2010 FIM Motocross Germany Results

June 22, 2010
Courtesy of Youthstream

2010 FIM Motocross Germany Grand Prix
Riders agreed that the track in Germany, a hard pack surface with soft sand added, was difficult and technically challenging.

Taking his first win of 2010 and also first on a Yamaha machine, Ken De Dycker dominated the German Grand Prix with two moto wins. Marvin Musquin won in the MX2 class despite a strong Ken Roczen dominated the final heat in front of his home fans.

Clement Desalle took second on the MX1 podium courtesy of two third place finishes while an ill David Philippaerts was third overall. Tony Cairoli retained the red plate as he ended fourth overall ahead of Xavier Boog.

Ken Roczen won heat two in dominant style but took second overall on the podium as he was slowed down in heat one by problems to his goggles. Zach Osborne was third and mounted on his third consecutive podium. Jeremy Van Horebeek and Steven Frossard completed the top five.

Jason Clermont was the first to beat EMX 125 series leader Jordi Tixier as the two ended first and second respectively on the German podium. Yohan Lafont completed the top three.

Ken de Dycker - 2010 FIM Motocross Germany Grand Prix
De Dycker’s charge to the front and last lap defence of the lead in the second moto from Tony Cairoli not only gave him his first spoils with Yamaha but also delivered the Yamaha Monster Energy Ricci MX Team their first win in MX1.

Yamaha Monster Energy Ricci’s De Dycker managed to take his first season’s overall victory in Germany, where he won both moto’s after hard fights with his rivals on the day of his 26th birthday. Taking an early lead in heat one, De Dycker pulled away to win with a nine second advantage from Philippaerts. In moto two instead the Belgian had to work his way up to first and was chased by Cairoli until the chequered flag, which he crossed just two tenths of a second before the Italian.

After taking his first season’s pole yesterday, Rockstar Teka Suzuki World MX1’s Desalle struggled in the races and made it to an eventual second overall. The Belgian was leading the opening heat when he crashed and recovered to an eventual third after a three way battle for second with Boog and Philippaerts. In the second heat Desalle was leading again but was passed first by De Dycker then by Cairoli and took another third place.

Antonio Cairoli - 2010 FIM Motocross Germany Grand Prix
Cairoli had to scramble back from a bad start that left him right back in the field but with the kind of spirit that hade him the ruling MX1 world champion he scrambled back to finish sixth in the first moto.

Yamaha Monster Energy Motocross’ Philippaerts completed the podium despite being ill. The Italian fought hard for second in heat one and completed the day with a fifth place in moto two.

Italy fellow rider Cairoli of Red Bull KTM Factory Racing MX1 was a bitter fourth overall. Cairoli tangled up with Leok at the start of heat one and was forced to recover from the tail of the group to sixth. In moto two the MX1 Championship leader rode strong to trouble De Dycker in the final laps and take an eventual second place.

Kawasaki Racing’s Boog completed the top five after leading both races. The French was fast in the early stages of both heats –he even took the holeshot in heat one- but dropped down the bottom of the top five as the races went on.

Home rider Nagl took sixth overall despite riding with a broken left collarbone from the French round.

Guarneri, who was a solid third in yesterday’s qualifying, was ninth overall as he struggled during the GP heats while Honda fellow rider Ferris of Australia ended his maiden GP in 16th place.

A crash caused Pourcel a head concussion and the French will miss the forthcoming two GP’s.

2010 FIM Motocross Germany Grand Prix MX1 Podium
“This was the best birthday present I could give myself! Both motos had some good racing…” – Ken de Dycker

2010 Teutschenthal FIM Motocross MX1 Overall (top ten):
1. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Yamaha)
2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki)
3. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha)
4. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM)
5. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki)
6. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM)
7. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda)
8. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki)
9. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Honda)
10. Tanel Leok (EST, Honda)


It was again Musquin who topped the podium at the end of the German Grand Prix, which marked victory number seven of 2010 for the Red Bull KTM Factory Racing MX2 rider from France. Musquin took victory in the first moto after moving past team mate Herlings but could not overtake second moto leader Roczen, ending first ahead of Musquin.

Marvin Musquin - 2010 FIM Motocross Germany Grand Prix
Musqin continued his title defense in Germany as he took his seventh victory of the season and extended his lead over second place rider Ken Roczen.

Second overall was last year’s German GP winner Roczen. The Teka Suzuki Europe World MX2 teenager struggled with his goggles in the first heat, riding with no eyes protection and dropping down from third to fifth. In the final moto instead Roczen took a dominant victory to secure the overall podium and reinforce his second place in the series behind Musquin.

Bike-it Cosworth Yamaha UK’s Osborne was third overall as he took his third consecutive podium since his home GP in USA. Osborne struggled in the opening heat and took a fourth place with just two laps to go. He performed better in the final moto, ending third and securing the overall podium.

Kawasaki CLS’ racers completed the top five but it was a bitter result for the squad having Frossard in fourth and Van Horebeek in fifth. After taking second and third in moto one with Van Horebeek and Frossard respectively, both crashed in moto two and had to work hard to get back into the top ten.

Tonus was sixth ahead of Charlier and Simpson, with the latter taking the holeshot in moto two. Paulin and Vongsana completed the top ten.

Herlings stopped for technical issues in heat one and was eighth in moto two for a final 13th.

2010 FIM Motocross Germany Grand Prix MX2 Podium
“I didn’t win the second heat but I did win the GP and that’s the most important thing. The track is a little different from last year and it was a bit heavy. Now I will go home and train in the sand to prepare for the next race and like always, I will try to do my best.” – Marvin Musquin

2010 Teutschenthal FIM Motocross MX2 Overall (top ten):
1. Marvin Musquin (FRA, KTM)
2. Ken Roczen (GER, Suzuki)
3. Zach Osborne (USA, Yamaha)
4. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki)
5. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, Kawasaki)
6. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Suzuki)
7. Christophe Charlier (FRA, Yamaha)
8. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM)
9. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha)
10. Khounsith Vongsana (FRA, KTM)