2010 Daytona Flat Track Wednesday Results

March 4, 2010
Bart Madson
By Bart Madson
Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Bashing away at the MotoUSA keyboard for nine years now, Madson lends his scribbling and editorial input on everything from bike reviews to industry analysis and motorcycle racing reports.

Sammy Halbert - 2010 AMA Flat Track Daytona
Yamaha rider Sammy Halbert took the win in the GNC Singles first race at the new Daytona short track.

Daytona International Speedway christened its new Flat Track circuit with a pair of races during Bike Week. Yamaha’s Sammy Halbert took the opening win in the AMA GNC Singles series ahead of Kawasaki’s Henry Wiles and Suzuki’s Jake Johnson.

“It means so much,” said Halbert in a press release from Daytona International Speedway. “It’s great to see this dream come true and put Yamaha on top of the box where it belongs.”

Halbert had to pass Honda’s Joe Kopp for the win, as Kopp jumped out to the early lead from his pole position qualifying.

Former Flat Track champions Kenny Coolbeth and Chris Carr finished a respective seventh and 12th aboard their Honda mounts.

2010 Daytona Flat Track Wednesday Results:

Henry Wiles - 2010 AMA Flat Track Daytona
Kawasaki’s Henry Wiles had to settle for second at the Daytona opener (top) while Halbert (7) made a move on Kopp (3) for the lead (bottom).
Joe Kopp  3  and Sammy Halbert  7  - 2010 AMA Flat Track Daytona

1. Sammy Halbert (Yam)
2. Henry Wiles (Kaw)
3. Jake Johnson (Hon)
4. Jethro Halbert (Yam)
5. Joe Kopp (Hon)
6. Johnny Lewis (Hon)
7. Kenny Coolbeth (Hon)
8. Matt Weidman (Hon)
9. Raun Wood (Hon)
10. Jared Mees (Hon)
11. Don Mullen (Hon)
12. Chris Carr (Hon)
13. JR Schnabel (Yam)
14. Bryan Smith (Kaw)
15. Brandan Bergen (Hon);

Pro Singles

In the Pro Singles race, it was yet another Yamaha atop the rostrum, with Jeffrey Carver Jr. taking the checkers.
Following Carver were Honda riders James Rispoli and Stephen Vanderkuur.

Carver didn’t score the victory until the race was restarted, however, as a Lap 1 pileup involving J.D. Beach took out the AMA SuperSport competitor and defending Pro Singles champ Brad Baker.

The new Daytona quarter-mile short track, which is located on the outside of Turns 1 and 2 of DIS, will conclude its inaugural round with another pair of races Thursday night.

2010 Daytona Pro Singles Wednesday Results:
1. Jeffery Carver (Yam)
2. James Rispoli (Hon)
3. Stephen Vanderkuur (Hon)
4. Mikey Avila (Hon)
5. Brad Baker (Hon)
6. Mike Poe (Kaw)
7. JD Beach (Hon)
8. Kenny Malaguarnero (Hon)
9. Gerit Callies (Hon)
10. Mikey Martin (Hon)

Jeffrey Carver Jr.  24p  - 2010 AMA Flat Track DaytonaJ.D. Beach  95c  and Stephen Vanderkuur  10j  2010 AMA Flat Track Daytona
In the Pro Singles class Jeffrey Carver took the win (left). In the support class featuring up-and-comers like AMA SuperSport competitor JD Beach (bottom right, 95).

Facebook comments