Erzberg Rodeo 2010 Results

June 11, 2010
Ken Hutchison
Ken Hutchison
Editor-in-Chief |Articles|Blog Posts|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog RSS

The ulcers keep piling on for the warden of the MotoUSA asylum. With the inmates running rampant around the globe, Hutch has opted to get in on the madness more these days than in years past and is back in the saddle again.

2010 Erzberg Winners
The top three finishers, Andreas Lettenbichler (left) and Dougue Lampkin (right), of the toughest enduro with the four time champion of the event, Taddy Blazusiak, in the center.

Red Bull KTM’s Taddy Blazusiak won his fourth consecutive win at Erzberg during the 10th annual Red Bull Hare Scramble held on Austria’s Iron Mountain. The event, billed as the toughest enduro on the planet, certainly is not for the faint of heart. Over the years, thousands of riders have come to test their mettle here and only a rare few actually ever even finish the race.

“I just can’t get my head around the idea that I’ve won here four times,” explained the 4-time winner “’Carls Diner’ was physically tougher than anything I have ever tackled before. After I managed that, I was able to control the advantage I had and conserve my energy so I could get to the finish. Thanks to the entire KTM team, without their background support this ride certainly would not have been possible.”

2010 Erzberg starting line
Out of 500 starters only 15 would make it to the finish line.

Apparently that is where the 27-year old native from Poland does his best work. Whether its Erzberg or Endurocross the guy excels when the conditions are at there worst. In front of nearly 30,000 fans, Taddy rode a KTM 250 EXC to victory ahead of no less than 500 starters along the 20-mile course. With the starting line at the bottom of the iron mine and every one of its 20 check points intended to break the will of the most seasoned veteran, it was Taddy who crossed first, ahead of Germany’s Andreas Lettenblchler and Great Britain’s legendary trials champion, Dougie Lampkin.

Blazusiak finished with a time of 1’45.43, an impressive 11-minutes ahead of Andreas Lettenbichler. The German BMW rider finished third in 2009 and improved a position aboard his G450X in 2010. Lampkin was another six minutes behind the race winner on his Beta.

Kurt Caselli and Taddy Blazusiak - 2010 Erzberg
Top American rider Kurt Caselli (4) tries to match Blazusiak’s (2) pace but falls a bit back to finish the challenging event in 8th.

“I made a real mess of the start, which made things really difficult for me because I was stuck in the dust,” said Letti. “That made things really tricky because you couldn’t attack the first section of the track. The guys at the front were able to really push hard, but I had to be really careful. After that I just pushed as hard as I could.”

The top finishing American rider was FMF KTM’s Kurt Caselli aboard a 300EXC. Eighth overall with a time of 3’04.58 is an impressive feat considering it his first ever appearance at Erzberg.

Only fifteen riders made it to the finish line under the four hour cut-off time. A grand total of 1,795 riders entered the event. 

Taddy Blazusiak - 2010 Erzberg
Steep rocky inclines were only one of the many tough obstacles that riders encountered.

2010 Red Bull Hare Scramble Results (15 finishers only)
1. Taddy Blazusiak Poland (KTM)
2. Andreas Lettenbichler Germany, (BMW)
3. Dougue Lampkin, Britain (Beta)
4. Paul Bolton, Britain (KTM)
5. Ben Hemingway, Britain (KTM)
6. Cory Graffunder, Canada (Husqvarna)
7. Jade Gutzeir, South Africa (Yamaha)
8. Kurt Caselli, USA (KTM)
9. Gerhard Forster, Germany (BMW)
10. Darryl Curtis, South Africa (KTM)
11. Andrew Cripps, Britain (Kawasaki)
12. Lee Simpson, Britain (Gas Gas)
13. Taichi Tanaka, Japan (KTM)
14. Piero Sembenini, Italy (Gas Gas)
15. Andrew Reeves, Ireland (KTM)

Facebook comments