Hutchinson Wins Final North West 200 Race

May 15, 2010
Bart Madson
By Bart Madson
Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Bashing away at the MotoUSA keyboard for nine years now, Madson lends his scribbling and editorial input on everything from bike reviews to industry analysis and motorcycle racing reports.

Hutchison up front - 2010 North West 200
Hutchinson up front and dominating the second Supersport race at this year’s North West 200.

The concluding event of this year’s North West 200 race saw Ian Hutchinson take the win in rather anti-climactic fashion, dominating the Supersport field. The Padgett Honda man bested fellow CBR competitor Keith Amor and Suzuki’s Bruce Anstey.

Amor jumped out to the early lead with the holeshot followed by Hutchy, John McGuinness and the polesetter Michael Dunlop. It wasn’t long before Hutchison jumped ahead, and once he did there was no looking back. The Honda rider opened up an unbreakable gap to claim his first NW 200 win since 2006. Just as uneventful was the battle over second, with Amor running virtually unmolested to a solid second – arguably the most successful rider of the even (save Seeley) with a 1-2-4-4 result.

That left the battle over third, which pitted McGuinness vs. Michael Dunlop. Then the TAS Suzukis of Seeley and Anstey vaulted forward. Soon Dunlop was trying as he might to hold off the Suzukis, but to no avail. It would end with Anstey in third, Seeley fourth and Dunlop fifth, with McGuinness sixth – but not without four abreast racing in the final race of the most popular outdoor sporting event in all of Ireland.

American Jimmy Moore once again marked an impressive result in 15th, one of his best road racing finishes to date.

Supersport Race 2 Results:
1. Ian Hutchinson (Honda)
2. Keith Amor (Honda)
3. Bruce Anstey (Suzuki)
4. Alastair Seeley (Suzuki)
5. Michael Dunlop (Yamaha)
6. John McGuinness (Honda)
7. Connor Cummins (Kawasaki)
8. Cameron Donald (Suzuki)
9. William Dunlop (Yamaha)
10. Ryan Farquhar (Kawasaki)
15. Jimmy Moore (Yamaha)

Facebook comments