2010 Daytona American SBK Race 2 Results

March 5, 2010
Bart Madson
By Bart Madson
Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Bashing away at the MotoUSA keyboard for nine years now, Madson lends his scribbling and editorial input on everything from bike reviews to industry analysis and motorcycle racing reports.

Jake Zemke doubled his Superbike win total at Daytona on Friday, with the new National Guard Jordan Suzuki rider claiming victory in the second American SuperBike race. Joining Zemke on the Race 2 podium were Yoshimura Suzuki’s Tommy Hayden and Pat Clark Yamaha’s Ben Bostrom.

Jake Zemke in the lead during Race 1 at Daytona.
Jake Zemke has made his new Jordan Suzuki employers happy with a pair of victories at Daytona.

Hayden jumped out to the early lead of the 15-lap race, followed by Foremost Ducati’s Larry Pegram, Zemke and the second Jordan Suzkui piloted by Aaron Yates. Hayden’s Yosh teammate, Blake Young, was fifth-fastest in the opening lap, leading a group that included Yamaha riders Josh Hayes and Eric Bostrom, as well as the Suzuki duo of Canadian Superbike star Brett McCormick and MotoGP/SBK refugee John Hopkins.

As the laps wound out, Hayden maintained the lead, with Zemke reeling in the leader and just ahead of Pegram. The front-running duo continued to set the pace for the first half of the race, with Zemke beginning to lead laps at the midway point.

The halfway marker saw Hopkins name off the leaderboard, as the hard-luck rider had pulled his Suzuki into the pits for unspecified reasons only six laps completed (a similar result to his disappointing Race 1 debut). Meanwhile, the Yamahas worked their way up past Young and within striking distance of the podium. Yates gained position as well, at the expense of Pegram, and the two continued to swap third-place.

Also playing cat and mouse were Zemke and Hayden, still fighting for the lead, each rider vying for position heading into the final straightaway and Daytona’s finish line drafts. In the end it was Zemke who claimed the narrow advantage by a scant 0.009 courtesy of a final draft to the line.

Ben Bostrom is riding for the Pat Clark Motorsports Team for the 2010 AMA Pro American Superbike Series.
Ben Bostrom, riding a Pat Clark Yamaha, used a final lap push to edge his R1 onto the Race 2 podium.

Bostrom’s position on the final lap allowed him to vault forward on the final straight as well, with the Yamaha pilot spoiling Yates’ podium plans and Suzuki’s opportunity for an all-GSX-R sweep. For Bostrom, the positive result helps mitigate a disappointing 18th-place finish on Thursday, courtesy of a fried clutch on the start. Yates settled for fourth, only 0.212 adrift of his winning teammate.

Pegram ended in fifth, one position ahead of Hayes, who was himself within two seconds of the leader. Young was much further off the pace in seventh, ahead of McCormick in eighth, with David Anthony and Taylor Knapp rounding out the top 10.

2010 Daytona American SBK Race 2 Results
1. Jake Zemke (Suzuki)
2. Tommy Hayden (Suzuki) +0.009

Jake Zemke and company round the corner at Daytona International Speedway.
Zemke beat out Hayden for a clean sweep of the opening Daytona round in the American SuperBike series.

3. Ben Bostrom (Yamaha) +0.081
4. Aaron Yates (Suzuki) +0.212
5. Larry Pegram (Ducati) +0.858
6. Josh Hayes (Yamaha) +1.838
7. Blake Young (Suzuki) +22.383
8. Brett McCormick (Suzuki) +29.235
9. David Anthony (Suzuki)+34.124
10. Taylor Knapp (Suzuki)+34.404
11. Jeffrey Tigert (Honda) +46.244
12. Chris Ulrich (Suzuki) +46.486
13. Shane Narbonne (Suzuki) +48.176
14. Eric Haugo (Suzuki) +01:18.8
15. Scott Jensen (Suzuki) +01:18.9

Facebook comments