2010 American SuperBike Infineon Race 2

May 16, 2010
Steve Atlas
Steve Atlas
Contributing Editor |Articles |Articles RSS

Professional-grade speed and an attitude to match, Steve Atlas is the new blood at MotoUSA. Atlas has AMA racing creds that are even more extensive than his driving record.

Josh Hayes
Josh Hayes took another win on Sunday to score a double victory at Infineon Raceway.

Once again Josh Hayes and the Graves Yamaha team proved too tough to topple, the Mississippi native taking his R1 to the double victory at Infineon Raceway in Northern California. But where Race 1 saw Hayes check out right from the very beginning, he had a slightly tougher time in Race 2, not getting the best of starts from pole position.

Lap 1 saw Larry Pegram lead from Blake Young, Ben Bostrom, Jake Zemke, Hayes and Tommy Hayden. But it didn’t take long for Hayes to make his way forward; he was up to third by the fourth lap, with Bostrom in second and Young fourth. On Lap 5 Hayes would take second position from Bostrom, followed quickly by a pass for the lead on the following lap into Turn 7.

Hayes then once again showed his Race 1 pace, instantly putting a gap on the field to the tune of 1.5 seconds within his first two laps at the front. As Hayes continued to gap the competition, Bostrom, Pegram and Young battled for second position, with Zemke and Tommy Hayden in close pursuit.

Young would fade toward the back of the six-rider battle, as Bostrom and Pegram started to separate themselves as the two traded second position repeatedly in what was the hottest duel on the track. Hayden would work his way forward into fourth in the later stages of the race, bringing Young along with him as Zemke struggled to keep pace on his National Guard Suzuki.

In the End Hayes would take his second victory of the season by 3.676 seconds over Pat Clark Motorsports’ Bostrom, who was 2.940 seconds in front of Foremost Ducati’s Pegram in third. Hayden would come home fourth, with his Yoshimura Suzuki teammate Young rounding out the top five.

American SuperBike Infineon Race 2 Results

Race 1 podium at Infineon
The Superbike podium for Race 2 was an exact duplicate of Race 1 with Ben Bostrom and Larry Pegram taking second and third respectively.  

1. Josh Hayes (Yamaha)
2. Ben Bostrom (Yamaha) +3.676 sec
3. Larry Pegram (Ducati) +6.617 sec.
4. Tommy Hayden (Suzuki) +8.774 sec.
5. Blake Young (Suzuki)
6. Jake Zemke (Suzuki)
7. Jake Holden (Suzuki)
8. Chris Ulrich (Suzuki)
9. Taylor Knapp (Suzuki)
10. Geoff May (Buell)
11. David Anthony (Suzuki)
12. Chris Peris (BMW)
13. Brett McCormick (Suzuki)
14. Chris Siebenhaar (Suzuki)
15. Chris Clark (Yamaha)

2010 AMA Pro Road Racing Gallery


Facebook comments