McGuinness Fastest in IOM TT Practice

June 2, 2010
Bart Madson
By Bart Madson
Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Bashing away at the MotoUSA keyboard for nine years now, Madson lends his scribbling and editorial input on everything from bike reviews to industry analysis and motorcycle racing reports.

Improved conditions for the third day of practice at the 2010 Isle of Man TT races equated to the first 130mph lap of this year’s races. The man to breach the barrier was none other than 15-time TT winner John McGuinness, who turned the mountain course at 130.242mph, the only rider to cross the threshold.

John McGuinness turned the first 130mph lap of the 2010 Isle of Man TT during a Wednesday practice run on his HM Plant Superbike.
John McGuinness turned the first 130mph lap of the 2010 Isle of Man TT during a Wednesday practice run on his HM Plant Superbike.

McGuinness set the mark on his HM Plant Superbike, the practice lap a full mph under his best ever at the circuit (131.578mph). Ian Hutchinson, who set the practice pace during two earlier days of action this week, was second-fastest at 129.164mph. The Padgetts Honda star was followed by fellow Honda man, the popular Guy Martin, pacing his Wilson Craig CBR at 129.145mph. Lapping behind the Honda Superbike trifecta were the Relentless TAS Suzuki duo of Adrian Archibald and Cameron Donald, with Archibald enjoying a breakout double-victory performance earlier this year at the North West 200.

In the Supersport class, Michael Dunlop turned the fastest lap aboard his Street Sweep/Hardship Racing Yamaha at 125.087mph. The Northern Irishman (and son of TT legend Robert Dunlop) was followed by Englishmen Hutchison and McGuinness, a respective second- and third-fastest for the Padgetts Honda squad (McGuinness campaigning under the HM Plant banner in Superbike and Padgetts in Supersport and Superstock). Michael Dunlop’s brother, William, was fourth-fastest at 122.639 mph. Kawasaki’s Connor Cummins rounds out the SS top five aboard a McAdoo Kawasaki.

Irishman Ryan Farquhar turned the fastest Superstock lap at an impressive 128.076mph, the fastest lap ever for the KMR Kawasaki rider. Keith Amor was second-fastest aboard the BMW S1000RR, the Scotsman having given the German marque its first-ever NW200 victory in the Superstock race this past May (Amor sixth-fastest in Superbike with a Honda). Guy Martin once again was third-fastest, the perpetual TT bridesmaid turned a virtually identical time as Amor, 127.503 to 127.525mph. Kawasaki’s Ian Lougher claimed fourth-fastest in the class, the Welshman looking to add to his 10 TT wins and 28 podiums. The 2008 IOM TT standout Cameron Donald was fifth-fastest on the Relentless Suzuki.

In the Sidecar practice the DMR Kawasaki duo of Dave Molyneux and Patrick Farrance led the way. The two were a full mph faster than the second-fastest pair, Klaus Klaffenbock and Dan Sayle, aboard the LCR Honda. John Holden and Andrew Winkle were the next closest on the timesheet, able to turn the notorious circuit at 112.737mph, a full two mph down from the front-running Kawasaki team.

Isle of Man Superbike TT Practice:
1. John McGuinness (Honda) 130.242mph
2. Ian Hutchinson (Honda) 129.164mph
3. Guy Martin (Honda) 129.145mph
4. Adrian Archibald (Suzuki) 128.618mph
5. Cameron Donald (Suzuki) 128.011mph
6. Keith Amor (Honda) 127.925mph
7. Bruce Anstew (Suzuki) 127.915mph
8. Conor Cummins (Kawasaki) 127.010mph
9. Ian Lougher (Kawasaki) 126.659mph
10. Gary Johnson (Suzuki) 126.488

Isle of Man Supersport TT Practice:
1. Michael Dunlop (Yamaha) 125.087mph
2. Ian Hutchinson (Honda) 125.020mph
3. John McGuinness (Honda) 123.128mph
4. William Dunlop (Yamaha) 122.639mph
5. Conor Cummins (Kawasaki) 122.554mph
6. Adrian Archibald (Yamaha) 122.300mph
7. Bruce Anstey (Suzuki) 122.072mph
8. Dan Kneen (Yamaha) 121.813mph
9. Cameron Donald (Suzuki) 120.531mph
10. Mark Buckley (Kawasaki) 120.370mph

Isle of Man Superstock TT Practice:
1. Ryan Farquhar (Kawasaki) 128.076mph
2. Keith Amor (BMW) 127.525mph
3. Guy Martin (Honda) 127.503mph
4. Ian Lougher (Kawasaki) 126.216mph
5. Cameron Donald (Suzuki) 126.012mph
6. Michael Rutter (Honda) 125.495mph
7. John McGuinness (Honda) 124.973mph
8. Gary Johnson (Suzuki) 123.573mph
9. Ian Mackman (Suzuki) 123.303mph
10. Adrian Archibald (Suzuki) 123.055mph

Isle of Man Sidecar TT Practice:
1. Dave Molyneux/Patrick Farrance (Kawasaki) 114.748mph
2. Klaus Klaffenbock/Dan Sayle (Honda) 113.576mph
3. John Holden/Andy Winkle (Suzuki) 112.737mph
4. Simon Neary/Paul Knapton (Honda) 112.071mph
5. Conrad Harrison/Kerry Williams (Honda) 110.810mph
6. Tony Elmer/Darren Marshall (Yamaha) 109.253mph

Facebook comments