM was a smart one. Knight finished 14 laps with a time of just over two hours (2:04:04) which was 10 minutes ahead of second place.

Tom Sagar managed to stay on the leading loop, which is as close as anyone came to keeping the KTM leader in sight. Racing for Fast Eddy Suzuki, Sagar opted for the new fuel-injected RM-Z250 rather than his customary RMX450Z which he’s contesting the British Enduro Championship with.

“I was pretty comfortable throughout the event and chased David right up until the final lap when I realized my position was safe and backed off. I chose to ride the all-new RM-Z250 for this event, which was ideal for the tricky conditions and general nature of the Tough One. I’m really looking forward to getting back on the RMX450Z for the first round of the British Enduro Championship this weekend.”

Top: Chris Birch struggled to 22nd place. Bottom: The podium (L-R) Tom Sagar, David Knight, Dougie Lampkin.

World Trials ace, Dougie Lampkin, was unable to match the 14-lap pace and only completed 13 circuits with a time of 2:04:28. His performance was good enough for a trip to the podium. Several big names finished down in the standings. BMW’s extreme enduro superstar, Andreas Lettenbichler, was unable to reproduce his victorious results from the 2009 Romaniacs Rally event, finishing 12th with 12 laps completed. KTM ace Chris Birch only managed 10 laps and Sherco’s Graham Jarvis succumbed after only nine, finishing 22nd and 24th, respectively.

On a side note, Juan Knight, David’s older brother, came out to give it a shot and scored seventh on his Gas Gas – not bad for a guy who doesn’t race and is considered primarily a trail rider. David admits that Juan was always more naturally talented and his older sibling is responsible for helping push David to such meteoric heights.

2010 The Tough One Results:
1. David Knight, Red Bull KTM, 14 laps, 2:04:04
2. Tom Sagar, Fast Eddy Suzuki, 14 laps, 2:14:13
3. Dougie Lampkin, Factory Beta, 13 laps, 2:04:15
4. Rory Mead, Yamaha, 13 laps, 2:04:28
5. Paul Bolton, Eurotek KTM, 13 laps, 2:13:11
6. Ben Hemingway, Eurotek KTM, 12 laps, 2:05:12
7. Juan Knight, Gas Gas, 12 laps, 2:06:32
8. Richard Ellwood, KTM, 12 laps, 2:11:18
9. Simo Kirrsi, Factory BMW, 12 laps, 2:11:54
10. David Myers, CB KTM, 12 laps, 2:12:55