2010 British Superbike Mallory Park Results

June 28, 2010
Bart Madson
By Bart Madson
Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Bashing away at the MotoUSA keyboard for nine years now, Madson lends his scribbling and editorial input on everything from bike reviews to industry analysis and motorcycle racing reports.

HM Plant Honda’s Ryuichi Kiyonari scored a double victory during Round 5 of the 2010 British Superbike Championship at Mallory Park. It was a return to form for the Japanese rider, whose last double victory came in 2007, the year he successfully defended his BSB crown. Joining Kiyonari on the podium in both racers were his HM Plant Honda teammate, Josh Brookes, and Relentless Suzuki’s Michael Laverty. Having a poor showing at Mallory Park was the points leading Tommy Hill, with the Suzuki ace retiring from Race 1 with mechanical issues and finishing eighth in Race 2.

At Mallory Park HM Plant Honda’s Riyuichi Kiyonari celebrated his first double victory since 2007.

Race 1

In the first race Kiyonari secured the holeshot from his pole position start, but the two-time BSB champ dropped to fourth in the early going, dicing with Laverty and Ducati’s Michael Rutter. The red flag came out following an incident with Martin Jessopp and Dan Linfoot. Following the restart the familiar front runners continued their fight, with Honda riders Brookes and Kiyonari taking the front positions mid-race from Laverty and Rutter.

Kiyonari would pass Brookes for the lead on Lap 11 and motor to victory, followed by his Honda teammate, with Laverty sneaking ahead of Rutter for the final rostrum position. Swan Honda’s Stuart Easton raced his way from a 14th-place starting position to round out the top five.

As for the points leader Hill, before the red flag the Suzuki man reported a clutch issue, with the technical glitch manifesting once again on the restart, forcing a mechanical DNF. His teammate, Yukio Kagayama, fared worse when he crashed out early after the red-flag restart.

Race 2

In the second race CW Racing Suzuki’s Chris Walker nabbed the early lead, but once again Kiyonari made his bid for the front with teammate Brookes in tow. Once in 1-2 spots the CBR-mounted duo opened up an unbeatable gap on Laverty and Rutter, who managed to get around the eventual fifth-place-finishing Walker. Starting from Row 4 in the second race, Suzuki’s Hill worked his way up to eighth.

“Obviously I’m not happy with my results, but racing always has its ups and downs,” said the Worx Crescent Suzuki man. “So we’re off to Knockhill next weekend and I’ll be looking for a return to podium finishes and podium points – and looking to rebuild my championship lead.”

The Mallory Park results open the championship back up. Not only has Hill lost a big lead, his leading rivals from the HM Plant Squad gained the most ground. Brookes now sits just four points back in the title hunt, with Kiyonari reinvigorating his championship hopes with the double victory at 26 points down.

“I am so happy to have won both races here today and it has put me up to fourth in the standings so that is a good result for me and everyone at HM Plant Honda. It has been the best weekend of the year for me with the pole position for both races and then two wins,” said Kiyonari in an HM Plant Honda press release, continuing later on his best round of the season. “Today’s results have been a team effort for sure. I had a difficult start to the season but we have turned it around and I think our hard work has paid off. I knew that Josh was going to be pushing me hard, but I stayed consistent and tried not to make many mistakes, but we are in a very good position now before Knockhill next weekend.”

Kiyonari took the double at Mallory Park ahead of teammate Josh Brookes - Mallory Park
Ryuichi Kiyonari took the double at Mallory Park ahead of HM Plant Honda teammate Josh Brookes.

The British Superbike series heads to Knockhill for Round 6 of the championship this upcoming weekend July 2-4.

British Superbike Mallory Park Race 1:
1. Ryuichi Kiyonari (Honda)
2. Josh Brookes (Honda)
3. Michael Laverty (Suzuki)
4. Michael Rutter (Ducati)
5. Stuart Easton (Honda)
6. Chris Walker (Suzuki)
7. Simon Andrews (Kawasaki)
8. John Laverty (Kawasaki)
9. Andrew Pitt (Yamaha)
10. Alastair Seeley (Suzuki)
11. Tommy Bridewell (Honda)
12. Gary Mason (Kawasaki)
13. James Ellison (Honda)
14. Steve Brogan (BMW)
15. Tom Tunstall (Honda)
DNF Tommy Hill (Suzuki)
DNF Yukio Kagayama (Suzuki)

British Superbike Mallory Park Race 2:
1. Ryuichi Kiyonari (Honda)
2. Josh Brookes (Honda)
3. Michael Laverty (Suzuki)
4. Michael Rutter (Ducati)
5. Chris Walker (Suzuki)
6. John Laverty (Kawasaki)
7. Simon Andrews (Kawasaki)
8. Tommy Hill (Suzuki)
9. Tommy Bridewell (Honda)
10. Andrew Pitt (Yamaha)
11. Alastair Seeley (Suzuki)
12. James Ellison (Honda)
13. Gary Mason (Kawasaki)
14. Dan Linfoot (Yamaha)
15. Peter Hickman (Yamaha)
DNF Stuart Easton (Honda)

British Superbike Championship Points:
1. Tommy Hill, 154
2. Josh Brookes, 150
3. Michael Laverty, 133
4. Ryuichi Kiyonari, 128
5. Michael Rutter, 114
6. John Laverty, 98
7. Stuart Easton, 92
8. Alastair Seeley, 90
9. Martin Jessopp, 57
10. Tommy Bridewell, 55