2010 Indiana National Enduro Results

October 3, 2010
Doug Meyer
Shan Moore
Contributing Editor |Articles |Articles RSS

Don’t hold the fact that he’s from Middle America against him. “Okie” Shan Moore can beam himself to any Supercross venue in the country in the time it takes to download Kanye West to your iPod.

Cory Buttrick claimed his second win of the year in Indiana - Indiana National Enduro.
Cory Buttrick claimed his second win of the year in Indiana.

Cory Buttrick came on strong in the last two tests to claim an impressive win at the final round of the Rekluse/AMA National Enduro Series in Matthews, Indiana. But it was Obermeyer/Am Pro/FMF Yamaha’s Charlie Mullins who walked away with the biggest chunk of hardware. Needing only a top-six finish to clinch his first-ever national title, Mullins claimed the 2010 enduro championship with a comfortable second-place finish.

Mullins got off to a quick start on the rain-drenched and slippery Indiana farmland, winning the opening three tests of the 73-mile event. However, Buttrick stayed within striking distance on his FMF/KTM and picked up the pace in the final 20-mile stretch, winning the last two tests and taking the overall win by a one-minute margin over Mullins.

“It was pretty tricky out there and it was hard to judge the terrain because some of it was slippery and some of it wouldn’t be,” said Buttrick. “At the end of the race it got slicker and I was just trying to not let my tire slip and I just tried to be as smooth as I could and I think that was the secret.”

Charlie Mullins wrapped up the national title with a second- Indiana National Enduro.
Charlie Mullins wrapped up the national enduro title with a second place finish.

In all, Mullins won six events in the 10-round series, and made up a considerable deficit at the start of the year after he DNFed round two in Florida. However, a five-round win streak at the middle of the season put the Ohio-born rider back in control of the series when the schedule hit the finale in Indiana.

“It was a hard-fought year and it came down to the last race but I was able to put in a good, solid ride and take the title,” said Mullins. “It feels pretty good, especially coming back from as far as I did.”

Riding his first national enduro, Thad DuVall turned some heads by finishing third. The Am Pro/FMF Yamaha rider won the fourth test and ended the day over a minute ahead of factory Husqvarna rider Glenn Kearney, who matched his best finish of the year with a fourth.

Thad DuVall finished third in his first-ever national enduro- Indiana National Enduro.
Thad DuVall finished third overall in his first national enduro.

Fifth went to eight-time champ Michael Lafferty on his Husaberg, while defending champ Russell Bobbitt was sixth on an FMF/KTM.

Eight-time national champ Michael Lafferty finished fifth overall on his Husaberg, and finished the season in fourth.
Meanwhile, defending series champ Russell Bobbitt was sixth on his FMF/KTM after struggling to get into a groove. Bobbitt’s finish dropped him from second in the standings to third, while Buttrick moved up into the runner-up position with his win.

Husaberg’s Nick Fahringer was seventh in Indiana after getting off to a slow start and finished off the year with fifth overall for the year.

2010 National Enduro Indiana Results:

1. Cory Buttrick (KTM)
2. Charlie Mullins (Yamaha)
3. Tad DuVall (Yamaha)
4. Glenn Kearney (Husqvarna)
5. Michael Lafferty (Husaberg)
6. Russell Bobbitt (KTM)
7. Nick Fahringer (Husaberg)
8. Steward Baylor Jr. (KTM)
9. Andrew DeLong (KTM)
10. Josh Gaitten (KTM)

Facebook comments