2010 American SuperBike Barber Race 2

September 26, 2010
Matt Davidson
Editorial Assistant|Articles|Articles RSS

Danger, adrenaline and competition are what fuel this moto enthusiast. Driven by a spirit for sportsmanship, our racing guru here at MotoUSA can be spotted at finish lines the world over as he delivers the latest battles from the two-wheeled realm.

Josh Hayes took seventh in the final race at Barber  but finished first in the 10 American SuperBike Championship.
Josh Hayes took seventh in the final race at Barber, but finished first in the ’10 American SuperBike Championship.

The final round of racing action in the American SuperBike class ended well for Team Graves Yamaha’s Josh Hayes, who took the championship victory ahead of Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Tommy Hayden. Hayes finished the last race in seventh, but it was more than enough to give the 35-year-old competitor the title.
Over the first few laps the trio of Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Blake Young, M4 Monster Energy Suzuki’s John Hopkins and Buell’s Geoff May battled early for the lead. Each of them spent time at the front, with Young outpacing the others to settle into first by Lap 8. Ducati’s Larry Pegram also had a chance up front, but Young quickly shut the door on him. On Lap 10 Jordan Suzuki’s Brett McCormick ended his final race of the season poorly by crashing out while running seventh.
Toward the end it was Young with Hopkins, Pegram, National Guard Jordan Suzuki’s Jake Zemke and Hayden in pursuit. Hayden made one final pass on Zemke to move up to fourth on Lap 18, but in the latter course of the race it was Young who would pull away. On the final lap, his lead was more than a second ahead of Hopkins as Young went on to earn his third victory of the year and fifth-place in the overall championship. After taking second in the race, Hopkins finished the series in 10th with 151 points.

Pegram put in a strong performance in the final race, bumping him up in the standings to fourth ahead of Pat Clark Motorsports’ Ben Bostrom. After finishing fourth in the final race, Hayden would fall just short of the championship, 14 points in back of Hayes.
2010 American SuperBike Barber Race 2 Results:
1. Blake Young (Suzuki)
2. John Hopkins (Suzuki)
3. Larry Pegram (Ducati)

Suzukis Blake Young  #79  took the last win of the season ahead of John Hopkins  #21  and Larry Pegram  #72 .
Suzuki’s Blake Young (#79) took the last win of the season ahead of John Hopkins (#21) and Larry Pegram (#72).

4. Tommy Hayden (Suzuki)
5. Jake Zemke (Suzuki)
6. Geoff May (Buell)
7. Josh Hayes (Yamaha)
8. Taylor Knapp (Suzuki)
9. Trent Gibson (Suzuki)
10. Jeff Wood (Suzuki)
11. Shane Narbonne (Suzuki))
12. Chris Peris (BMW)
13. Ricky Corey (Yamaha)
14. Sean Dwyer (Suzuki)
15. Skip Salenius (Yamaha)
2010 American SuperBike Championship Points:
1. Josh Hayes, 466
2. Tommy Hayden, 452
3. Jake Zemke, 332
4. Larry Pegram, 297
5. Ben Bostrom, 295

Facebook comments