2010 West Hare Scrambles Big Sky Results

August 27, 2010
Courtesy of Klim USA
Jordan Brandt
KTM rider Jordan Brandt encountered braking issues in the middle of the race and was forced to pit.

Round 6 of the AMA West Hare Srambles Championship Series travelled to scenic Big Sky, Montana, home of the world class Big Sky Resort. Brian Garrahan rolled into town with a target on his back after finishing the first 5 rounds undefeated.

Overnight showers removed the threat of dust, but the relentless daytime rain made the technical Klim Big Sky XC alpine course even more frustrating for the Pro and A classes. Garrahan lead the first lap with Jordan Brandt, Nathan Woods and Ryan Powell close behind. The foursome’s first lap times were the only sub 30 minute laps of the day. Brake problems caused both Garrahan and Brandt to pit mid race, allowing Woods to take a comfortable lead. At the end of the 3 hours, only 8 racers remained on the lead lap. Woods rolled through the finish line with a fist pump and smile on his face. Garrahan appeared out of the woods on the final lap with Brandt on his rear tire. Garrahan held off Brandt’s late race charge to finish 2nd. Brandt 3rd, Ryan Powell a distant 4th with Patrick Garrahan rounding out the top 5.

Afterwards co-promoter Jamey Kabisch expressed his satisfaction for how the weekend went. “We had a sizeable increase in racers from last year and have heard a lot of very positive comments from racers about the course as well as the town of Big Sky. The racing was competitive all weekend long. We look forward to seeing this race mature into a mainstay on the national level.”

AMA Hare Scrambles Big Sky Results:
1. Nathan Woods (Husaberg)

Nathan Woods
Husaberg’s Nathan Woods broke Brian Garrahan’s five-race winning streak at Big Sky. 

2. Brian Garrahan (Yamaha)
3. Jordan Brandt (KTM)
4. Ryan Powell (KTM)
5. Patrick Garrahan (KTM)
6. Keith Curtis (Honda)
7. Justin Bonita (KTM)
8. Devan Bolin (KTM)
9. Wesley Luly (KTM)
10. Kevin Miller (Yamaha)

2010 AMA West Hare Scrambles Championship Points:
1. Brian Garrahan, 175
2. Patrick Garrahan, 116
3. Ryan Powell, 99
4. Justin Bonita, 95
5. Devan Bolin, 84
6. Nathan Woods, 68
7. Alex Dorsey, 51
8. Kale Elworthy, 47
9. Kyle Summers, 46 
10. Rodney Spencer Jr., 46

Facebook comments