2011 MotoGP Schedule Released

September 30, 2010
Bart Madson
By Bart Madson
Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Bashing away at the MotoUSA keyboard for nine years now, Madson lends his scribbling and editorial input on everything from bike reviews to industry analysis and motorcycle racing reports.

Round 10 of the 2010 MotoGP Championship at Brno.
MotoGP riders get their travel plans from the FIM regarding next year’s Grand Prix calendar.

The FIM (Federation Internationale de Motocyclisme) has released the provisional 2011 MotoGP schedule. The planned calendar will once again feature 18 rounds, with the same venues as the 2010 circuit.

The 2011 season kicks off in its now traditional form, under the lights at Qatar. The Motegi GP, postponed last season due to air travel delays from the Icelandic volcano, will retain its original spot in the opening rounds as the third stop.

The Motorland Aragon track, which made its debut in 2010 as a replacement for the canceled Hungarian GP at the Balatonring, will return as a confirmed stop on the circuit as Round 15. This gives Spain four total Grand Prix, with Jerez (Round 2), Catalunya (Round 6) and the season finale at Valencia on November 6th.

As for the U.S. stops, only the MotoGP class is confirmed for the Laguna Seca USGP on July 24th, presumably confirming AMA Pro Racing will share marquee. The Indianapolis GP will run August 28th, Round 13 in the championship.

2011 MotoGP Provisional Schedule
Date – Grand Prix – Circuit:
MAR 20 – Qatar* – Losail
APR 3 – Spain – Jerez
APR 24 – Japan – Motegi
MAY 1 – Portugal – Estoril
MAY 15 – France – Le Mans
JUN 5 – Catalunya – Catalunya
JUN 12 – Great Britain – Silverstone
JUN 25 – Netherlands** – Assen
JUL 3 – Italy – Mugello
JUL 17 – Germany – Sachsenring
JUL 24 – United States*** – Laguna Seca
AUG 14 – Czech Republic – Brno
AUG 28 – Indianapolis – Indianapolis
SEP 4 – San Marino & Riviera di Rimini – Misano
SEP 18 – Aragon – Motorland
OCT 16 – Australia – Phillip Island
OCT 23 – Malaysia – Sepang
NOV 6 – Valencia – Ricardo Tormo Valencia

* Night Race
** Saturday Race
*** Only MotoGP class

Facebook comments