2010 Seattle AMA Supercross Results

April 24, 2010
Justin Dawes
Justin Dawes
Digital Media Producer |Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Raised on two wheels in the deserts of Nevada, the newest addition to the MotoUSA crew has been part of the industry for well over 15 years.Equal parts writer, photographer, and rider, "JDawg" is a jack of all trades and even a master of some.

Ryan Dungey won the first Supercross-class title of his career with an unremarkable fourth-place result in Seattle, Washington. The Rockstar Makita Suzuki rider played it safe all night in the challenging conditions to wrap up the Monster Energy AMA Supercross championship with two rounds to go. All night the new champ looked uncomfortable on the ridiculously rutted track, but it really didn’t matter in the end when he stepped up to the podium to accept his rookie-season Number-1 plate.

Rockstar Makita Suzukis Ryan Dungey officially clinched the 2010 Supercross Championship in Seattle after a fourth place finish.
Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey clinched the 2010 AMA Supercross title with a fourth place finish in Seattle

“Tonight we were able to wrap it up and it’s awesome, a great feeling,” said Dungey after the podium celebration.
Kevin Windham finally collected his first win of the 2010 season. The GEICO Powersports rider grabbed the holeshot and proceeded to check out. Lap after lap K-Dub distanced himself from the field eventually finishing over 22 seconds ahead of second place. Windham’s last win was in 2008 at this very same track. With a plan to race until 2014, we will most likely see the Mississippi native on top of the podium again.
“Man, it feels so good. It’s been a long time; that time was in 2008 here. To get it done tonight makes it so special,” said the veteran of the Supercross class. “The older you get the more appreciative you are of the races and the wins.”
Tommy Hahn put his Honda CRF450R in to second place after battling it out with JGR Yamaha’s Justin Brayton. Earlier in the evening Hahn’s brother also took second in the Lites class. The Hahn brothers are the first to get podium finishes in the same night.

Tommy Hahn repeated his brothers accomplishment in the Supercross class. They have the distinction of being the first brothers to finish second in both main events.
Tommy Hahn put his Suzuki on the podium for the first time in 2010, matching his brother’s performance for the night.

“I knew I could get in the top-five or even get on the podium tonight. I had good speed in the heat race,” said elder Hahn brother. “With I good start I figured I could do it.”
Muscle Milk/Toyota/JGR’s Brayton got a great start in the main event and held off the hard-charging Hahn until the 11th lap. The former Arenacross racer struggled during practice, but turned it up a notch during the evening program. This is the first podium of the season for Brayton, and his first podium in the 450-class.
“Coming into it, I knew it was going to be a physical test. I banged my ankle up in St. Louis and it has been hurting me pretty bad,” said Brayton. “Then I came and crashed in practice. I just really put an emphasis on the start tonight. I knew if I got a good start, I could still run the leader’s pace. That’s what I did, and it feels great to be on the podium.”

Dungey has amassed 320 points with the injured Ryan Villopoto currently in second with 266 and Windham 18-points behind in third. As long as K-Dub finishes above 12th place in the next two races, the GEICO Powersports Honda rider will inherit the runner-up position

JGRs Justin Brayton rode a strong race on the toughest track of the year to finish third in Seattle.
Justin Brayton finally got a podium finish in the 450-class.

Seattle Supercross Results:
1. Kevin Windham, Honda
2. Tommy Hahn, Suzuki
3. Justin Brayton, Yamaha
4. Ryan Dungey, Suzuki
5. Davi Millsaps, Honda
6. Nick Wey, Kawasaki
7. Michael Byrne, Yamaha
8. Chad Reed, Kawasaki
9. Andrew Short, Honda
10. Kyle Chisholm, Yamaha
11. Matt Boni, Honda
12. Jason Lawrence, Yamaha
13. Kyle Cunningham, Yamaha
14. Justin Keeney, Kawasaki
15. Chris Blose, Honda
16. Troy Adams, Suzuki
17. Jarred Browne, Kawasaki
18. Ryan Clark, Honda
19. Josh Hill, Yamaha
20. Kyle Partridge, Kawasaki

Supercross Overall Standings:
1. Ryan Dungey, 320
2. Ryan Villopoto, 266
3. Kevin Windham, 248
4. Davi Millsaps, 231
5. Josh Hill, 227
6. Justin Brayton, 211
7. Ivan Tedesco, 183
8. Nick Wey, 174
9. Tommy Hahn, 161
10. Kyle Chisholm, 147

Supercross Lites

Broc Tickle got his first win of 2010 on a seriously brutal Seattle track.
Broc Tickle took the Lites class win in front of Wil Hahn and Jake Weimer.

Supercross Lites action returned to the West Coast where Jake Weimer tried to keep his championship lead after nearly two months off. Although he didn’t take the win, the Pro Circuit rider gained a massive lead over his rival Trey Canard with a third place finish. Canard crashed right after smoking the holeshot, and struggled back to an 11th place finish. The error cost him badly in the title chase and allowed Weimer to extend his total to 155 points. The points swing could have gone the other way as Weimer went down on the first lap.

“The championship is all I could think about,” said Weimer about going down on the first lap. “The way the points were going into the night, I knew I could get a fourth and a third. I saw I was in fouth, and I wanted to push to get third. Just so that next weekend would be that much easier.”

Broc Tickle rode an inspired ride to take his first win in the 2010 season over Wil Hahn. The DNA Shred Stix rider was in second place for the first two laps before moving into the lead for the remainder of the main event. Lucas Oil’s Hahn worked his way up from forth on the brutal Seattle track, but still came up over four seconds short on the winner. Hahn now has 136 points with Canard in third at 131. Tonight’s winner is fourth with 125 points.

Supercross Lites Results:
1. Broc Tickle, Yamaha
2. Wil Hahn, Honda
3. Jake Weimer, Kawasaki
4. Blake Wharton, Honda
5. Ryan Morais, Suzuki
6. Josh Hansen, Kawasaki
7. Cole Seely, Honda
8. Phillip Nicoletti, KTM
9. Max Anstie, Yamaha
10. Hunter Hewitt, Suzuki
11. Trey Canard, Honda
12. Travis Baker, Yamaha
13. Jeff Alessi, Yamaha
14. Bobby Kiniry, Suzuki
15. Jake Canada, Kawasaki
16. Sean Borkenhagen, KTM
17. Christopher Gosselaar, Honda
18. Chris Howell, Yamaha
19. Joey Ruminer, Kawasaki
20. Ryan Abrigo, Honda

Supercross Lites Overall Standings:
1. Jake Weimer, 155
2. Wil Hahn, 136
3. Trey Canard, 131
4. Broc Tickle, 125
5. Blake Wharton, 107
6. Cole Seely, 90
7. Josh Hansen, 75
8. Max Anstie, 75
9. Phil Nicoletti, 69
10. Jeff Alessi, 64

Facebook comments