Top Americans on 2010 Genova SX Rider List

October 21, 2010
JC Hilderbrand
JC Hilderbrand
Off-Road Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog |Blog Posts |Blog RSS

Hilde is holding down the fort at MotoUSA's Southern Oregon HQ. With world-class dirt bike and ATV trails just minutes away, the hardest part is getting him to focus on the keyboard. Two wheels or four, it doesn't matter to our Off-Road Editor so long as it goes like hell in the dirt.

Trey Canard made the most of his time filling in for injured Andrew Short.  The Red Bull rider passed Kevin Windham for third place right before the finish line.
Trey Canard, shown here aboard a borrowed CRF450R at the 2010 Jacksonville Supercross, will contest Genova aboard his own full-time Red Bull Honda machine.

The 2010 edition of the Genova Supercross marks the 30th anniversary of the event. It kicks off the European indoor season and multiple American riders are making the trip to get an early jump on the AMA Supercross racing season. The Honda camp is sending three of the top Red Riders with Kevin WindhamTrey Canard and Justin Barcia all heading to Italy. Canard will race his new factory Red Bull Honda CRF450R as he prepares to make the full-time jump to the big-bike class.

Genova SX recently quoted him as saying (note the decidedly European interpretation): “I am extremely excited, not only because I’ll fight with valid rivals, but also for the fact that apart from the travel in Canada, for me is the first time I leave the United States. Think(ing) that I will cross the ocean make me feel excited.”

2010 Genova Supercross track map
Here is the track map for the ’10 Genova Supercross in Italy.

Kyle Engle is another American CRF rider who will be in attendance. Other big-name riders include reigning MX1 champion, Tony Cairoli, who will campaign for KTM. His entry on the rider’s list doesn’t declare which orange machine he will ride, but it’s a safe bet and Genova Supercross PR states that he’ll ride the KTM 350 SX-F that took him to the World Grand Prix title. Gautier Paulin of France is slated to ride his Monster Energy Yamaha. The Frenchman finished 10th in the MX2 World Motocross Championship despite missing the first four rounds due to injury. Spaniard Manuel Rivas Gomez, who has qualified for an AMA Supercross main event, has signed up aboard a Kawasaki KX450F. Hugo Dagod, who has seen action in AMA Supercross Lites, will line up on his KTM.

Below is a complete list of entries.

2010 Genova Supercros Rider List:
Cyrille Coulon, France (Suzuki)
Kevin Windham, USA (Honda)

Kevin Windham got back up on the podium  but it wasnt the position he had hoped for. The Mississippi native finished third.
Tony Cairoli: I had problems in the first moto because I lost a lot of time trying to get past Philippaerts and I only managed fourth. So I wanted to win the second moto and to show my speed and be aggressive right from the beginning. That worked and I won and was second overall.
Kevin Windham (top) is also on his way to Italy
where he’ll have to deal with reigning MX1
champion, Tony Cairoli (above).

Justin Barcia, USA (Honda)
Gregory Aranda, France (Kawasaki)
Gautier Paulin, France (Yamaha)
Alexandre Rouis, France (Honda)
Yohan Lafont, France (Yamaha)
Trey Canard, USA (Honda)
Christophe Martin, France (Honda)
Khounsith Bongsana, France (KTM)
Julien Vanni, France (Honda)
Adrian Garrido, Spain (Honda)
Vincent Berthome, France (Kawasaki)
Maxime Jeanne, France (Suzuki)
Ryan Herrmann, Australia (KTM)
Henrique Venda, Portugal (Kawasaki)
Jerome Berger, France (Suzuki)
Kyle Engle, USA (Honda)
Bastien Giton, France (Honda)
Raul Alvarez, Spain (Kawasaki)
Dario Marrazzo, Italy (Honda)
Alberto Paulo, Portugal (Suzuki)
David Adam, France (KTM)
Antonio Cairoli, Italy (KTM)
Charles Lefrançois, France (Honda)
Maxime Lesage, France (Kawasaki)
Stefano Pelissero, Italy (Honda)
Joan Cros, Spain (Kawasaki)
Johan Marillier, France (Kawasaki)
Stefano Dami, Italy (Honda)
Romain Berthome, France (Kawasaki)
Cedric Mannevy, France (Suzuki)
Jeremy Chauveau, France (Yamaha)
Hugo Dagod, France (KTM)
Fabien Izoird, France (Suzuki)
Manuel Rivas Gomez, Spain (Kawasaki)
Angelo Pellegrini, Italy (Suzuki)
Jean Baptiste Marrone, France (Honda)