2010 SCORE Baja 500 Results: Motorcycles

June 7, 2010
Ken Hutchison
Ken Hutchison
Editor-in-Chief |Articles|Blog Posts|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog RSS

The ulcers keep piling on for the warden of the MotoUSA asylum. With the inmates running rampant around the globe, Hutch has opted to get in on the madness more these days than in years past and is back in the saddle again.

42nd Baja 500
Kendall Norman and Quinn Cody took first overall in the 42nd Tecate SCORE Baja 500.

Kendall Norman and Quinn Cody and the JCR Racing Honda Team took top honors in the 2010 Tecate SCORE Baja 500 by finishing first overall in the dusty 438-mile event this weekend. With the exception of the leaders, the remaining 288 racers battled extremely dusty conditions for the 42nd running of the Baja 500. This would be the fourth win in five years for Norman and the 15th overall motorcycle win for Honda at the Baja 500.

“I got the physical lead before I left the wash,” explained race-winner, Norman who was experiencing symptoms of heat stroke as he neared the finish line. “There was one bike in front of me and I was able to get him and then I had really clean air. We didn’t have a single problem all day – which is pretty darn amazing considering how tough and gnarly this course is. I’m just really tired but it feels to be here in one piece and then to get my fourth Baja 500 win. When things are going good it seems like things just keep going good. Our JCR Honda was unreal out there – we didn’t miss a beat. I can’t say enough about my team; I wouldn’t be here without them. There was a lot of traffic, a lot of spectators – pretty much every obstacle imaginable but I dealt with it today.”

A mere 26-seconds behind Norman and Cody were their JCR Racing Honda teammates on the second CRF450X, ridden by Colton Udall and Jeff Kargola. After nearly nine hours of racing they lost by less than a minute – it just goes to show how close, and how equally matched these racers are. Sometimes, the difference comes down to pit stops and a little bit of luck.

“We had a real quick tire change that helped us pass (third-place bike No. 10x),” said Udall, “It probably took them a minute to change the tire whereas is took us about 30 seconds. It was really rough out there, it was really long and it took it out of me. We got whooped by the ‘A’ team (teammate Kendall Norman) and I’m kind of bummed about that, but congratulations to them.”

Baja fans will recall that at the conclusion of the 2009 Baja 500, the Honda teams were disqualified for cutting the course, handing the win to the Craig Smith on his Beta 450RR mounted team.

Robert Underwood and his three-man team of David Pearson and Ivan Ramirez rode their KTM to third overall despite some off course excursions that left Underwood with an injured leg.

“I was in the dust and I kept on telling myself that anyone can finish second down here to Honda so I wanted to win,” said Underwood at the finish line. ”I was riding over my head, I guess, and hit a rock and went through a barbed-wired fence. My knee hurts real bad – I think I tore some stuff up in there.”

Fourth place overall went to Ensenada’s own Francisco ‘Pancho’ Septien and his team of Brian Pinard and Shane Esposito on their privateer Honda CRF450X.

“I think that the luck was on our side this day because (the other riders in the class) were running pretty fast,” explained Septien. “I haven’t gone through the summit in a couple of years so it was like a new experience to me, I’m not that good in the rocks. I couldn’t do it without Shane.”

The win by Septien is his second Class 30 victory of the year which puts him in the driver’s seat for the Class 30 championship as the series heads to the grand finale Baja 1000 later in November.

CLASS 22 (250cc or more)
1. Kendall Norman/Quinn Cody, USA (Honda CRF450X) 8:47:00 (49.96mph)
2. Colton Udall/Jeff Kargola, USA (Honda CRF450X) 8:47:26
3. Robert Underwood/David Pearson/Ramirez, USA (KTM 450XCW) 9:01:24
4. A.J. Stewart/Bryce Stavron./Jesse Casillas USA (Honda CRF450X) 10:40:17
5. Jamie Aguilar/Darren Johnson/Robbins USA (Honda CRF450X) 11:15:30
6. Chad Thornton/Mike Whitman/Kyle Abney, USA (KTM 530KCW) 11:23:44
7. Kyle Abney, Adam Thissen./Mike Blackman USA (Honda CRF450X) 11:29:08
8. Cory Evenson, Ramona (KTM 530XC-W) 12:37:51
9. Keith Webster, Canada, (Honda CRF450X) 14:28:02
(9 starters – 9 finishers)

