2010 World Superbike Miller Qualifying 1

May 29, 2010
Bart Madson
By Bart Madson
Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Bashing away at the MotoUSA keyboard for nine years now, Madson lends his scribbling and editorial input on everything from bike reviews to industry analysis and motorcycle racing reports.

Jakub Smrz took provisional pole as the fastest man during Saturdays qualifying session.
Czech rider Jakub Smrz took the provisional pole in Saturday qualifying at Miller Motorsports Park.

Satellite Ducati rider Jakub Smrz snagged provisional pole in Saturday’s SBK qualifying session at Miller Motorsports Park. The Czech rider’s best lap time of 1’48.517 bested the second-fastest qualifier, factory Ducati rider Michel Fabrizio, by a mere 0.153. Sterilgarda Yamaha’s Cal Crutchlow and the current points leader, Alstare Suzuki’s Leon Haslam, rounded out the provisional front row.

The hour-long session began with Crutchlow and Althea Ducati’s Carlos Checa setting the early pace. Smrz eventually jumped up to the top position, with the second Althea Ducati of Shane Byrne and Sterlgarda Yamaha’s James Toseland also in the thick of things. Checa, Byrne and Toseland would settle, respectively, into the five, six and seven positions – the top seven riders all within four tenths of the leader. Supersonic Ducati’s Luca Scassa completes the provisional Row 2.

Row 3 includes many heavy hitters led by BMW’s Troy Corser in ninth, Max Biaggi in 10th and Noriyuki Haga in 12th. Leon Camier was 13th fastest, as for his Alitalia Aprilia teammate Biaggi, none could match the Roman’s top speed of 313.7 kmph (197mph).

Sunday’s SBK schedule will include a morning hour-long qualifying session, followed in the afternoon by the Superpole.

World Superbike Miller Qualifying 1 Results:
1. Jakub Smrz (PATA B&G Racing Ducati) 1’48.517 300.0 (kmph)
2. Michel Fabrizio (Ducati Xerox) 1’48.670 +0.153 303.3
3. Cal Crutchlow (Sterilgarda Yamaha) 1’48.682 +0.165 305.8
4. Leon Haslam (Alstare Suzuki) 1’48.734 +0.217 301.6
5. Carlos Checa (Althea Ducati) 1’48.742 +0.225 297.6
6. Shane Byrne (Althea Racing) 1’48.853 +0.336 296.8
7. James Toseland (Sterilgarda Yamaha) 1’48.887 +0.370 303.3
8. Luca Scassa (Supersonic Ducati) 1’48.945 +0.428 296.0
9. Troy Corser (BMW Motorrad) 1’49.040 0.523 +0.095 300.8
10. Max Biaggi (Aprilia Alitalia) 1’49.191 +0.674 313.7
11. Jonathan Rea (Hannspree Ten Kate Honda) 1’49.281 +0.764 305.8
12. Noriyuki Haga (Ducati Xerox) 1’49.386 0.869 +0.105 303.3
13. Leon Camier (Aprilia Alitalia) 1’49.443 +0.926 305.0
14. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing) 1’49.748 +1.231 300.8
15. Ruben Xaus (BMW Motorrad) 1’49.961 +1.444 294.4
16. Max Neukirchner (Hannspree Ten Kate Honda) 1’50.121 +1.604 296.8
17. Sylvain Guintoli (Alstare Suzuki) 1’50.133 +1.616 304.2
18. Roger Hayden (Pedercini Kawasaki) 1’50.806 +2.289 292.0
19. Broc Parkes (ECHO CRS Honda) 1’51.074 +2.557 293.6
20. Chris Vermeulen (Kawasaki Racing) 1’51.122 +2.605 297.6


Eugene Laverty trails in Supersport by one point  but leads in wins with four for the year - Kyalami
Parkalgar Honda rider Eugene Laverty bested rival Joan Lascorz for top position during Saturday’s Supersport qualifying session at Miller Motorsports Park.

In World Supersport’s Saturday qualifying session Honda’s Eugene Laverty got the better of Kawasaki rider Joan Lascorz, reversing the finishing order of the earlier practice session. ParkinGO Triumph’s David Salom was third-fastest, followed by Kawasaki’s Fabien Foret and Harms Benjan Racing Honda’s Robbin Harms.

Supersport points leader Keenan Sofuoglu ended the session sixth-fastest, with former AMA competitors current ParkinGo Triumph teammates Jason DiSalvo and Chaz Davies a respective seventh and eighth on the provisional grid. American riders Tyler Odom (Erion Honda) and Melissa Paris (MPH Racing Yamaha) were a respective 16th and 19th.

World Supersport Qualifying 1 Results:
1. Eugene Laverty (Parkalgar Honda) 1’51.652
2. Joan Lascorz (Kawasaki Motocard.com) 1’52.211 +0.559
3. David Salom (ParkinGO BE1 Triumph) 1’52.310 +0.658
4. Fabien Foret (Lorenzini by Leoni Kawasaki) 1’52.328 +0.676
5. Robbin Harms (Harms Benjan Racing Honda) 1’52.509 +0.857
6. Keenan Sofuoglu (Hannspree Ten Kate Honda) 1’52.534 +0.882
7. Jason DiSalvo (ParkinGO BE1 Triumph) 1’52.607 +0.955
8. Chaz Davies (ParkinGO Triumph BE1) 1’52.646 +0.994
9. Michele Pirro (Hannspree Ten Kate Honda) 1’52.732 +1.080
10. Katsuaki Fujiwara (Kawasaki Motocard.com) 1’53.015 +1.363
16. Tyler Odom (Erion Racing Honda) 1’54.637 +2.985
19. Melissa Paris (MPH Racing Yamaha) 1’58.826 +7.174