TTXGP Season Finale at Albacete

October 21, 2010
Bart Madson
By Bart Madson
Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Bashing away at the MotoUSA keyboard for nine years now, Madson lends his scribbling and editorial input on everything from bike reviews to industry analysis and motorcycle racing reports.

The TTXGP will crown its first-ever World Champion at the season finale in Albacete, Spain. The season-ending competition features 12 riders from the racing series three regional championships. The TTXGP has also announced plans for an expanded 2011 season with a two-class structure.

Team Agni TTXGP UK competitor Jenny Tinmouth - 2010 TTXGP
Team Agni competitor Jenny Tinmouth, winner of the inaugural TTXGP UK championship. Tinmouth is one of the top contenders in the upcoming finale race, which features competitors from all three of the regional TTXGP series.Team Agnis Jenny Tinmouth claimed the TTXGP UK title - 2010 TTXGP

The event will be dominated by entries from the series UK and EURO regional championships. The lone representative from the four-race North American TTXGP championship is Werkstatt Racing. The San Francisco-based team will see pilot Jennifer Bromme at the helm of her Mavizen TTX02 electric racer (Mavizen owned by TTXGP founder Azhar Hussain).

Favorites from the UK and EURO series are Team Agni and CRP Racing. Team Agni claimed the UK regional title with Jenny Tinmouth at the controls. Team Agni notably took top honors in the first-ever TTXGP race last year at the Isle of Man. CRP Racing dominated the EURO championship with racer Alessandro Brannetti.

Another notable entry is the first-ever “factory” electric team, as Chinese manufacturer Zongshen prepares for its first race in the electric series. Rider Chi-Fung Ho will campaign the Team Zongshen machine, with the company planning on developing its own in-house electric racer for the 2011 TTXGP season.

The TTXGP series kicked off electric road racing during the 2009 Isle of Man TT, where its inaugural zero-emissions TTXGP competed alongside the historic TT races. The TTXGP and founder Hussain then found the series supplanted by the FIM, which sanctioned its own rival electric racing championship dubbed e-Power.

In 2010 the TTXGP branched out to a 13-race series, with North American, European and UK championships. The season finale at Albacete is open to the qualified entries from all the various series, though only one team represents the NA championship. The e-Power series ran at select FIM World Endurance rounds, including Le Mans, as well as a stop at Laguna Seca in tandem with the Red Bull USGP.

Alesandro Brannetti CRP Racing - 2010 TTXGP EURO
CRP Racing’s Alessandro Brannetti claimed the TTXGP EURO championship with the Italian rider one of the favorites in the upcoming TTXGP finale at Albacete.

Portland, Oregon’s Michael Czysz won the Laguna Seca e-Power round, his Motoczysz E1PC just nudging out Lightning Motorcycles’ Michael Barnes. The Motoczysz E1PC also claimed victory in this year’s FIM-sanctioned TT Zero race at the Isle of Man, which replaced the TTXGP event on the Isle.

As for Barnes, the team Lightning Motorcycles rider would go on to claim the North American regional championship of the TTXGP series. The former AMA competitor won three out of four rounds, including the championship finale at VIR. Barnes could have won the Infineon opener, but had to ‘reboot’ his racebike midrace, eventually finishing second after a battle with Team Agni rider Shawn Higbee. Barnes and Lightning Motorcycles are not listed as a competitor for the upcoming finale at Albacete.

TTXGP has recently announced plans for an expanded schedule in 2011, as well as new class structures. There will be two classes next season: FormulaGP and Formula75. Details of the two specs are pending, as are the schedule details.

2010 TTXGP Albacete Finale Competitors
Antonio Maeso – Tork
Peter Lindén – Morris Motorcycles Racing Team
Jenny Tinmouth – Team Agni
Rob Moon – Team Agni
Pete Ward – Electric Hussar
Alessandro Brannetti – CRP Racing
Matthias Himmelmann – Münch Racing
Thomas Schuricht – Münch Racing
Alexey Ivanov – SMP Racing
Michael Weynand – Campus Francorchamps
Chi-Fung Ho – Team Zongshen
Jennifer Bromme – Werkstatt Racing