2010 MotoGP Mugello Results

June 6, 2010
Matt Davidson
Editorial Assistant|Articles|Articles RSS

Danger, adrenaline and competition are what fuel this moto enthusiast. Driven by a spirit for sportsmanship, our racing guru here at MotoUSA can be spotted at finish lines the world over as he delivers the latest battles from the two-wheeled realm.

Dani Pedrosa took the best time of 1.48.819 ahead of Jorge Lorenzo for pole position in tomorrows race.
Dani Pedrosa took the win at Mugello in a flag-to-fag victory over Yamaha’s Jorge Lorenzo.

Repsol Honda’s Dani Pedrosa took his first victory of the 2010 season at Mugello. By a gap of over four seconds the Spaniard was able to outpace the championship leader, Jorge Lorenzo, for a flag-to-flag victory with his teammate, Andrea Dovizioso, taking the final podium spot in third. Meanwhile, Fiat Yamaha’s Lorenzo has extended his lead in the championship series to 90 points – a full 25 points ahead of Pedrosa.
After a good start Lorenzo soon realized he couldn’t keep the pace he was previously running at during practice. After quickly losing ground on Pedrosa it was Dovizioso who brought stiff competition to Lorenzo throughout much of the Italian GP.
With great starts off the line Yamaha Tech 3 rider Ben Spies and Honda’s Dovizioso were able to advance quickly from their start on the second row. In third-place before the end of the first lap, Dovizioso was able to make the pass on Ducati Marlboro rider Casey Stoner with Spies in hot pursuit.

San Carlo Honda’s Marco Simoncelli had an early run-off as he pushed for the top spot in the opening laps. His teammate Marco Melandri was also riding hard and fought his way up to sixth from 14th on the grid.
Meanwhile Pedrosa’s pace seemed unobtainable to the rest of the riders as he clenched a new circuit record during Lap 5. At the same time Ducati’s Nicky Hayden had a disappointing outcome at Mugello when his Desmosedici GP10 front-end folded on him while he went through a downhill turn.
By the halfway point in the race Pedrosa’s lead had stretched to 7.309 seconds ahead of the pack. Dovizioso and Lorenzo were much closer and were trailed by Melandri, Honda’s Randy de Puniet and Stoner who were all struggling for position.
Another rider who suffered disappointment at the Italian circuit was Pramac Racing’s Mika Kallio, who crashed out after an old shoulder injury began causing problems.
In the final stages of the race Pedrosa’s win became more apparent, but is was Lorenzo and Dovizioso who delivered much of the excitement in their quest to take second-place. Opening up a slight advantage was Lorenzo who was able to secure second across the finish line.
Spies took seventh-place in his first race at the Italian circuit while another rookie, Aleix Espargaro of Pramac Racing, took eighth. After recovering from his earlier run-off Simoncelli was able to take ninth at the checkers with Rizla Suzuki’s Loris Capirossi rounding out the top-10.
In Valentino Rossi’s absence Pedrosa was able to take second-place in the championship series with 65 points, ahead of Rossi who is currently in third with 61.
2010 MotoGP Mugello Results:

Yamahas Jorge Lorenzo took second in qualifying at Mugello just behind Hondas Dani Pedrosa.
Jorge Lorenzo was not able to maintain the pace of Pedrosa but managed to take second and advance his lead in the point standings.

1. Dani Pedrosa (Honda)
2. Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha)
3. Andrea Dovizioso (Honda)
4. Casey Stoner (Ducati)
5. Marco Melandri (Honda)
6. Randy De Puniet (Honda)
7. Ben Spies (Yamaha)
8. Aleix Espargaro (Ducati)
9. Marco Simoncelli (Honda)
10. Loris Capirossi (Suzuki)
11. Hiroshi Aoyama (Honda)
12. Hector Barbera (Ducati)
13. Colin Edwards (Yamaha)
14. Alvaro Bautista (Suzuki)
Mika Kallio (Ducati)
Nicky Hayden (Ducati)

In what was a thrilling Moto2 event Fimmco Speed Up Rider Andrea Iannone took the Moto2 victory by 2.764 seconds over Sergio Gadea of Tenerife 40 Pons. Taking the final podium position was Italian Simone Corsi, who started from 26th on the grid and fought all the way to third in what was an impressive performance.
The start of the race saw a massive field cram into the Turn 1 with Iannone coming out with the lead. With his extremely fast pace he was able to take an early lead while the battle for second ensued behind him.
Suffering a crash in the early part of the race was Lukas Pesek of Matteoni CP Racing. Pesek was caught-up in a massive pack that was behind Iannone at the start of the race, and went down when he locked handlebars with some other riders. Jules Cluzel also crashed out while in second which caused riders behind him to desperately jockey for his position. Mattia Pasini, Raffaele De Rosa and Mike di Meglio all suffered the same fate and were eliminated from the contest early on.
By midway through the race Simone Corsi had established himself well within the top-six as he started battling Toni Elias and others. In the meantime Iannone was almost three seconds ahead of the pack while his competition fiercely struggled behind him.
The final laps saw some intense drama as multiple position changes occurred. Gadea and Corsi provided a captivating race between each other as the two strived for second, with Gadea eventually crossing the finish line ahead of Corsi.
Behind Corsi by just 15 thousandths of a second was Thomas Luthi on his Moriwaki chassis followed by Championship leader Elias in fifth.
Elias currently leads the series with 74-points, and Shoya Tomizawa trails Elias with 55.
The next round of MotoGP racing will take place at the Silverstone circuit in Great Britain on June 20th.
Moto2 Mugello Results:

Toni Elias took his second Moto2 win in a row at Le Mans during Round 3 of the 2010 MotoGP series.
Toni Elias took fifth at Mugello but still leads the Moto2 series with 74-points ahead of Tomizawa.

1. Andrea Iannone (Speed Up)
2. Sergio Gadea (Pons Kalex)
3. Simone Corsi (Motobi)
4. Thomas Luthi (Moriwaki)
5. Toni Elias (Moriwaki)
6. Shoya Tomizawa (Suter)
7. Gabor Talmacsi (Speed Up)
8. Yuki Takahashi (Tech 3)
9. Julian Simon (Suter)
10. Alex Debon (FTR)
11. Alex De Angelis (Force GP210)
12. Hector Faubel (Suter)
13. Alex Baldolini (I.C.P.)
14. Stefan Bradl (Suter)
15. Fonsi Nieto (Moriwaki)
26. Kenny Noyes (Promoharris)