CLASS 21 (126cc to 450cc)
1. Sol Saltzman/Matthew Karlsen USA (Honda CRF450X) 10:29:11 (41.85mph)
2. Mark Fillebrown/Brandon Prieto Mexico (Honda CRF450X, 10:37:35)
3. Adam Neuwirth/Bill Gilbert, Ladera/Potter USA (Honda CRF450X) 11:02:25
4. Steven Achey/Marc Prince/Wiley Watson, USA (Kawasaki KX450) 12:07:48
5. Jesus Gonzalez/Gomez/Medrano Mexico (Yamaha WR450F) 12:41:07
6. Ruben Dabdoub/Luis Gomez/Parada Mexico (Honda CRF450X) 13:00:44
7. Gerardo Huerta/Daniel Huerta/Nick Sandez USA (Honda CRF450X) 14:27:53
(11 Starters, 7 Finishers)

CLASS 20 (125cc-250cc)
1. Jason Trubey/Jeremy & Ron Purvines, USA (Honda CRF250X) 10:46:56 (40.70mph)
2. Anna Cody/Roger Hurd/Robert Laughlin USA (Honda CRF250X) 11:29:30
3. Jesus Rios/Joe Leal/Sergio Valenzuela Mexico (Honda CRF250X) 11:40:10
4. Olivia Rich USA (Honda CRF250X) 14:11:04
(4 Starters, 4 Finishers)

CLASS 30 (Riders over 30 years old)
1. Francisco Septien/Shane Esposito/Pinard Mexico (Honda CRF450X) 9:38:20 (45.53mph)
2. Mike Johnson/Rex Cameron USA (Honda CRF450X) 10:27:45
3. Bill Eddings/Eric Schettler/Keith Smith USA (Honda CRF450X) 11:06:22
4. Bill Witt/Mathis Riiber/Kevin Johnson USA (Honda CRF450X) 11:07:20
5. Jon Jessy USA (KTM 505XCF) 11:34:49
6. Javier Hernandez/David Topete/Rosas Mexico (Honda CRF450X) 11:59:10
7. Mark Levrett/Richard Barker/Michael Forts USA (Honda CRF450X) 13:25:55
8. Dan Troy, USA (Honda CRF450X) 15:10:39
9. Talya Dodson, USA (KTM 250XCF) 20:57:010
(11 Starters, 9 Finishers)

CLASS 40 (Riders over 40 years old)
1. Louie Franco/Ricky Johnson USA (Honda CRF450X) 10:10:25 (43.13mph)
2. Henrik Andersen/Corrigan/Rasmussen USA (Honda CRF450X) 12:15:00
3. Brian Campbell/Ron Wilson, USA (Honda CRF450X) 12:20:35
4. Mike Prunty, USA (Honda CRF450X) 12:47:08
5. Terry Peregoodoff, Canada, (Yamaha WR450F) 17:12:37
6. Duane Dickinson, Canada, (Yamaha WR450F) 17:14:58
(8 Starters, 6 Finishers)

CLASS 50 (Riders over 50 years old)
1. Jim O’Neal/Doug Heil/Andy Kirker/Kaplan, USA (Honda CRF450X) 10:40:11 (41.13mph)
2. Ryan Armitage/Charlie Marshall/Chuck Sun USA (KTM 530XCW) 10:40:50
3. Koichi Takei/Masayuki Kudo, Japan (Honda CRF450X) 13:17:11
4. Eizaburo Karasawa/Kazuhiro Nakamura Japan (Honda CRF450X) 16:27:00
5. David Rutherford/Ed Hockensmith, Drake USA (KTM 530XCW) 17:52:20
(5 Starters, 5 Finishers)

Facebook comments