2010 Flat Track Dairyland Classic Insider

June 9, 2010
By Will Fulford of theFastandDirty.com
Photos by Yve Assad
Jared Mees - 2010 Dairyland Classic
With the rain having stopped the racing began. Jared Mees (21) would charge out to take the qualifier.

Plymouth, WI is home to more than dairy farms and corn. The rural town also hosts a barnburner of a Flat Track race. $10k in cash prizes helped fill the program with top teams from the K&N AMA Pro Flat Track Series. 2009 Dairyland Classic winner Jared Mees, Joe Kopp, Kenny Coolbeth, the Halbert brothers, Henry Wiles, Chris Carr and top Pro Singles riders Jeffrey Carver Jr. and Mikey Avila had their bikes prepped and ready to go.

Rain threatened to wash us out, but stopped a few hours before the event. Organizers and Track crew shaved the top layer of wet clay off the 1/3 mile short track, removing excess moisture from the surface and packing the newly exposed material to form a racing surface.

The main event was going to be interesting as red numbers raced against black numbers. Pro Singles riders would compete against Experts, no longer seperated by AMA Pro Flat Track regulations. Carver and Avila were eager to test themselves and their equipment against top Experts.

Jefferey Carver  24p  and Rob Pearson  27  - 2010 Dairyland Classic
Jefferey Carver (24p) pushed his new 2010 Yamaha YZF-450 taking on the black numbered expert class racers in the main event.

Carver (#24P), current Pro Singles points leader, has a pair of new 2010 Yamaha YZF-450s in his stable courtesy of Van’s Yamaha in Sparta, IL. The 2010 model is a radical new design, and Jeff has been working closely with Yamaha and famed engine builder Woody Kyle, to get the most out of the bikes. He has been offered rides in the Expert class, but he has chosen to race a third season in Pro Singles to win the championship back from Brad Baker (#1).

RockysOnline.com/Lucas Oil’s Jared Mees (#21) dominated the ’09 Dairlyland Classic, winning Fast Qualifier, Dash for Cash and the Main. “I’m using the exact same settings from last year, and we are fast right out of the truck”, Mees said after winning his heat race.

The Dairyland Classic’s Dash for Cash throws another twist into the standard program by taking the fastest rider from each brand, not just the heat winners as in AMA Pro FT. The riders start in a staggered formation with slowest first, fastest last, in an effort to produce a thrilling race. Jared Mees and Jethro Halbert (#69) won their heats, but were not the fastest Honda or Yamaha riders. Joe Kopp (#3) set the fastest time of 17.25 seconds in Qualifying, helping him pass Wile’s Kawasaki and Rob Pearson’s Yamaha from last position to win the Dash for Cash.

Jared Mees - 2010 Dairyland Classic
Mees charged out front in the Dash for Cash and would continue his dominace for a second year.

Kopp looked to do the same on his Latus Harley-Davidson/Motoconcepts Honda in the Main event, starting from the back row. Coolbeth (#2) was pushed back to fourth during the race from pole position. Kawasaki USA’s Henry Wiles (#1) took the lead early on, but was passed by the Hondas of Jared Mees and Joe Kopp to finish third. Mees proved his ’09 dominance was no fluke as he pulled a commanding lead on second place Joe Kopp to claim consecutive Dairyland Classic wins.

The K&N AMA Pro Flat Track riders packed up immediately after the race to make the six hour drive to Gas City, IN for Round 6 of the series. Heavy rain in the area forced AMA Pro Racing to reschedule the event later in the season.

Follow the stars of the K&N AMA Pr Flat Track series presented by Motorcycle-Superstore.com Saturday, June 26th at the Lima, OH Half-Mile.

2010 Dairyland Classic 450cc Results: 

Jared Mees - 2010 Dairyland ClassicJoe Kopp - 2010 Dairyland Classic
Mees took home his second Dairyland Classic title and AMA GNC
Singles points leader Joe Kopp bringing up the second place spot.

1. Jared Mees (Honda) 
2. Joe Kopp (Honda)
3. Henry Wiles (Kawasaki) 
4. Kenny Coolbeth (Honda)
5. Jethro Halbert (Yamaha) 
6. Brock Schwarzenbacher (Honda)
7. Rob Pearson (Yamaha) 
8. Sammy Halbert (Yamaha)
9. Chris Carr (Honda)
10. Jefferey Carver (Yamaha) 
11. 20 Matt Weidman (Honda
12. 82K Eric Mischler (Honda)

Facebook comments